We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large suites, good for families” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #79 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Large suites, good for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I booked a one bedroom suite at the Benjamin for a very good rate under one of their promotions. The rate was a much better value than any other comparable hotel suite. I traveled with my spouse and 2 young children, and the one bedroom suite with kitchenette was perfect for a family. Kids slept in the pull-out sleeper sofa, and we had breakfast in the room (cereal, etc.) The bedroom has a huge walk-in closet, which was very nice and unexpected. The room was clean and nicely updated with contemporary furnishings.

The staff was very friendly and professional (the doormen and valet especially- Mohammed was very kind and friendly, and another tall, African American gentleman with a 9-year-old daughter was also helpful with directions- but I can't remember his name). I didn't eat at the restaurant but it always looked lively. Location of the hotel was very good- within walking distance to Central park, shopping, etc. Easy access to the subway. My kids received two free owl stuffed animals from the Kidzzz club, and were loaned kid-sized bathrobes to wear, which they enjoyed.

The only negatives would be two things: First, the street noise is very bad. I asked for a high room for this reason, and they did give me a high floor room on the 21st floor. But this didn't help. I'm not sure if it's the older windows on this hotel, or the noise form Lexington Ave., but the whole family had a hard time sleeping. Tons of sirens and honking horns. I kept checking to make sure the windows were closed because the street noise was so bad it seemed like they were open. I suppose the noise will be bad anywhere in New York, but if you are a light sleeper keep this in mind, and bring ear plugs.

The second thing is the small bathroom. It was updated, but had very little counter space and very small. I realize that most bathrooms in New York are small, but I suppose with a suite I was expecting a little bit bigger bathroom, with 2 sinks and a glass shower, instead of one sink and a tub/shower combo with shower curtain.

Despite these things, I would definitely return, especially with a family. The suites are a must if traveling with children.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brubenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear brubenow,

I appreciate your remarkable review. We feature outstanding value on our suites that will make you feel at home with plenty of comfort and spaciousness. Our kitchenettes are well stocked with a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and tableware (tea kettle, blender and toaster available upon request). Our staff is keenly focused on helping you be at your best. Our location in Midtown, keeps you within walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Radio City and both Bryant Park and Central Park. Prior to your next visit please call our Executive Office, we'll be happy to help arrange for the best possible room to suit your family.

All the best to you and your family,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on our newly redesigned luxe Midtown East hotel and our Best Rate Promise, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,490
    670
    232
    84
    49
See reviews for
654
771
157
515
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a week during a business trip to New York and it was the best hotel I stayed in. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, especially for Manhattan, the service was of a high standard and the bar restaurant was a lovely place to spend time after work.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dcodling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Dcodling,

I appreciate this rave review of your recent stay with us! We feature many services and amenities that are perfectly suited for a business trip to NYC. Our team will excel at anticipating your needs, be attentive and genuine in order to help you make the most of your visit. We feature a business networking lounge, 2,200 square feet of versatile meeting and event space and the most dynamic restaurant and bar in Midtown at The National. The European style café setting and inspired cuisine serves as the perfect combination for hosting a business meeting or celebrating a new business deal.

All the best,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on our newly redesigned luxe Midtown East hotel and our Best Rate Promise, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

One of the largest rooms in New York I have stayed in, the bed was very comfortable and the small kitchen very handy and a nice added extra. Overall an excellent choice of hotel and the location is very good. I have stayed in many hotels in New York and the Benjamin is definitely in my top 5 would return again to the Benjamin hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

You're review is a delight! Our suites are larger than most NYC apartments. All of our rooms have a kitchenette complete with refrigerator, microwave, and tableware. Upon request we can also provide a toaster, blender or tea kettle. We feature frequent special offers and announcements on our suites. Be sure to check our TripAdvisor page when you are planning your next visit. We want to remain your destination of choice.

All the best,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on our newly redesigned luxe Midtown East hotel and our Best Rate Promise, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I had a great stay at the Benjamin. It all started with the extremely helpful and friendly staff member, Mohamed. From day one, everyone made the stay enjoyable. The location is great and there's a great restaurant right in the hotel. You may want to request an interior room, as Lexington Ave. is extremely busy all night long.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ryan5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Ryan5280,

Your review is wonderful and I appreciate your kind remarks about our Doorperson Mohammad. Our team will engage you from arrival to departure. Our location is grand on 50th Street and Lexington Avenue. The National brings Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian's culinary creations to Midtown. Enjoy our service and Rest & Renew program to rejuvenate during your NYC visit.

All the best,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on our newly redesigned luxe Midtown East hotel and our Best Rate Promise, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed in room 1902 from 23rd March until 28th this year & from start to finish this place was perfect. Smart, efficient, polite, friendly staff, excellent bar & resteraunt & a lovely spacious room. The room was spotlessly clean & faced out onto Lexington Ave with great views of the street below. Equipped with air con, a kitchenette large double bed, walk in wardrobe, flatscreen t.v.etc. Located three blocks from Rockefeller Plaza, 5 mins from Grand Central Station, Times Square not much further away, in fact we walked everywhere apart from taking the tube to Battery Park. There is a seven- eleven next to the hotel to stock up your fridge & street vendors selling fresh fruit on the street corner. I cannot endorse this place enough, it is a lovely stylish building inside & out but it's location & excellent staff are it's biggest plus points. We will be back to New York & guess where we will stay!

Room Tip: An ideal location just far enough away from the hustle & bustle of Times Square but close to all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear rob w,

Your review has made our day! We want to remain your destination of choice in NYC. We are thrilled to know we have earned that privilege from you. We are steps from Rockefeller Plaza, Grand Central Station, Fifth Avenue and much more. Our staff is eager to please and provide genuine and attentive service. We look forward to your next visit.

All the best,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on our newly redesigned luxe Midtown East hotel and our Best Rate Promise, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I had booked a number of guest rooms for an extended family stay in early March and from the time of making (and changing/updating) the rooms reservations throughout our stay, everything was impeccable and customer service was superb. Reservations agents; front desk staff; the Housekeeping and Engineering (we had use of the Terrace Suite for an allday family meeting with A/V needs) Departments, all excellent. A special shout-out to Marioara, Director of Housekeeping; she was beyond helpful and gracious and generous with her time and talents.
We hope to return again next year and beyond.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mfk59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear mfk59

I appreciate your terrific review! I am elated that your family event went so well and all of our staff was attentive to your expectations. Thank you for recognizing Marioara; she is marvelous and we appreciate all she does to make our hotel shine. Our Terrace Suites are available for only a few dollars more and have ample exterior space. A spectacular reason to enjoy Midtown in the Spring time.

All the best to you and your family,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on our newly redesigned luxe Midtown East hotel and our Best Rate Promise, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here for her "big birthday" for a couple of nights 2 weeks ago. Everyone we encountered couldn't have been nicer. They were extremely helpful, courteous and frienldy...not fake friendly as you find at many hotels but genuine. We had a lovely suite and were quite appreciative of the "happy birthday" treat they sent up from the wonderful Geoffrey Zakarian National Restaurant downstairs. I had spoken to the assistant general manager, Jeff Egol, before booking our reservation and he was very dedicated to making sure we would have an excellent experience...and we certainly did. The hotel was conveniently located near a subway stop making access to all parts of the city a breeze. I highly recommend this hotel and will stay here again when staying in the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTeeMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear TheTeeMan,

Thank you for a joyful review of your special occasion visit to The Benjamin! I am so pleased that Jeff was able to help set up your stay. Our whole team has a keen interest in making sure you make the most of your visit and we hope to see you and your wife back again soon! We will be offering our Sunday Savings special for the foreseeable future that discounts your Sunday night rate by 50% when you stay two nights.

All the best to you and your wife,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on our newly redesigned luxe Midtown East hotel and our Best Rate Promise, please visit our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#88 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Property: The Benjamin
Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in New York City
#54 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#65 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel and LoveHolidays so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing