We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #89 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 April 2014

and the hotel loves pups. So delightful all around. WE truly appreciate the opportunity to have our pup travel with us and be welcomed so nicely. amenities are very nice including the mini kitchen. bed very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sherry Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Sherry Q,

Your glowing remarks are a joy! I am so happy that you are your “pup” were able to travel along with your family and enjoy NYC. We recognize pets are a part of the family and traveling with them just makes the experience so much more special. That is why we’ve created the most amazing pet program we call, goodDOG by The Benjamin, which has been named as a top pick among pet-friendly hotel programs in NYC. The program is done in partnership with BarkBox a New York based pet treat curator and offers Mungo & Maud water bowls and beds as well as amenities and treats provided by BarkBox. All of our rooms and suites feature a super convenient kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave and tableware.

All the best to you and your family,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on our newly redesigned luxe Midtown East hotel and our Best Rate Promise, please visit our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,266 - 1,272 of 2,757 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

I'd walked by the hotel and its restaurant and bar many times staying nearby at various trips an dhad even had a drink at the bar once. It looked nice so when my usual choices were pricier than usual, I explored the web choices and decided to try the Benjamin at what seemed a good price point. From the doorman to the bellboy to the desk clerk to the maintenance and cleaning people, everyone was friendly, positive, prompt and helpful. The lobby is small European Style, but we were upgraded to a roomy efficiency that was well lit (for a change), clean, nice bedclothes, small kitchenette area and adequate bathroom, The inside room was very quiet and when a bulb was out the replacement was within minutes. Altogether a nice place in Midtown East.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Allen M,

I am thrilled that you decided to stay with us after having taken note of us and visited The National! Our value is unsurpassed in Midtown and we have the ideal combination of service, quality, price and location. Our hotel is fashioned in a European style and whether it is our Benjamin Bed or the traditional café style setting of The National our intimate service will leave you feeling charmed. All of our 209 rooms and suites were redesigned by famed Rottet Studio in 2013 with a modern look and feel, yet maintain their classic grandeur. We feature terrace suites for only a few dollars more that, with the arrival of Spring and Summer, enhance your experience with the exhilaration of looking down on the magnificence of Midtown.

All the best to you and your family,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on our newly redesigned luxe Midtown East hotel and our Best Rate Promise, please visit our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Overall, this was a great hotel for the value. The room was very nice and the bedding very comfortable. The temperature of the room could be adjusted and felt very quickly. We loved the small kitchenette and used the microwave and refrigerator. It is in a great location. Noise is the only issue. We were on the 9th floor in a corner room and it was quite loud, even by NYC standards. I may try another room next time. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TeresaKadlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear TeresaKadlec,

Your review is amazing! I am so pleased that you enjoyed our rooms and suites with full size or mini fridges, microwaves and tableware standard. We'll also bring you a toaster, blender or tea kettle upon request. Newly redesigned in 2013, our 209 rooms are styled with a modern interior design that does not overshadow the elegance of our Beaux-Arts building that Emery Roth masterminded in 1927. Our Rest & Renew Program is informed by sleep science expert Rebecca Robbins and our Sleep Team concierges can customize your sleep experience.

All the best,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on our newly redesigned luxe Midtown East hotel and our Best Rate Promise, please visit our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers stayed at The Benjamin at the end of March. We initially had a spacious and stylish 1 room suite on the 17th floor that faced lexington avenue but then moved to a slightly larger suite because of the traffic noise. The first suite was good-sized with plenty of room to maneuver around the king bed in bedroom. It was a little tight in the living area when the sleeper was unfolded. The larger suite had a bigger closet in the bedroom and an additional closet in the living room, which came in handy. Bathroom was also a little bigger.The pullout sleeper was OK for our two daughters. Our king bed was very comfortable. Having a small kitchenette with a microwave and refrigerator was handy for snacks. The location was excellent, easily accessible via subway and multiple bus lines that run up and down Lexington and 50th avenues. There is great coffee, bagels and even ramen near by (Try Little Collins). The entire staff was considerate and courteous. A special shout out to the doormen whose cheerful demeanors were a welcome sight after returning from a long day out in cold and rainy weather. We have traveled all over the world, and The Benjamin easily ranks among the top hotels at which we have stayed in terms of value, style and comfort.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from lexington avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a1wang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear a1wang,

I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us in March. We are humbled by your generous comments having visited the world over and placing our team in such esteemed company. We are eager to provide each guest with genuine and attentive service. Our location is perfectly nestled in the heart of Midtown. Our concierge team will help you plan the perfect agenda to conquer while in NYC.

All the best to you and your family,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on our newly redesigned luxe Midtown East hotel and our Best Rate Promise, please visit our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel for the past few times when we're in NYC. Surprisingly, it wasn't up to the standards. Our room was right beside the elevator and kept us up at night! Also, the housekeeper was rather rude to us the next morning when she wanted to clean our room at 8:30 in the morning! It might have been an off weekend or maybe new management? Not exactly sure what happened, but would give it another try the next time we're in town!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gregrob1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Gregrob1980,

Thank you for sharing a review on TripAdvisor and staying with us during recent visits to NYC. Our customer feedback is critically important to us. I would very much like to talk with you in detail about your stay. The disappointing remarks you described are highly irregular and do not reflect the high standards of care we strive to deliver. I certainly want you to stay with us again, so I would appreciate your time to speak with me further. I'd like to personally welcome you back. My phone number is 212.715.2500 and my email address is ssasso@thebenjamin.com.

All the best,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on our newly redesigned luxe Midtown East hotel and our Best Rate Promise, please visit our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I booked a one bedroom suite at the Benjamin for a very good rate under one of their promotions. The rate was a much better value than any other comparable hotel suite. I traveled with my spouse and 2 young children, and the one bedroom suite with kitchenette was perfect for a family. Kids slept in the pull-out sleeper sofa, and we had breakfast in the room (cereal, etc.) The bedroom has a huge walk-in closet, which was very nice and unexpected. The room was clean and nicely updated with contemporary furnishings.

The staff was very friendly and professional (the doormen and valet especially- Mohammed was very kind and friendly, and another tall, African American gentleman with a 9-year-old daughter was also helpful with directions- but I can't remember his name). I didn't eat at the restaurant but it always looked lively. Location of the hotel was very good- within walking distance to Central park, shopping, etc. Easy access to the subway. My kids received two free owl stuffed animals from the Kidzzz club, and were loaned kid-sized bathrobes to wear, which they enjoyed.

The only negatives would be two things: First, the street noise is very bad. I asked for a high room for this reason, and they did give me a high floor room on the 21st floor. But this didn't help. I'm not sure if it's the older windows on this hotel, or the noise form Lexington Ave., but the whole family had a hard time sleeping. Tons of sirens and honking horns. I kept checking to make sure the windows were closed because the street noise was so bad it seemed like they were open. I suppose the noise will be bad anywhere in New York, but if you are a light sleeper keep this in mind, and bring ear plugs.

The second thing is the small bathroom. It was updated, but had very little counter space and very small. I realize that most bathrooms in New York are small, but I suppose with a suite I was expecting a little bit bigger bathroom, with 2 sinks and a glass shower, instead of one sink and a tub/shower combo with shower curtain.

Despite these things, I would definitely return, especially with a family. The suites are a must if traveling with children.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brubenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear brubenow,

I appreciate your remarkable review. We feature outstanding value on our suites that will make you feel at home with plenty of comfort and spaciousness. Our kitchenettes are well stocked with a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and tableware (tea kettle, blender and toaster available upon request). Our staff is keenly focused on helping you be at your best. Our location in Midtown, keeps you within walking distance of Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Radio City and both Bryant Park and Central Park. Prior to your next visit please call our Executive Office, we'll be happy to help arrange for the best possible room to suit your family.

All the best to you and your family,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on our newly redesigned luxe Midtown East hotel and our Best Rate Promise, please visit our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a week during a business trip to New York and it was the best hotel I stayed in. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, especially for Manhattan, the service was of a high standard and the bar restaurant was a lovely place to spend time after work.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dcodling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Dcodling,

I appreciate this rave review of your recent stay with us! We feature many services and amenities that are perfectly suited for a business trip to NYC. Our team will excel at anticipating your needs, be attentive and genuine in order to help you make the most of your visit. We feature a business networking lounge, 2,200 square feet of versatile meeting and event space and the most dynamic restaurant and bar in Midtown at The National. The European style café setting and inspired cuisine serves as the perfect combination for hosting a business meeting or celebrating a new business deal.

All the best,

Steve Sasso
General Manager

For more information on our newly redesigned luxe Midtown East hotel and our Best Rate Promise, please visit our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#25 of 469 in New York City
1,926 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#62 of 469 in New York City
1,532 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#174 of 469 in New York City
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#105 of 469 in New York City
1,204 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#44 of 469 in New York City
1,332 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#50 of 469 in New York City
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
#73 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £166 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing