We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #93 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
2 reviews
“Great location and value”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Great value and location for NY, good size rooms (we had the one bedroom king suite), clean, contemporary décor, we took our two Chihuahuas which we were not charged for. Staff were
attentive, friendly and efficient. The National restaurant was superb and convenient with a good buzz in the bar and good food. Highly recommended and would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Mary B,

Your perfect review has made our day! I appreciate the time you took to share your wonderful visit with the Tripadvisor community. I am so glad you decided to stay in one of our spacious one bedroom suites. For only a few dollars more, our suites are the perfect choice to make the most of your visit to NYC. The extra space allows guests to rejuvenate in the added comforts of a separate living room. The spoils from your NYC conquests will never get in your way when you return to your room, with plenty of closet spaces, a sofa with sleeper and sitting chairs; our suites are larger than most NYC apartments. I delighted you brought your Chihuahuas with you! Our new pet program, GOOD DOG, was created in partnership with BarkBox, one of New York City's finest pet treat curators and they donate 10% of profits to shelters and rescues.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,567
    699
    244
    89
    52
See reviews for
699
810
159
543
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (521)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is a nice hotel, but it is showing some wear and tear. I have stayed here several times over the last few years. Some rooms are better than others. If you get a standard king, it will be a tight squeeze. There are some great suites that offer far more space, and the space is great, but those are run down too. On the positive side, location is great. Each room also comes with a microwave and sizable refrigerator. Coffeemaker as well, but only ceramic cups which I find unappealing as I'm never convinced they are clean and also doesn't allow me to take my coffee to go. Instead of getting individual shampoo/conditioner/body wash there are permanent full sizes in the shower. I understand the logic behind this, but again doesn't seem sanitary to me. If you valet, be sure to give them at least 20 minutes before you need your car.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnydove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Sunnydove,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel last month. We place an emphasis on making sure we help our guests to make the most of their visit to NYC, whether the reason for your travel is business or leisure. Our location is so convenient when you consider the area businesses along Park Avenue and the United Nations are within a 5-10 minute walk. Our 209 rooms were all recently renovated in 2013 by Rottet Studio and I hope that you will be back soon to experience our complete redesign. Elegant touches include our Elemis bath amenities that are presented in a way that reflects our commitment to the comfort and cleanliness of our guests as well as to the environment. We also have a partnership with Clean the World that will keep over one ton of recycled bath amenities out of landfills and transform them into thousands of recycled bars of soap for children and families in need.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed for a week over the Christmas holidays at The Benjamin. The hotel is in a great location, midtown East, right next to a subway. The room was clean and bright, but seemed to have a tired feel to it. The king bed was comfortable, but the sleeper sofa was not. Definitely was enough space and the tiny kitchenette was a great feature to have since we were staying for more than just a few days.
All of the staff that I interacted with, from the front desk, to the housekeepers, to the doormen were absolutely wonderful! Not a negative thing to say about any of them. Overall staying at The Benjamin was a great experience and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to stay in midtown!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelz877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear kelz877,

I am overjoyed by your positive review! Thank you for taking the time to recognize the efforts of our staff to delight you and your family on your weeklong stay. Our entire team is focused on your nourishment, rest, appearance, fitness and inspiration. Every resource available to our guests has an emphasis on one of these five tenets for a sustainable lifestyle. Our Federico Hair & Spa offers styling services along with unique treatments such as jet lag rejuvenation. Our 24 hours fitness center has brand new equipment by Technogym, an official supplier for the Olympics. If I may be of assistance reserving your next stay with us, please contact me directly at jegol@thebenjamin.com.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This hotel was in a great location, it was very charming, we felt a sense of being at home in a big city, the rooms were comfortable, and the staff was friendly and helpful. We felt like we had the true New York City experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Elizabeth C,

You’ve gifted us a terrific review and I thank you for the time you took to post it. Our staff will go above and beyond to provide each guest with genuine and attentive service. The moment you arrive we are here to greet you and begin our emphasis on your rest and renewal. Our rest and renew menu, which you can review on our hotel website, features 10 pillows to help any kind of sleeper finely tune their circadian rhythms. Our 209 rooms and suites are newly renovated by Rottet Studio. The comfort of our suites is enhanced with the option to select a suite with a balcony or terrace overlooking Midtown Manhattan.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This was our first family visit (2 adults 2 kids 5 and 8 yo) to NYC for Xmas week and we were a bit anxious about the hotel as we read a lot of bad experiences even in 4/5 stars hotels. We were extremely happy with the Benjamin and will recommend it for sure. If you want to stay away from the big chains, in a perfect location to explore all of Manhattan and be served by very friendly and professional staff then look no further. I would add that I did extensive research on hotels prior to our trip and the Benjamin is to my knowledge the only hotel that can offer a very well sized suite with 2 rooms and even a kitchenette for a reasonnable price and in this high end category.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank xavman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear xavman_11,

I am so glad that your first family trip to NYC during the holiday was such a success. Your recommendation is the best gift we could receive from our guests. Our suites are more spacious than most NYC apartments and feature kitchenettes with a microwave, refrigerator and tableware. Each suite also boasts a comfortable sofa bed that is designed to provide the same comfort of our dreamy mattresses. Our value is unsurpassed in Midtown and our location keeps you close to premiere shopping, museums and award-winning restaurants including our own in the hotel; The National Bar & Dining Rooms featuring the culinary creations of Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I have stayed in many New York hotels and this is by far my favorite. From the moment you walk in, you are transported to a special place. The rooms are huge (by NYC and other large city standards), the service impeccable and the location is out of this world. The restaurant is pretty darn good too. There are not enough compliments to give the hotel or our stay there. It is a gem!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megsawoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Megsawoo,

Your experience is a thrill to read and I am grateful for the time you took to share your great story! Our goal is to become your destination of choice in NYC and our service reflects our goal to earn your trust. Knowing that you will back is something everyone here can smile about. Our 209 rooms and suites are newly redesigned by Rottet Studio. All of our rooms feature a kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave and tableware. When you consider these features and the fact that our studios and suites are larger than most NYC apartments, our value is unsurpassed. I am glad that you enjoyed the culinary delights of Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel is very centrally located, close to subway and handicap accessible station is 2 blocks away. We didn't eat at the restaurant but looked great. Internet was fast, and housekeeping was great. Upon early arrival they not only let us check in early, but let us pick between two rooms that were ready. We got to view each and choose. So nice!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bestbgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Bestbgoing,

You've made our day with your radiant remarks. I am so pleased that our team helped you to feel at your best and make the most of your visit to NYC. Thank you for specially recognizing our Housekeeping and Reception staff who do an amazing job connecting with guests and who deliver genuine and attentive service. The little detail of allowing you to view your room ahead of time is just one way our staff goes out of its way to make sure your stay is memorable. Our location is stellar when you consider our close proximity to the subway on the corner, Grand Central 3 blocks south or premiere shopping along Madison and 5th Avenue. The National brings Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian's award winning culinary creations to The Benjamin. I will save you a table for your next visit as it is a must for our guests to experience.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager
The Benjamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#64 of 466 in New York City
1,389 reviews
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#43 of 466 in New York City
1,692 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#151 of 466 in New York City
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 466 in New York City
1,393 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#107 of 466 in New York City
927 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#46 of 466 in New York City
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Property: The Benjamin
Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
#76 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing