We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location- horrible service and detail by staff”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #64 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2010

I've been to NYC numerous times and try to stay in different places. Muse is a great location in theatre district in Times Square. As told by staff member there, their rooms are not insulated well from the sounds of that area- if a light sleeper- choose another hotel, you will thank me later. We had friends send us a bottle of wine to our room but the staff at Muse mis-labeled the senders and we thought it was too the wrong room. Room service was chronically late and the door attendant never flinched as we walked in and out of the hotel numerous times(until it was time to leave and he gladly helped us with the bags- with his hand out). This hotel also needs a revolving door to keep the cold weather out of the lobby- the current set up lends itself to an extremely cold lobby during winter months. Overall- great rooms that are very roomy and up to date. Downsides are they are very susceptible to street noice(we could hear conversations from the street in our 6th floor room), poor customer service from restaurant and front desk staff. I will not stay there on my next trip. For the $$$, I can sleep better and get better service from nicer people elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dihrdreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,427 - 2,433 of 3,247 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2010

Just got back from our weekend trip to NYC and it was great. We chose the Muse hotel because it is located smack in the middle of the action in the Theater district, great if you want to catch some shows. The hotel itself is very stylish and has a boutique feel to it, like all the Kimpton properties. Our suite was spacious and well decorated, and the bed was super comfortable. We also loved the fabulous wine bar & restaurant called NIOS, which is located right off the lobby, great food, wine and ambiance! Oh and you MUST check out their restrooms....FABULOUS!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swizzmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2010

Hello Swizzmiss,

We hope you weren't too cold visiting NYC coming from Miami! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your great stay with us at The Muse. I am glad you enjoyed the great food, location, and last but not least- the fun bathrooms! We hope to see you again soon in NYC or any other Kimpton hotel!

Stay stylish & inspired.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights, great hotel, great location, nice & clean. The female staff at front desk have an attitude but the doorman more than make up for it. This hotel is close to everything, Times Square half a block away, Broadway shows walking distance, Cafe Europa half a block away, good for breakfast. I had sent an e-mail before arrival to tell them about our 37th anniversary. They gave us a great room with a view and sent up champange and chocolate strawberries which was really nice.We will be back again for sure. Thanks Muse.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank etp1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

I've stayed in NYC a lot. I took my niece in the spring for her 16th birthday. I knew she'd want to stay somewhere "cool" and near the "action" (times square). So we stayed at The Muse. I love Kimpton Hotels because they are different than your standard chains. She loved all the young, hip Euro kids that were also staying there. The room was spotless and big for a NYC hotel room. We got a room in the back of the hotel so it was quiet (by NYC standards). Great rates and easy to get to all parts of the city from the central location. Bad part is we had to wait for hours for our room to be ready. They seemed busy with an event and a little understaffed but it was fine. Bar is a little pricey but we didn't stay in the hotel for food. Check out the lobby bathrooms...totally funny.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jilly_J_Bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

once you stay at this hotel you you will not want to stay anywhere else in new york, right in middle of the city, times square at the bottom of the street.we walked everywhere central park about ten minutes away. all the other famous sites are in a central location, to the hotel all within walking distance.staff were very friendly, the people of the city were very friendly,just watch out for people trying to sell you things on the street.the hotel room we had was a double delux which was huge,big bathroom big bedroom.the only problem we were on the 5th floor which we had a lot of out side noise from the dustmen at five in the morning ,just ask for a higher room .the hotel has 14 floors. we had a wonderful time we will be going back again to this hotel and visting the city again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winniethepooh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2010

Hi Winniethepooh80,

That is so great that you had such an awesome stay with us at The Muse in NYC, coming from the UK! You are right- we really are in such a great central location. I apologize for any inconvenient noise you may have heard, I will certainly pass along this information to the appropriate personel so that we can continue to improve our guest's satisfaction. We really appreciate your review and it is through guest's posts that we can get important feedback! Hope to see you again soon next time you come to The States.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

I stayed at this hotel over a 5 night period during peak christmas shopping season. The entire hotel was booked out over the weekend of our stay and the staff managed the customers very well. We stayed in an executive king room-it was small but had a hallway between the bed area and the bathroom, which helped separate the two spaces and make the room more inviting. There was also a desk space, a hallway table with the safe (small, could only just fit a normal sized computer) and a separate couch. As we were on the 11th floor we also had actual sunlight in the room. A nice surprise compared to other NYC hotels. As the hotel is so close to times square, the noise can be quite disturbing at 1am in the morning, especially if you're a light sleeper. The heating/air conditioning was also incredibly loud and we ended up turning it off over night. I recommend joining the Kimpton inTouch program (which is free) for free internet and a $15 minibar tab, which was enough to buy 2 spirits.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRoberts09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We enjoyed our three nights in the 'contemporary' Muse, located close to Times Square and a good place for tourists who want to visit the downtown as well as the uptown areas and are willing to sacrifice the more up-market locations further north and east - if the Muse were ten blocks N, it would be even more popular.

Our third floor room overlooked the street. It and the bathroom were 'designer elegant', well equipped and adequately sized by Manhattan standards. WiFi internet access was free. The only problem - not insignificant - was early morning noise from the refuse collectors.

The public area consists of the small lobby - chilly when the weather is cold, as it is as poorly protected from the street - and the bar/restaurant, which serves a rather expensive and unexciting breakfast. Guests are offered complimentary wine in the lobby in the late afternoon, a hospitable touch that one doesn't expect in New York.

All the staff we met - all dressed in black, of course - were pleasant and helpful.

This is not a de luxe hotel but it is a well-managed four star. Recommended to those who want to stay in the area and regard their hotel as a base rather than a destination..

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#68 of 469 in New York City
4,074 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 469 in New York City
2,404 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#40 of 469 in New York City
3,435 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#65 of 469 in New York City
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £183 - £465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing