We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, definitely recommended”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #101 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Benjamin offers something pretty hard to find anywhere in midtown Manhattan - tons of space, a really helpful staff, and prices that are not in the stratosphere. Overall, this is a definite recommendation, but there were a few minor points that need improvement. First, the positives.

I can't say enough about the staff. They are absolutely fantastic. The first room we were shown seemed a bit dark (as it was on a lower floor). Right away, a gentleman from downstairs came up and actually showed us a few other rooms to let us have our choice. This was all done with a smile, and we were sorted quickly, and able to settle in. Doorman/Bellman service was also outstanding. I didn't even have the chance to unpack or pack the car, as it was pretty much already done! Housekeeping (14th floor) was also wonderful. We were traveling with our 8 month old, which leads to a) a bit more of a mess, and b) odd times to be in the room. The housekeeper was so kind to us, and went out of her way to work around our schedule.

Now for a few minor nits. Not deal-breakers at all, but just something for you, and The Benjamin, to consider. Like a lot of old buildings in NYC, the air conditioning, while fully functioning, was very loud. When it came on at night, it sounded like a jet engine. We got used to it, but just a heads-up. I'm aware ripping out the air conditioning is probably not likely any time soon, but just something to note. Finally, the TVs need to be upgraded. The actual screen was ok (though a bit old) - but the cable/satellite is very old-fashioned. There is no TV guide (well, there is one that lists channels but not shows) and response time is very slow. This should be a reasonably easy fix. For a hotel of this caliber and price, I would expect slightly better entertainment options.

The above, though, are minor points. Overall, I would definitely stay in the Benjamin again, especially with the ability to have the living room, as well as a small kitchen. Apartment living in Manhattan, all while in a top-notch hotel. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: 1 BR Suite, corner, high floor. Lots of light in the bedroom, and a real pied a terre feel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,186 - 1,192 of 2,806 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is actually my first trip advisor review and I'm only doing it because the Benjamin was just such an amazing hotel that I feel I owe it to the staff who make it so to leave a review of their efforts. Both the staff and the physical building/location were absolutely superb. I've been staying at five star hotels during most of my stays in NYC and to be frank I don't think any rate anywhere near the quality of this beautiful little place.

I'd just had surgery in London and due to a bad reaction to the anesthetic I needed to delay my stay by a day (didn't mean to make that rhyme). I called the Benjamin and David answered. He was very helpful in cancelling my reservation for a day despite it being made through Expedia! He also helped me upgrade to a full suite. Again, I simply can't overstate how helpful David was to me (Benjamin management please give him a raise he's worth it). Throughout the stay David assisted me in a myriad of matters and was always polite, professional, but yet personable at the same time.

The maid, Bari, was fantastic too. Always cheerful, always cleaned everything perfectly. Another huge recommendation.

Finally, Karinne at the front desk was very helpful and amazing on a myriad of matters!

The rooms that my father and I had were each large, spacious, and clean. The bedding was soft (I think it's 400 thread Egyptian cotton, if not it felt like it).

The only "issues" we had were that it can get quite noisy outside but I can hardly ask the hotel to shut down NYC traffic. The NTL restaurant opens a bit too late for breakfast at 7:30 AM (common we're in NYC, the city that never sleeps and works day and night!), but these are very small issues compared to the one million pluses to this little gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with anything you pick!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I'm a bit tardy with this review but since we are heading back soon, the hotel has been on my mind. We visited a few years ago. My husband was there on business and my daughter and I tagged along. His conference had recommended a different hotel but we decided to try the Benjamin based on reviews and the space we needed (a one bedroom suite). Our stay was wonderful. The concierge (although I forget her name) was so helpful with restaurant assistance and booking a sitter. The room was perfect. It was an inner room without a view but it was so quiet which was perfect for our daughter. A white noise machine was also provided. The door man was very helpful seeing as I was always lugging a stroller around - he helped haul it in the trunk of many cabs. The restaurant was pretty good and one waiter made sure our daughter was treated like royalty. The only issue I can recall was the elevator. At check out time it would take forever for an elevator and the ones that stopped at our floor were too packed. I do not see anyone complaining about this in recent reviews so maybe that issue is fixed. We recently booked a king suite with terrace and we are bringing both kids. They are older and really looking forward to their trip to the big city! When looking at hotels again (along with vacation rentals) I kept coming back to the Benjamin and we agreed it was worth another visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonCro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

For $550/night stay, you'll have to pay extra for internet service.
No soap in the bathroom; it's in a locked container in the shower.
Toilet paper 4/5 used remains from the last guest.
Don't recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We celebrated my wife's birthday this past weekend at The Benjamin. We checked in after 1am Friday morning and were greeted by "Jose" at the desk who was very happy to see us. All of the staff went above and beyond our expectations. We had a beautiful corner room with a terrace view of the East river on one side and a huge terrace with tables and chairs and an outstanding view of midtown on the other side of the living room. This room was a suite and large one by any ones standards. I had ordered champagne that afternoon (while still in Tennessee) through the concierge and asked that it be in the room for our arrival--it was! We drank it on the terrace--a perfect way to celebrate a birthday in NYC.
I've stayed at this hotel several times and each time i've had a different size room. This is what makes it interesting to stay here. We were on the 20th floor this time and did not hear any traffic noise inside the room except when we opened the window because we wanted to hear the sounds of the city. The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows.
The ladies at the concierge were very helpful with dinner recommendations and reservations before our arrrival. The front door staff were always there to greet us, grab us a cab or give directions.
We really like the location because its so close to the theatre district, so many great restaurants, shopping and Central Park. There is a street fair on Lexington Avenue on Sundays, great food and lots of bargans.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

My stay at the benjamin was very nice, Checking in was easy the front desk was professional and attentive. But gina who really helped me, She when out of her way to help me find my way around my very busy schedule. To fit in a little site seeing some shopping and a show into my weekend thank you gina great work.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank Sterlin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

For New York the size if the room here was excellent we stayed in a suite with kids & the service was great & kids loved the pillow menu. The staff was very friendly and helpful to get a cab for you even going to the opposite street to flag a can for us.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ramon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#17 of 471 in New York City
2,027 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#64 of 471 in New York City
1,577 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#177 of 471 in New York City
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#104 of 471 in New York City
1,333 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#81 of 471 in New York City
3,717 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#48 of 471 in New York City
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in New York City
#44 Family Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
#83 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £157 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms featuring kitchenettes and Signature Benjamin Beds. Originally designed as a residential-style hotel with wind-swept terraces to entertain, the Neo-Romanesque style edifice, a New York City Landmark, exudes the ambiance of a private club. The Benjamin was fully redesigned by Interior Designer Lauren Rottet and restyled in partnership with Benjamin Sleep Expert, Dr. Rebbeca Robbins, to bolster the residential appeal and create an ambiance of relaxed sophistication. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club during their stay. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room per night and provides you with $10 daily credit toward The National, Wireless Internet, 24/7 access to our Fitness Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing