We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect NY experience.”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #85 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
“Perfect NY experience.”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Great room. Staff very friendly and helpful. National restaurant is a true destination right on premises. Everything was perfect and effortless. My new "go to" hotel in New York. Highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mr. Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Mr. Walter B,

Thank you for your glowing review and the time you took to post it on Tripadvisor! Your review highlights so much of what makes The Benjamin an incredible experience in NYC. We put everything we have into each guest’s experience including genuine and attentive service, savory flavors at The National that awaken your senses and spacious and clean rooms that help you rest and renew your spirit. Your recommendation is much appreciated!

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,523
    684
    239
    84
    51
See reviews for
675
784
157
530
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

at $600/day plus..I expect better mattresses. And a better food selection if you are including breakfast in this package deal. Also when we checked in the wifi was $62 per week...we knew from last time that if we asked it would be comped. so we asked and it was given to us for free...how many people don't know that and pay the $$$...kinda sneaky I think for $600/day plus...Air conditioner either kept the room frigid or stuffy...hard to regulate...room needs a ceiling fan and open window. Restaurant 15 on a scale of 1-10 noise level for breakfast lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank 579RichardP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear 579RichardP,

My apologies for the details that you cited which made your stay one that would elicit such feedback. At The Benjamin our goal is to have all our guests walk away with nothing but positive memories of their time with us. We would be happy to address your feedback, which we take to heart, with you directly offline if you would give us the chance. I know that Wifi can be critically important to our guests and that is why we offer specials and packages that include the cost of Wifi in your reservation. You can find a package that is right for you on our website accessible directly from our Tripadvisor page. Our beds have been singled out as some of the most comfortable there are; we will certainly look into your mattress to see if there is something wrong. I hope that we can speak with each other by phone at 212.715.2500 or email at jgaeta@thebenjamin.com. I look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Joe Gaeta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have stayed here three times and the quality is pretty consistent. They have an affordable, by NY standards suite. The National downstairs serves up a stellar breakfast. The gym is a little small, but there is also a spa on site !! The staff I have met have been really, really first class. The maids are better than the Waldorf and the front desk and door teams rock. Of course the location...is excellent. The one thing that bothered me and the reason I didn't give it an excellent is the noise from the street. Not sure what a hotel can do about it. But ...it's NYC and at 2am there is some guy honking a horn?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mando Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Mando Z,

Your rave review is a pleasure to read and I appreciate the time you took to post it on Tripadvisor! Thank you for making The Benjamin your destination of choice in NYC. Our staff loves to read reviews from our repeat guests and we all look forward to your hosting you for a fourth visit very soon. We pride ourselves on providing individual attention and outstanding service to all of our guests. Prior to your next visit please reach out to me directly. I know that we have room and suites with configurations that will ensure you sleep tight.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

While the rooms are nice and large, the quality is poor. Dim lighting, faded furniture and look, air always too hot or too cold. Rooms are quiet and pillow menu nice. The National bar and restaurant in the hotel is awful. We had breakfast vouchers and each morning when our server realized this, we were treated rudely and service was slow. I have stayed at the nearby Warwick several times and it is much better with a wonderful bar, restaurant and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Isabelle S,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay. I am so glad that you enjoyed the comfort and spaciousness of our hotel guestrooms and our 10 choice Pillow menu developed by sleep medicine expert Rebecca Robbins. I want to genuinely apologize for the inconsistencies you experienced with the heating and cooling in your room and the service you received at The National. We hold ourselves to the highest standards and what happened does not reflect the experience we strive to provide each and every guest. I hope that you will consider visiting us again in the future. I have addressed the concerns you mentioned and I can assure you have been corrected. Please contact me directly, as I would like to personally welcome you back.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed here with our little dog for a few days at Thanksgiving.

Great location. Efficient check-in. The room was very nice although the bathroom was quite small (welcome to NYC).

I think the value was good. They offered AAA discount which is always nice!

Room Tip: In general, in NYC, the higher the better. Street noise will be a factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear L C,

Thank you for your fantastic review. I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of our great rates and featured discounts by using your AAA card. Our value in Midtown is unsurpassed. We feature rooms and suites that are generously sized and supremely comfortable. The location of the hotel is right in the heart of Midtown and our genuine and attentive service will ensure your priorities are achieved during your visit and you’ll still have time to rest and renew with our Sleep program featuring a 10-choice pillow menu developed by Sleep medicine expert Rebecca Robbins.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Our annual holiday trip to NY is a new tradition in our family. Since we live in 3 states: RI, CT, and NJ, we thought it a good idea to stay overnight. My first choice was The Benjamin, having such a positive experience there in the past. It's close to Grand Central, walking distance. Parking is available. Guest room (we had a suite) was comfortable, cozy, and within our budget.
Wish we could have stayed longer......

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Nancy R,

I hope you can stay longer on your next visit! When the team read your radiant review we were overjoyed that we were able to provide your family the perfect respite on your overnight stay. We want to remain your destination of choice for your annual visits to NYC. If you are traveling to NYC by car our hotel is very conveniently located just 3 blocks from the FDR Drive which connects you to I95 and every NYC bridge and tunnel. Valet parking is convenient, simply pull up to the main entrance and our attentive Doorperson will take care of the rest.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greenfield ma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

stayed nov 30 for two nites stay on a sunday gets you 50% off nice . The Benjamin is in agreat loction for getting @ everywhere 15min walk to 30 rock and time sq 10 min to shopping saks and a lot more . great rest all @ the place . Great service from ck in to ck out will be back for sure . THE holiday lites at nite are the best in nyc enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank tamasGreenfieldMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear tamasGreenfieldMa,

Thank you for sharing your memorable experience with us on Tripadvisor. Your recommendation is the best gift we can receive. I am so glad you and your family made the most of your visit to NYC. The Benjamin’s convenient location in the heart of Midtown on 50th Street and Lexington Avenue allows our guests to easily reach any point or attraction in NYC. With access to Grand Central just 3 blocks away and a subway station on the corner getting around NYC is effortless. Our recent promotion offering 50% of Sunday night stays was a huge hit and I hope you will visit our website to take advantage of upcoming specials as we celebrate the arrival of 2014.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#60 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#150 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Property: The Benjamin
Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#67 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing