We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel was really lovely”
Review of Kimpton Muse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Ranked #67 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2011

We did enjoy the hotel and found the staff polite and helpful. The littlel extras that they hotel provide make all the difference: the wine reception in the evening is a good time to meet other guest and to have a chat and compare notes on what to see and do in the city.
Our room was stylish, clean and in the blizzard conditions outsid,e warm and welcoming after a day sightseeing. The hotel also provides delicious hot chocolate with all the trimmings about 2/3 pm everyday.
It is in a perfect location, in walking distance of the main sights and shopping.
My big tip would be to join Kimpton and take advantage of the free wi-fi and $15 mini -bar voucher. Just don't book theatre tickets through the hotel that's a rip off, the staff don't know what the mark up is, but we got stung, face value $141 each , we paid £500, ouch. Our own stupid fault really, but forewarned etc

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corbie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,423 - 2,429 of 3,248 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2010

This small hotel is located close to Times Square. I had meetings in the hotel. The meeting rooms were nice and service there great with a very good catering. Internet was free for members of the Kimpton programme, you can join the programme while accessing the internet. Room was OK, not as small as it can be in New York with fairly nice amenities. The small restaurant was not that special, breakfast was fine however. This hotel is a very nice fairly affordable option for living centrally in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miklei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2011

Dear Miklei,

Thank you so much for writing a review on your recent stay with us at The Muse Hotel! I am glad you took advantage of the free internet as a part of our loyalty program, InTouch. I hope you also got the chance to take your $15 complimentary out of the Mini Bar! Thanks again for taking the time to post, and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We spent two days at the Muse Christmas week. I was very pleased with our stay. We have stayed at other Kimpton hotels so I new it would be stylish and hip. The room (we got the Executive Suite) was very large by NY standards. Everything was clean and comfy. The cookies and milk waiting for the kids were a big hit. I was a bit worried being so close to Times Square but the noise, even on the 4th floor, was not an issue. The staff were so nice. Mark at the front desk remembered speaking with me earlier in the week. Maria in housekeeping brought my kids treats when she made up the sofa. We really felt at home and well taken care of. I've stayed at dozens of hotels in NY and this is our new home away from home!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jr927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We stayed at the Muse from 21st-28th Dec 2010 and had an amazing time. The Muse is probably the nicest hotel that we have ever stayed in and worth every penny! From the moment you step through the doors you realise that this is going to be a special place to stay; they have overhead heaters to warm you as you enter the hotel!

The room was surprisingly spacious for an inner city hotel in NYC. We had plenty of space to move around and there was lots of storage for suitcases and clothes. I was impressed by the design of the rooms, they were an upmarket Mal Maison style, uber trendy and comfortable. The bed was huge, we literally couldn't find each other! Lovely bathroom, nice power shower.

The location is great because it is about 10 metres from Times Square in the the theatre district. I'd recommend using TKTS Booth for half price tickets for a show. The queues can be really really long, but as the Muse is almost directly opposite the booth you can easily find a quiet time to get tickets. We got half price tickets for Billy Elliott for $80 each, we were in the stalls and 10 rows from the front. The booth opens at 10am for matinees and 3pm for evening shows. Apparently, there is a TKTS Booth at South Street Sea Port where there are no queues and exactly the same shows available, if you have time maybe get your tickets there.Although the hotel is close to the hustle and bustle of NYC we had a really quiet stay and slept really well every night.

Also, there are several excellent restaurants close by. I'd recommend Havana central (over the road) for Cuban food and mojitos; Tolache for Mexican and margheritas and Rosie O'Grady's for more traditional American food. Also, there's a great American diner called The Brooklyn diner on the block behind, the portions are ridiculous, you could probably share a sandwich, and try the desserts the lemon meringue pie was ridiculous. you'll see what I mean if you order it...! O'Brinen's Irish bar is great for a drink in the evening, they often had musicians entertaining in the evening singing a range of contemporary songs, I'm not sure if that was just because it was Christmas. The bars in NYC aren't like the UK, this bar was reasonably priced and had a nice warm atmosphere.

The service was great at the Muse, the staff were always willing to answer are touristy questions and very accommodating when recommending restaurants etc, they would even ring ahead just to check there was space for you. I think it was the little touches that made are stay. we didn't think that we'd booked breakfast, but upon arrival we were given vouchers for a continental breakfast. There was a good selection of drinks, pastries, fresh fruit and toast. Also, every morning they offer free tea/coffee to take out; every afternoon there's hot chocolate with cream, sprinkles and cookies; and wine or cider between 5pm-6pm! These unexpected touches were what made our stay at the Muse fantastic. We'd definitely stay again and recommend it to friends and family. We couldn't have asked for anything better!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hood09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2010

I've been to NYC numerous times and try to stay in different places. Muse is a great location in theatre district in Times Square. As told by staff member there, their rooms are not insulated well from the sounds of that area- if a light sleeper- choose another hotel, you will thank me later. We had friends send us a bottle of wine to our room but the staff at Muse mis-labeled the senders and we thought it was too the wrong room. Room service was chronically late and the door attendant never flinched as we walked in and out of the hotel numerous times(until it was time to leave and he gladly helped us with the bags- with his hand out). This hotel also needs a revolving door to keep the cold weather out of the lobby- the current set up lends itself to an extremely cold lobby during winter months. Overall- great rooms that are very roomy and up to date. Downsides are they are very susceptible to street noice(we could hear conversations from the street in our 6th floor room), poor customer service from restaurant and front desk staff. I will not stay there on my next trip. For the $$$, I can sleep better and get better service from nicer people elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dihrdreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Just got back from our weekend trip to NYC and it was great. We chose the Muse hotel because it is located smack in the middle of the action in the Theater district, great if you want to catch some shows. The hotel itself is very stylish and has a boutique feel to it, like all the Kimpton properties. Our suite was spacious and well decorated, and the bed was super comfortable. We also loved the fabulous wine bar & restaurant called NIOS, which is located right off the lobby, great food, wine and ambiance! Oh and you MUST check out their restrooms....FABULOUS!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swizzmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Kimpton Muse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2010

Hello Swizzmiss,

We hope you weren't too cold visiting NYC coming from Miami! Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your great stay with us at The Muse. I am glad you enjoyed the great food, location, and last but not least- the fun bathrooms! We hope to see you again soon in NYC or any other Kimpton hotel!

Stay stylish & inspired.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights, great hotel, great location, nice & clean. The female staff at front desk have an attitude but the doorman more than make up for it. This hotel is close to everything, Times Square half a block away, Broadway shows walking distance, Cafe Europa half a block away, good for breakfast. I had sent an e-mail before arrival to tell them about our 37th anniversary. They gave us a great room with a view and sent up champange and chocolate strawberries which was really nice.We will be back again for sure. Thanks Muse.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank etp1280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#69 of 469 in New York City
4,075 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 469 in New York City
2,410 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#43 of 469 in New York City
3,437 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#65 of 469 in New York City
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Muse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Muse Hotel

Address: 130 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-8501 (Formerly The Muse Hotel New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Family Hotel in New York City
#37 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#58 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £180 - £469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Muse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully renovated, The Muse Hotel New York is a serene, stylish sanctuary centered in midtown Manhattan. With top-notch service, exquisite amenities and luxurious comfort, each spacious guestroom is a sophisticated, artful inspiration. Housed in New York City’s theater district in the historic Leavitt Building, adjacent to NIOS restaurant and wine bar, this boutique hotel is within easy walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, the New York Public Library and the Museum of Modern Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Muse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton New York City
New York City Kimpton
Muse Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing