We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #89 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Excellent facilities and service, great location. The staff were especially attentive to our needs and made us feel relaxed even on business. The food at the restaurant was outstanding and we didn't feel rushed.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,173 - 1,179 of 2,757 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Good hotel, comfortable enough. Staff are friendly and helpful.

Location is pretty good, easy walk to Central Park and various NYC attractions.

Room service good but relatively expensive, as is the minibar. Would prefer not to have to pay additional for wifi.

Smallish gym open 24 hours with good equipment.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Doug T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel was nice, clean and spacious. Just don't try to feed dinner to your child in the National (hotel restaurant) before 5:30. At. 5:15 we were given rude responses from both the hostess and the manager about trying to order from the kids menu.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mrs. Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

So happy my sister and I chose the Benjamin for this very special trip!! What a welcoming experience and warm and beautiful setting. Omar who checked us in and Taju our bellman both showered my Mom with compliments of youth and were very playful and fun. Everyone who helped us get settled in and served us dinner on our beautiful terrace suite with surprise champagne and chocolate covered strawberries were a part of our magical first night in NYC. Each day added to our very comfortable stay with friendly morning greetings and offerings to help us get where we were going and to welcome us home after a full day, whether they new it was a special occasion or not. The concierge was quite resourceful to guide us when needed. A very special call out also goes to Marco in Federico Hair & Spa who went out of his way and offered to stay late on a holiday weekend to do my hair. I broke my wrist just 4 days before the trip and he made sure I faced each day looking good and ready for our girls trip photo ops!! Thank you General Manager Steve Sasso, for ensuring we were well cared for, for the special commemorative Benjamin bear, chocolates and thoughtful thank you note upon our departure, and for leading a team that clearly enjoys their jobs and makes The Benjamin feel like home after a day and night of hustle and bustle in the big city. The bear went home with my Mom and is a happy, daily reminder of a trip of a lifetime with her girls. wishing continued success to the Benjamin and team!

Room Tip: The terrace rooms are so nice. night time glass of wine or tea before bed among the surrounding cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed 6 nights in May/June. Staff is attentive and was exceptionally helpful to us as this was our first time in NYC. Really appreciated the kitchenette, although bathroom was a bit small.
Would recommend the suite, rather than the normal size room. Couple we were with had a suite with terrace and it was fantastic. Hallways could use some work, carpets were not the cleanest, but overall a good boutique experience. Really loved the smaller hotel with more personalized service -- older refurbished character building, not a grand, cold "resort" feel.

Room Tip: Go for the suite with terrace if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel was picked for me by hotwire. There was a chance of 4 hotels in the star range that could be a possibility. This hotel was the one we 'didn't' want. As it turns out it was perfect. Location is great, staff was great and the kitchenette was a real money saver. We really liked the hotel and room after all and would stay there again. We had no issues what so ever.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RedZombieWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at The Benjamin. Staff was very nice and went out of there way to assist me. The room was exceptionally clean. I actually wished we had book rest of
our stay here. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Huma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#25 of 469 in New York City
1,926 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#62 of 469 in New York City
1,531 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#174 of 469 in New York City
1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#105 of 469 in New York City
1,204 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#44 of 469 in New York City
1,332 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#50 of 469 in New York City
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £166 - £530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splitty, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing