We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, very roomy”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #95 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, very roomy”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I normally stay at Marriott properties but decided to adventure out and stay here. The hotel is nice, small but quaint lobby. I had requested an early check in at 100pm. I arrived at 200pm and they could not honor it. I understood when for lunch. Came back at 400, room was still not ready. I was not very happy with this but I did not complain.
Around 430 I got the room. The room was very spacious with a kitchenette and a balcony. Very nice. I really enjoyed having the balcony. I did pay for this type of room , it was not an upgrade.
The staff was good, not overly attentive but ok to my satisfaction.
I wished they had given me a couple of drinks at the bar since room was not ready.
Otherwise I would def try the hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltorres93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,537
    689
    242
    87
    52
See reviews for
686
792
158
535
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the Benjamin because we were hosting a dinner in the Corner Room of the National. The staff at the Benjamin were exceptional as were the staff at the National. This was truly one of my best experiences in NYC

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Evelyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Midtown Manhattan offers many hotels to choose from, but the Banjamin has earned my repeat business. The entire staff went out of its way to make sure they were exceeding my expectations. The hotel condition was updated and high quality, and the bedding was ideal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Have electively stayed here for a long weekend 7 of the last 8 months for work in NYC. I travel with another family member and my two toddlers. I cannot say enough about what a fantastic place to stay this has been for my family. The staff is so very attentive, friendly, gracious, prompt and courteous. They are more than happy to meet our needs as a family which means a great deal to me. (unfortunately, many NYC hotels have been less than gracious to a family with two small children). We lived in NYC, (UES), for 10 years prior to having our kids and heading West. We know the workings of the city well and truly consider this a home-away-from-home now. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dr. Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas Gulf Coast, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I started from June 4 to June 8 and it was well worth the price. I paid $400 a night for a king bed suite with breakfast included. The suite was remarkably spacious, with a foyer, living room, kitchen with full size fridge, microwave oven, and coffee maker, and bedroom with en suite bathroom. It was comfortable, clean, the food was good and the staff were great. I would stay again any time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Austinangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bixby, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at The Benjamin for 1 before boarding our cruise to the Bahamas. On our next trip to NYC, we will certainly stay at The Benjamin again. This hotel was wonderful. It was quiet, comfortable, nice, staff were pleasant, linens were soft, and it was in a great location! You can walk from the hotel to many attractions. Very close to Rockefeller and not too far from Times Square and Broadway. The concierge will help you regarding which direction to go or what transportation to take.

The National restaurant had a wonderful breakfast, and I am looking forward to trying their dinner in the future.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Manhattan. Great job!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KyleOnThePlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Location of the Benjamin is wonderful and easy access to everything. Staff was very professional, but most of all our room was exceptional. The size of the one bedroom suite was spacious and comfortable. Will definitely will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mrs. Karan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#50 of 468 in New York City
1,645 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#62 of 468 in New York City
1,355 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#144 of 468 in New York City
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 468 in New York City
1,375 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#99 of 468 in New York City
871 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#43 of 468 in New York City
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Property: The Benjamin
Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
#78 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing