We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great NY experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #79 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
2 reviews
“Great NY experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We went to experience Christmas in NY for a few days and our travel agent selected The Benjamin, it was the perfect location to see the city, the hotel is very well run and was a great experience for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert Brendan ... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Robert Brendan … M,

Thank you for your rave review of your recent family stay. The Benjamin is a wonderful choice to stay with family when you consider the spaciousness of our rooms and suites that all feature a comfortable sofabed, refrigerator and pantry area. We also have two very popular family friendly packages including an American Girl Place package featuring an exclusive American Girl doll-sized travel bed, pillow and blanket for your doll, and our Wink’s Kidzzz Club, a creative program that instills the importance of sleep in our youngest guests. I hope to welcome you and your family again soon.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,490
    670
    232
    84
    49
See reviews for
654
771
157
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed at the Benjamin at the beginning of November and was very satisfied with my room. The room itself was very spacious and the bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom looked a little bit tired and was not in keeping with the room. The hallway was unfortunately also not very nice. The carpets was old and looked very dirty.
I found the staff very friendly and helpful. I paid for the WIFI to my room but sadly the connection was very slow and extremely poor. The staff offered a refund due to the inconvenience.
I ordered a burger for room service from the restaurant and it was honestly one of the best burgers I ever had!
The hotel location is very good, walking distance to the park, Madison, 5th etc.
If I go back to New York I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leendp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear leendp7,

I am elated to read your great review! Our studios and suites are larger than most NYC apartments. All 209 rooms and suites feature a pantry area complete with a refrigerator and place settings with silver and glassware. I reviewed your remarks with the hotel team and I can assure you we have corrected the issues you reported. Our WiFi recently underwent an extensive upgrade and as of this month we have now completed testing the connectivity and bandwidth in all of our 209 rooms and suites to ensure the issue you experienced is completely resolved. The National’s “Ugly Burger” is one of my favorite items on the menu and is a big reason The National is featured as a New York Times’ top 50 favorite restaurants in NYC.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We have been loyal guests at this hotel for decades. Within the last year we suspect cost saving changes have been made which have resulted in far less service and fewer amenities. The rooms are looking shabby. On check in we unloaded our own bags as there was no doorman in sight. On check out we finally brought our own bags down from the room because we waited an hour for the bellman and now have been waiting in the lobby for a car that may never be brought around. It is almost 90 minutes since we began to leave this hotel. Gone is the attentive service that made us feel very much at home. What a shame. We won't be recommending The Benjamin to our friends any longer. We understand this was an extraordinarily busy weekend but no different than this time for any other year. No excuse.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Wundergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Wundergal,

We have to agree with you on one point for certain; there is absolutely no excuse for not receiving the superior service that you have come to know and love over the years. The Benjamin has built its reputation and loyal following, such as yourself, on our attentive, guest-centric service. I apologize that over this weekend we clearly fell short. As for our rooms, we recently completed a full guestroom refresh that brought a new design and feel to the accommodations. We will certainly look at the room you stayed in to see if there is an area that needs attention. We strive to make each stay very special; as close to perfect as possible. Given your long-standing history with the hotel, we hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you. If you are open to giving us another try, or would like to discuss this further, we would welcome the opportunity to speak with you. Please contact me at 212.715.2500 or jgaeta@thebenjamin.com. Many thanks for your feedback.

Best Regards,
Joe Gaeta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Great room. Staff very friendly and helpful. National restaurant is a true destination right on premises. Everything was perfect and effortless. My new "go to" hotel in New York. Highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mr. Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Mr. Walter B,

Thank you for your glowing review and the time you took to post it on Tripadvisor! Your review highlights so much of what makes The Benjamin an incredible experience in NYC. We put everything we have into each guest’s experience including genuine and attentive service, savory flavors at The National that awaken your senses and spacious and clean rooms that help you rest and renew your spirit. Your recommendation is much appreciated!

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

at $600/day plus..I expect better mattresses. And a better food selection if you are including breakfast in this package deal. Also when we checked in the wifi was $62 per week...we knew from last time that if we asked it would be comped. so we asked and it was given to us for free...how many people don't know that and pay the $$$...kinda sneaky I think for $600/day plus...Air conditioner either kept the room frigid or stuffy...hard to regulate...room needs a ceiling fan and open window. Restaurant 15 on a scale of 1-10 noise level for breakfast lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank 579RichardP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear 579RichardP,

My apologies for the details that you cited which made your stay one that would elicit such feedback. At The Benjamin our goal is to have all our guests walk away with nothing but positive memories of their time with us. We would be happy to address your feedback, which we take to heart, with you directly offline if you would give us the chance. I know that Wifi can be critically important to our guests and that is why we offer specials and packages that include the cost of Wifi in your reservation. You can find a package that is right for you on our website accessible directly from our Tripadvisor page. Our beds have been singled out as some of the most comfortable there are; we will certainly look into your mattress to see if there is something wrong. I hope that we can speak with each other by phone at 212.715.2500 or email at jgaeta@thebenjamin.com. I look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Joe Gaeta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I have stayed here three times and the quality is pretty consistent. They have an affordable, by NY standards suite. The National downstairs serves up a stellar breakfast. The gym is a little small, but there is also a spa on site !! The staff I have met have been really, really first class. The maids are better than the Waldorf and the front desk and door teams rock. Of course the location...is excellent. The one thing that bothered me and the reason I didn't give it an excellent is the noise from the street. Not sure what a hotel can do about it. But ...it's NYC and at 2am there is some guy honking a horn?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mando Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Mando Z,

Your rave review is a pleasure to read and I appreciate the time you took to post it on Tripadvisor! Thank you for making The Benjamin your destination of choice in NYC. Our staff loves to read reviews from our repeat guests and we all look forward to your hosting you for a fourth visit very soon. We pride ourselves on providing individual attention and outstanding service to all of our guests. Prior to your next visit please reach out to me directly. I know that we have room and suites with configurations that will ensure you sleep tight.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

While the rooms are nice and large, the quality is poor. Dim lighting, faded furniture and look, air always too hot or too cold. Rooms are quiet and pillow menu nice. The National bar and restaurant in the hotel is awful. We had breakfast vouchers and each morning when our server realized this, we were treated rudely and service was slow. I have stayed at the nearby Warwick several times and it is much better with a wonderful bar, restaurant and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Isabelle S,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay. I am so glad that you enjoyed the comfort and spaciousness of our hotel guestrooms and our 10 choice Pillow menu developed by sleep medicine expert Rebecca Robbins. I want to genuinely apologize for the inconsistencies you experienced with the heating and cooling in your room and the service you received at The National. We hold ourselves to the highest standards and what happened does not reflect the experience we strive to provide each and every guest. I hope that you will consider visiting us again in the future. I have addressed the concerns you mentioned and I can assure you have been corrected. Please contact me directly, as I would like to personally welcome you back.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#88 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Property: The Benjamin
Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#65 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing