We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Posh Hotel”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #98 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed at The Benjamin because we were expecting a very bad storm and it was important that I be in work the next day. I chose the Benjamin because my friends had recommended it. The hotel is very posh and beautiful. The room was a little small but once I was inside and settled it didn't feel small at all. Everything I needed was there. The bathroom was beautiful, clean and modern. The mini bar was fully stocked and there was a coffee maker with coffee for the morning. The bedding was fresh and soft. It was a very very comfortable stay. I felt pampered and taken care of. The next morning upon check out the weather was horrendous. The hotel provided large complimentary umbrellas to guests who needed them. My only regret was that I didn't have more time to enjoy the spa or dine in the restaurant next door. If you are looking for a small boutique hotel, please consider The Benjamin. I promise you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ms. Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Ms. Catherine H,

I am overjoyed by your positive review! Thank you for taking the time to recognize the efforts of our staff to delight you during the recent stormy weather. We cherish the recommendations we receive from our guests; nothing is more meaningful to us. I hope that on your next visit you will have time to visit our Spa and Restaurant. Federico Hair & Spa offers styling services along with unique treatments such as jet lag rejuvenation. Our value is unsurpassed in Midtown and our location keeps you close to area businesses, premiere shopping, museums and award-winning restaurants including our own – The National Bar & Dining Rooms featuring the culinary creations of Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Our in room SnackBox, curated by Chef Geoffrey Zakarian, is stocked with locally sourced and delicious refreshments that you can grab and go or enjoy in your room.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,829)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,397 - 1,403 of 2,829 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Well presented, clean, comfortable and bright suite in a convenient Midtown Manhattan location. The fitness center was in very good condition. Unfortunately, there wasn't time to visit the spa.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mr. Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Mr. Don K,

Your radiant remarks have made our day! Our 209 rooms and suites are all newly redesigned by Rottet Studio. Each room is generously sized and spotlessly fresh and clean. Our passionate staff makes everything possible in the hotel. Every associate on our great team is focused on your rest, renewal and ensuring you make the most of your stay.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Benjamin is a great hotel in a great location with great staff. The beds and bedding were SO comfortable, with a variety of pillow choices (although we used what was on the bed when we arrived) The room even had a small 'kitchenette' (small sink, small refrigerator, dishes for 2) which was a nice bonus. Booked through hotels.com and got a great rate!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Barb W,

Thank you for your terrific review. Our midtown location is ideal. Our 209 rooms and suites are generously sized, well-appointed and all feature a kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator and tableware. We are the perfect choice for rejuvenation. Our Rest and Renewal Program is informed by sleep expert Rebecca Robbins and we have a dedicated Sleep Team that can help you pick the sleep amenities right just for you. Federico Spa and Salon on our 3rd floor is a sanctuary in the city and has a wide variety of revitalizing treatments.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The staff always makes me feel special, and that they would go out of their way to help me. In fact, when I checked in I told the woman helping me that I needed a large room and King-size bed since my sister was going to be joining me. She upgraded my room so that I had a suite and King-size bed -- and for only $50 more per night. That was wonderful! So then my sister and I indeed had a place to hang out in as we spent time together. The food for room service is extraordinarily delicious and well-prepared. And the hotel is located in a great area - for example, just 1 block away you can get well-prepared food till midnight (if you don't want/need room service). But mostly, the staff are just wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank sueBerkeley_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear sueBerkeley_CA,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. Our staff offers every guest genuine and attentive service. I appreciate your recognition of the team's efforts to engage you during your stay. Our one bedroom suites are supremely comfortable spaces with all the amenities you will need to refresh your senses and awaken your spirits. Chef Geoffrey Zakarian will delight you with his culinary creations at The National.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Loved my stay at The Benjamin! There are not many places in NY (hotels or otherwise) that have private terraces. To sit and relax with a glass of wine after a long day, or have a nice breakfast al fresco in your robe. Very relaxing. And reasonably priced, considering the generous size of the accommodations -- especially by NY standards. Don't forget the rooms are complete with kitchenette. Great for travelers who like to keep a little something in their room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReadyToWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear ReadyToWander,

I am overjoyed that you chose to stay with us. Our 209 rooms and suites are generously sized and well-appointed. We offer One bedroom Suites that have kitchenettes with breathtaking balconies and terraces available for only a few dollars more. There's something special about the grandeur of looking down on Lexington Ave from more than 16 stories up. Our staff will extend genuine and attentive service that you will want to return to.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great service. Loved the location . Top of the Rock, Rockefeller Center, Central Park are were within walking distance,as were the major dept. stores.
Made my daughter 's 16 th bday even more special with a gift package and chocolate treat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Stephanie B,

What a delight to know that your daughter enjoyed such a fun and memorable 16th birthday during your stay with us. Our team simply put, cherishes making these special occasions something to remember. I am so proud of the team's ability to consistently make genuine efforts to make our guests feel like family and feel at home with just the right amount of NYC charisma and charm.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

From the first touch point the staff was excellent. Spacious room, new gym equipment, great loaction were highlights. I asked for help with a cab to the airport and the doorman Mohammed was on it! He hailed a cab on the corner, walked me and bags over to the cab and made sure I was on my way in record time! Best bellman/doorman ever!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoweboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Stoweboard,

I appreciate your grand comments about our staff and your stay overall. Mohammed was thrilled to see that you highlighted his name in your rave review. All of our team members are eager to ensure that you make the most of your visit to NYC. Our location in Midtown is ideal for any traveler coming to NYC due to its close proximity to premier shopping, the subway, exquisite restaurants, well known attractions and much more.

I look forward to your return,
Jeff Egol
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#17 of 473 in New York City
2,061 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#66 of 473 in New York City
1,592 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#179 of 473 in New York City
1,473 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#48 of 473 in New York City
1,388 reviews
Midtown
Omni Berkshire Place
Omni Berkshire Place
#94 of 473 in New York City
4,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#72 Business Hotel in New York City
#82 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £155 - £401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms featuring kitchenettes and Signature Benjamin Beds. Originally designed as a residential-style hotel with wind-swept terraces to entertain, the Neo-Romanesque style edifice, a New York City Landmark, exudes the ambiance of a private club. The Benjamin was fully redesigned by Interior Designer Lauren Rottet and restyled in partnership with Benjamin Sleep Expert, Dr. Rebbeca Robbins, to bolster the residential appeal and create an ambiance of relaxed sophistication. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club during their stay. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room per night and provides you with $10 daily credit toward The National, Wireless Internet, 24/7 access to our Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing