We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location.”
Review of Dylan Hotel NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dylan Hotel NYC
Ranked #382 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location.”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

What we most enjoyed of this hotel was its amazing location. Just around the corner we had Grand Central Station, Bryant, Park, the Public Library, etc. The room was Ok, big, with a king size bed. We booked an standard room but we had an upgrade offered at soon as we arrived. The room was a little dark, but very clean, with good size and a very large and comfortable bathroom. The restaurant downstairs called Benjamin Steakhouse was good and crowded every night. The staff was excellent. But again, the best thing about staying here is that is great located.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    319
    167
    98
    72
See reviews for
135
312
64
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The front desk is attentive and well organized when I checked in they hasn't received my reservation from kayak yet (avoid kayak if you can!) kayak was also closed for the night, it took about 15 minutes but the manager stopped what he was doing and did everything he could to find out exactly what travel company kayak booked from (Travelocity) and went above and beyond to get the reservation info and then upgraded my room for my wait (which was not the fault of the hotel) the rooms are 220 sq feet a decent size for manhattan and very clean. Room service is available from the Benjamin steakhouse although expensive they are quick even when the restaurant is packed.

My only problems
No doorman/bellman to bring your bags upstairs or open the truly heavy doors!
The hotel is poorly marked and very hard to find, had I not read a review saying to look for the Benjamin steakhouse instead I would've walked past it more than once.
They claim to have bathrobes in the rooms 2 separate stays no bathrobes although I'm sure they would send one up if I asked.
They're aren't a lot of electrical outlets available. I had to unplug two lights to plug my phone in near my bed.

Otherwise it's modern up to date and a great value for the price!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandirichman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

4 star in the UK very different to 4 star in New York. Checked into Hotel late on Saturday evening, Not at all happy with the room we were given. Tired, cramp and not 4 star standard. Asked at reception if we could be moved, they showed us two other rooms and we moved to what they called an upgraded room. We were there for three nights and I have to say, although the hotel did not WOW me, it was a great location. On arrival I was tired from travellng for 10 hours, The purpose of our trip was to visit New York. The Dylan Hotel was an excellent location for a three day visit. Central Park Station a block away a $2.25 ride to Ground Zero on the tube. Empire State Building, Time Squre, Rockefella Center, Central Park and 5th Avenue all within walking distance. Location is what this Hotel is about.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmyra nj
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I stay in NY several times a year. I have found this to be the nicest hotel I have stayed at in the city. Every chance I get I stay here. It is in a great location, close to time square and the shopping place (MACY and other stores. There rooms are so nice and very clean. The beds are so soft. The staff is very pleasant and there is a nice bar/restaurant down stairs. So ladies you can dress as nice as you want and not have to walk far at all. But if I was to recommend a place to stay in the city this would be it.

Room Tip: I stay in NY several times a year. I have found this to be the nicest hotel I have stayed at in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovebug1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardner, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I booked The Dylan Hotel through Expedia and what I thought would be a good stay wasn't. All the amenities that were mentioned weren't available, for instance there wasn't a DVD/VCR player, a fireplace, or a city view. I got the executive room and it definitely wasn't 275 square feet like it said in the description. Also there wasn't a microwave which I thought was weird but it wasn't one the listed amenities but it would have been convenient. I will not be staying there again due to false advertisement.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marigene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

St. Anton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

5 days at this hotel (although on business) was not the best experience ever.

Staff at reception was nice and they upgraded me on arrival to a larger room.
If they had given me the room originally reserved, which was apparently smaller, it would have become rather claustrophobic.

The room and furniture was very old and I found stains of dirt on both carpet and furniture, which is really disgusting – at any hotel.

The restaurant is very nice and the food is excellent at lunch time and for dinner. However breakfast was quite disappointing – very few things to chose from.

For the amount of money paid for this hotel, it is very overrated – and the pictures from their website don’t match the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lxbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

+ situated next to Grand Cenral Station and Public Library
+ very nice and helpful staff (Big thanks to Mr. Lobsang!)
+ Free WLAN (but slow connection)
+ Executive room was very spacious - with desk, large and comfy bed, chair
+ Shower is big - enough Space in bathroom shelves
+ Free Gift in our room (a coffee mug)
+ fast elevators
+ cleanness in room (thanks to housekeeping staff) and Hotel
+ whole Body mirror

- insufficient light in the room
- Shower Head could be renewed
- there could be better Protection from water Splash - maybe a Shower curtain or a door
- TV channels
- attention: there is an additional tax of $1,50 per Day

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#136 of 468 in New York City
480 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fif...
#243 of 468 in New York City
890 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#52 of 468 in New York City
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#77 of 468 in New York City
986 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#129 of 468 in New York City
592 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel NYC

Property: Dylan Hotel NYC
Address: 52 E 41st St, New York City, NY 10017-6211 (Formerly Eurostars Dylan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dylan Hotel NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dylan Hotel in Manhattan unites tradition and modernity exquisitely and with a contemporary elegance that captivates our guests. The building is very emblematic, first having been the residence of the Welsh writer, Dylan Thomas, and later the headquarters of the New York Pharmacists Club. The Dylan Hotel combines the classical lounges and guest rooms of the period with ambiances and areas in contemporary design. We are a non-stop hotel, because the Big Apple never stops. For this reason, the gym and the business centre are open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Dylan Hotel NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel New York City
Dylan New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing