We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost good.”
Review of Dylan Hotel NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dylan Hotel NYC
Ranked #381 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Evansville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Almost good.”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

They need to sweat the small stuff. Toilet paper, wash cloths, soap etc without asking. They ask you if you want to reuse towels but have no towel bars in main part of bathroom--only two hooks--but one was missing. Would only call a taxi if you were going to an airport. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    317
    165
    97
    68
See reviews for
133
309
64
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We visited the Dylan with family and booked two rooms- the suite as well as a regular room. The suite was really spacious and had a minimalist decor. The bathroom was a good size too. All in all our three night stay was extremely comfortable and I have no complaints. However, I daresay that it needs a bit more personality. Location was central.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nehaaurora11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willow Springs, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I was in Midtown for business. Thankfully, I had the evenings free and could be a tourist. The room was well suited for my business trip. Comfortable bed, nice size bathroom, and a desk. One negative is that the only accessible outlet was in the bathroom. The one on the desk didn't work. The room could use a coat of paint, but otherwise was clean. The hotel itself was nicely decorated. The major bonus for the Dylan was the location and price. The room was inexpensive by NYC standards. The location couldn't have been better. It's within walking distance of all the major Midtown attractions and plenty of restaurants in the area. The subway (Grand Central Station) was a block away and could get you just about anywhere else you wanted to go. All in all, I thought this hotel was great and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnH_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horsham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We have visited New York at least 20 times, and we have always chosen 4 or 5 star hotels. Whilst the Marriott Marquis rooms were probably better, this hotel was better than any other in just about every other aspect.
If you want to stay somewhere which is easily accessible from anywhere in Manhattan, this hotel is about a one minute walk from Grand Central Terminal and about ten minutes from Times Square. Easily the best location to just walk outside the door and get stuck into seeing New York. You are about one minute walk from Grand Central, NY Library and Bryant Parks, all worth a good look.
The hotel itself had one fault. The rooms were a little warm in the mornings ( only a little ) and you cannot adjust this as the air con is centrally controlled. We just got dressed last thing before leaving the room.
The hotel reception staff were about as good as we have come across, and having worked in the hotel business for twenty years, that is saying something. Because the hotel is quite small the staff know everyone by sight and are extremely helpful, knowledgeable and friendly. We could not praise them enough. If you need anything, just ask and they will sort it out.
The rooms were a very good size for New York, with very comfortable beds. The TV channels were good despite previous comments. Bathroom was excellent with a really good shower and nice touches like the tumblers.
When we next return to New York we would certainly choose The Dylan. What a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: We stayed on 11th floor which was great. Only one lift, but because not many rooms, we always got a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithf5680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed only a night. Got there before check in time and they didn't have a room ready so I dropped my bags to return later. When I got back later that night, they had the room ready. It was comfortable. The bathroom was quite large for a room that size. The sink was very small, though; very uncomfortable even to wash hands. Didn't use any other services, so cannot comment on the amenities. Just a block from Grand Central.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starrynight144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hempstead, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Nothing spectacular and had no rooms with two beds. Vanity was broken and TV remote didn't work. But to there credit, they brought a new remote and waived the fee for a rollaway bed but nothing special about this hotel

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

If you want to stay in middle of Manhattan only a block away from Central Station, this is the hotel for you. The room is average in size with nothing really special to report. The full sized beds were fairly uncomfortable, especially considering the high price of the room.
The room temperature is controlled by a central air system so you have to live with whatever temperature the building is set on. The room was quiet which is a real plus in NYC.
The restaurant on the 1st floor, The Benjamin, is excellent but you will need reservations.

Room Tip: The higher up the room, the quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDDSSS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fif...
#243 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,110 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#303 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel NYC

Property: Dylan Hotel NYC
Address: 52 E 41st St, New York City, NY 10017-6211 (Formerly Eurostars Dylan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dylan Hotel NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dylan Hotel in Manhattan unites tradition and modernity exquisitely and with a contemporary elegance that captivates our guests. The building is very emblematic, first having been the residence of the Welsh writer, Dylan Thomas, and later the headquarters of the New York Pharmacists Club. The Dylan Hotel combines the classical lounges and guest rooms of the period with ambiances and areas in contemporary design. We are a non-stop hotel, because the Big Apple never stops. For this reason, the gym and the business centre are open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dylan Hotel NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel New York City
Dylan New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing