We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay in NYC with the home away from home feeling”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #100 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Well located on the east side with a boutique hotel ambience
Gracious and helpful staff. Special recognition goes out to Karinne at the front desk and Paola in housekeeping who went beyond their job description and added to the enjoyment of our stay at the Benjamin

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffreyWener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,210 - 1,216 of 2,773 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My friend made the reservation for us and you sometimes don't know what you are going to get. Well. I was happily surprised. Rooms were large , for NYC, updated and great service. The National restaurant attached is a good place for a beer or glass of wine. I'll be back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great location for the local transportation. 3 train stations near by. lot of food places to eat. for the breakfast, lunch and dinner. definitely to go. Great location for the local transportation. 3 train stations near by. lot of food places to eat. for the breakfast, lunch and dinner. definitely to go.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank nsspnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Great night's sleep-- one of the best beds I've slept in. The room is small but well laid out with an upscale feel and a well-stocked mini-bar. Very clean and well-maintained. No view since it is in the middle of high rises. The bathroom is on the small side (typical new york), but also poorly laid out. You you are on the larger side, you'll find it uncomfortable - need to be a bit of contortionist to reach toilet paper and navigate turning on the shower. Make sure the toilet lid is down or you risk losing items off the counter and into the toilet. However, there is a magnifying mirror which is a nice touch. I didn't eat at the restaurant or use any of the amenities - all business day and night; but I did order room service, and the meal was the best I've ever had from room service anywhere - those cinnnammon ribs (appetizer) were to die for -- combine that with a side and you've got a great meal!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I've stayed at The Benjamin several times while in New York on business. It is a fabulous hotel. Location is great. The service is wonderful. By accident, I left my phone in my room during my last trip. The staff located it immediately and shipped it to me - it almost beat me home! Thanks to the staff and Jaime Cross. You are all highly recommended and much appreciated. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

For years, we would stay at different hotels in New York City, based on price and availability. Three years ago, we chose The Benjamin, mostly based on Trip Advisor reviews. We now stay here pretty much exclusively. The rooms are quite large, by New York City standards. The rooms have a mini kitchen, which allows us to bring leftovers back to the room, and eat them later. The service is among the best in New York City. The doormen, the concierge, the desk clerks are all better than just about any other hotel in town. What seals the deal is the location, Lexington and 50th. It is walking distance to the theater district, Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Fifth Avenue shopping, Central Park and tons of the city's best restaurants. Subway access is 75 feet from the font door. We highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: The suites are not much pricier than a regular room. If you get on their mailing list, they are alm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have stayed at the Benjamin a number of times over the last 10 years...and we've always been happy. But this past weekend, the Hotel went "above and beyond" to help out our family.
We arrived in NYC on Saturday of Memorial Day weekend - which is a crazy time in NYC as most people will recognize. I had made a mistake on my reservation and had actually booked my hotel room for Sunday and needed a one-night room because I was there on Saturday! I was freaking out thinking we would have to sleep in the car. We went to Omar, the manager, explained our situation, and he came up with a room - and a very nice one at that! And he didn't try to gouge us on the price, either. He treated us as one would HOPE your favorite hotel would - as a valued, respected Customer. SO, I have to tip my hat and shout out a huge THANK YOU to Omar and the rest of The Benjamin for saving my weekend! If you have not stayed there and you are tired of the massive chain hotels, go to the Benjamin and enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelBuddy913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#24 of 470 in New York City
1,959 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#62 of 470 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#173 of 470 in New York City
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#77 of 470 in New York City
3,613 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#46 of 470 in New York City
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
#82 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £173 - £535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms featuring kitchenettes and Signature Benjamin Beds. Originally designed as a residential-style hotel with wind-swept terraces to entertain, the Neo-Romanesque style edifice, a New York City Landmark, exudes the ambiance of a private club. The Benjamin was fully redesigned by Interior Designer Lauren Rottet and restyled in partnership with Benjamin Sleep Expert, Dr. Rebbeca Robbins, to bolster the residential appeal and create an ambiance of relaxed sophistication. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club during their stay. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room per night and provides you with $10 daily credit toward The National, Wireless Internet, 24/7 access to our Fitness Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing