We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, easy access, great location”
Review of Dylan Hotel NYC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dylan Hotel NYC
Ranked #382 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Medicine Hat
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, quiet, easy access, great location”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was very pleased with the price, accommodations, and location of this hotel. It was nice and quiet and a quick walk to grand central terminal. Cozy room, but that's all we needed. The Benjamin restaurant attached was absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    319
    167
    98
    72
See reviews for
135
312
64
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
79 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This hotel's not for everyone. Read everything carefully. But if you have traveled a great deal in Europe, much about this place will be familiar. It's quirky. Not cookie-cutter. But very spacious for a hotel of it's type. Bed was comfortable/spacious Well appointed. Extremely professional staff - I felt like I was in London. And the were extremely helpful.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wwtraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Was on a last minute business trip and found this hotel. For the price (300$ CAD/night) it was reasonable for the area. I never stayed in NYC before, so I cannot compare the room size, but it had the bare minimum. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room was freezing cold though and no matter how much I played with the controls, it didn't make any difference. I ended up turning the unit off and it was still very comfortable. I would recommend you do that if you find that it is too cold.

I had a room (#504) facing the front of the hotel and it was in a corner next to an emergency exit and it was super loud. I had trouble sleeping at night because of the noise. I think they were doing some kind of demolition on the street or something. Maybe try to get a room in the back of the hotel, but considering it's NYC, I don't know if you can really escape the noise.

When checking in, I was asked if I wanted a smoking room. I was shocked that such a thing still existed in this day and age. The employee told me that there was still 1 floor dedicated to smoking rooms. I didn't inquire about which floor it was, but my room didn't smell smoke at all. If you worry, you can inquire.

Overall, it was a comfortable stay despite the lack of sleep. The wifi was free, but I was never able to get a descent signal from the room on my iPhone. My laptop was able to get a signal without issue. Do keep that in mind if you plan to travel only with your smartphone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobmtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

On a quick overnight business trip and many Grand Central Station-area hotels sold out, I took a chance on the Dylan. This chic-ish hotel had a small, well-appointed lobby with a European flair. The hallways to the room were very cool and stylish. The room was surprisingly large by NYC standards. My room(4th floor) didn't have a view but since I was only there for less than 12 hours, I didn't care. I would recommend a higher floor where possible.

Bathroom was modern, well-appointed and clean. The bed was super comfortable. The iHome clock radio and bedside phone were in operable but my iPhone and iPad have alarm clocks so, again, I didn't endure an inconvenience as my visit was short.

Check in/out was easy and the staff I encountered were professional, courteous and friendly. Great location and easy to get to my work meetings.

Room Tip: High floor - ask first about a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Good location in Manhattan at Murray Hill. Very good breakfast, good size rooms, beds and pillows, very clean and hospitable crew. The restaurant is a very good and famous steakhouse. I recommend for both business and leisure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank José Ernesto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is conveniently located near Grand Central Station so very convenient for the airport shuttle and if you need to take the train to other parts of the East Coast. It is a Spanish hotel so lots of clients there smoke even if prohibited.
You know because the smell circulates in the AC vents and it comes through into your room. Even at night it is impossible to smell fresh air. The AC is at full blast, probably because of the smoke reason and even when put in low setting, it still makes your room cold.
Will not stay there again because of the smoke smell!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank See_Italy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Level Contributor
219 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We chose The Dylan for its great location right round the corner from Grand Central Station. We arrived mid afternoon but the reception staff seemed to have difficulty locating a room for us. When we did arrive at the room it was still being cleaned.

The room itself was at the back of the hotel with no view but that didn't really concern us. The room was of adequate size and well cleaned. The bathroom had good modern fittings and nice toiletries. The bed was comfortable and the a/c excellent, although with no in room controls.

There was some noise in the room late at night from other residents, doors slamming and some shouting

Overall this was a good choice at a fair price and I would stay again

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisintheBahamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fif...
#244 of 468 in New York City
888 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#134 of 468 in New York City
476 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#54 of 468 in New York City
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#78 of 468 in New York City
983 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#125 of 468 in New York City
591 reviews
Midtown
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
#308 of 468 in New York City
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Hotel NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Hotel NYC

Property: Dylan Hotel NYC
Address: 52 E 41st St, New York City, NY 10017-6211 (Formerly Eurostars Dylan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#216 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dylan Hotel NYC 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dylan Hotel in Manhattan unites tradition and modernity exquisitely and with a contemporary elegance that captivates our guests. The building is very emblematic, first having been the residence of the Welsh writer, Dylan Thomas, and later the headquarters of the New York Pharmacists Club. The Dylan Hotel combines the classical lounges and guest rooms of the period with ambiances and areas in contemporary design. We are a non-stop hotel, because the Big Apple never stops. For this reason, the gym and the business centre are open 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dylan Hotel NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Hotel New York City
Dylan New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing