We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay in NYC!”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #100 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The Benjamin knows how to do things the right way! From the friendly person who does their facebook posts to the staff I communicated with via pre-trip emails, they are all top-notch and very accommodating! Our King Suite was huge and included a microwave and full-size fridge. Will definitely stay here again. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: We were in a King Suite - highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deejayn_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,561 - 1,567 of 2,731 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

Location to metro/tube was very convenient we came from Newark on sky train and tube and was easy.
10 mins to time square by foot.
Hotel - Had a doorman that does not open the door foy you? Strange but fine I suppose it is NYC.
The National restaurant always seemed busy for dinner. We had some drinks and the staff were knowledgeable and friendly.
Room size was good for central NYC and the money paid. Fridge and sink were handy. Did not use microwave.
Rooms are a little dated if I am being harsh but it is part of the charm and did not detract from the stay.

Wi-fi should really be Free in this dy and age. We paid for it and it was slow a lot of the time.

Small double bed not the usual King Queen which you would expect from a 4 star hotel.

Would I stay again? Yes if the price was the same.

Concierge were very good.

Rooms very hot even when it was snowing - controlling the temp at night meant ear plugs and aircon on full.

I’m a hotel ops manager so I am picky!

Room Tip: higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This past weekend we stayed at The Benjamin. We've stayed there in the past and thoroughly enjoyed our previous experience. Nothing changed this past weekend. We actually arrived in the city quite early and expected to simply drop off our bags until they could get us our room after 3:00 pm check-in. I was pleasantly surprised to have the front desk search for a room that was available and we were in before 11:00 am. It took maybe 10 minutes of waiting to get us into our room. The hotel is not new but our room was more than satisfactory. The room is big by NYC standards and includes a small galley kitchen with refrigerator, microwave, sink, cabinets and some kitchen utensils. The bathroom was more than adequate with all the accessories you'd expect. The bedroom/living space was fine with a large HDTV, desk, seating area a queen size bed. One of the features of The Benjamin is the ability to choose pillows to suit your personal preference. We did not use this service but thought it was a novel way to make your sleeping experience more like home. The location on the east side of midtown Manhattan is convenient to almost everything and getting a cab or the subway would be very easy. Since we only stayed one night it's difficult to evaluate long term stays but if the staff treats you like they did for our one night stay you'd have to be very satisfied.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chach431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We booked this hotel on priceline.com at a very good price for a weekend in February. The hotel is very conveniently located in Midtown East, a short walk from all the major midtown attractions. Overall the hotel was quite clean, but the impression we got away with that it was a bit run down. It could with some renovation of the bathroom fixtures. Service overall was friendly (we didn't have any particularly unusual requests though), but when we came to pick up our luggage in the afternoon after having checked out, the luggage person wasn't there, and we needed to get help from the porter, who wasn't too happy about that. Altogether, a good expe

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDP03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The Benjamin is a beautiful hotel. Well apportioned and well decorated. The room was quite spacious for a New York City hotel room. I had a massage in my hotel room, provided by a masseuse from the in-house spa. She was very professional and gave a great massage. However, I was disappointed with the customer service from the rest of the staff. I understand problems happen; often times there's no malicious intent. But when I stay at high-priced hotels I do so because I don't mind paying a premium for the service. I can sleep anywhere. I choose nice hotels because I pay extra for the customer service. I felt like the staff just didn't want to bother addressing my concern, or even answering my phone call. The concierge hung up on me several times, and when I did manage to get through I was put on hold and told she was dealing with other guests. I was definitely made to feel like my concerns were not a priority. Which is unfortunate because the hotel is beautiful and roomy. The food in the restaurant (The National) was delicious; although the menu is extremely limited.

Overall I'd say I slept well on a comfortable bed, in a clean and spacious room. By itself, such a hotel room is worth a few extra dollars. The noise from the street was a minor distraction, and once I fell asleep the noise was of no concern. I might return and give the staff another opportunity to prove my experience was unique; but I caution other travelers that if they encounter problems they should not be surprised at the slow speed of the staff's response.

Room Tip: As with all hotels in NYC, higher floors suffer from less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AL594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We loved the room and selection of pillows to try. The hotel staff are excellant and I recomend this place for sure. Don't expect new rooms but the bed was real comfortable and clean and great location

Room Tip: Go for the 1bdrm suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the Benjamin several times, most recently last week. We always have a great experience. The hotel is in a good central location, and the rooms are lovely. It's not a ritz or a four seasons as far as luxury goes, but the rooms are well decorated, clean, marble baths, very comfortable beds, and the service is great.
We feel very comfortable here, and can always get a good rate on a room, which can be tough to do in NYC. The staff is helpful and friendly. The elevators are small and a bit slow but that is the most I can criticize. Try having lunch at the National in the lobby, good food!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tursi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#31 of 469 in New York City
1,879 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#62 of 469 in New York City
1,501 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#50 of 469 in New York City
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#168 of 469 in New York City
1,370 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#107 of 469 in New York City
1,136 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#47 of 469 in New York City
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
#81 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £183 - £480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing