We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #94 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
YVR
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I was always intrigued by the Benjamin but had never stayed here. I usually travel to NY on business, but this time I was on holiday with my wife and our 2 sons and we needed a larger unit. We were looking for a Midtown location, a larger unit or suite with (hopefully) some form of kitchen. Our one bedroom suite was perfect. The Benjamin delivered on all counts.

Thank you to Omar and all the staff and a special thanks to Tom the concierge for some great recommendations..

My personal suggestion is before your visit, call Omar the front desk manager, with any special requests. Omar went out of his way to make our stay a very pleasant one.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are very quiet. Check the Benjamin website for deals. They guarantee the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hey_Big_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,537
    689
    242
    87
    52
See reviews for
686
792
158
535
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Benjamin is a solid 4-star hotel with comfortable accommodations and a stellar customer service team. They were easily (and I've traveled a great deal in my lifetime) the most professional, helpful, warm, friendly and accommodating hotel staff with whom I've ever dealt. GENUINELY so. It's not a swanky hotel, per se, but it is attractive, has a lovely adjacent restaurant, the rooms are very spacious (a miracle in NYC!), the beds and linens/pillows of high quality and very comfortable, conveniently located, incredibly well-priced (we got a LOT for our money which, again, is not typically our experience in NYC), and a delightful 'find.' We wouldn't hesitate to stay again! Make sure and speak with Sarah both during and in advance of your stay - she is a fantastic (!!) concierge! Her knowledge of 'all things' New York, her recommendations, and her assistance with restaurant reservations was outstanding! (ABC Kitchen was an incredible dining experience, as an aside. Thanks, Sarah!)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Spacious room, with all that I need, the place is very conviently located paticularly for this trip within walking distance to my distination and near the Metro station at the 51st, the staff, especially David at the front desk went all the way to make my Stay a wonderfull experience.
I was worried since I booked it at the last minute and not been there before, but seems one of the best kept secret as one of the store owners told me while shopping, and I agree with him that this is better than many famous names in this field.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibrahim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southgate, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

...a broken elevator can ruin a hotel experience! The building is old and therefore there are only 2 small elevators but in a hotel that is 20+ floors, when 1 breaks down it is completely unacceptable for any extended period of time. We arrived on Friday afternoon and both were working but 1 was out of service all of Saturday and Sunday that we were there. We took the stairs down every single time. The worst was at checkout when we were unable to get on the elevator down to check out. After the 3rd time that the completely packed elevator opened and closed, we opted to use the service stairs and carry our luggage down. Fortunately we were only on the 5th floor! I was surprised to see pots & pans, cardboard boxes, and other housekeeping items cluttering the stairs. Isn't that supposed to be the emergency exit?!?

Room was great! My only very small complaint about the room was that the shampoo dispenser was empty but I brought my own so it didn't matter. Other than that it was clean, comfortable, and very nice.

All employees were very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazy_Travels_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

High level of quality service in a luxury property. I highly recoment this hotel to all who enjoy comfort and service. I have been a patron of the Benjamin for years and it seems every time I come back the experience gets better and better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The physical plant is run down and old. Doesn't look like updated in much time. One of two elevators broker all 3 days I was there. Other elevators didn't seem to work right. Computers in business office mind bogglingly slow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jerome-yank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The doorman Mohmmed is very professional and helpful worker. The location is very good. The lobby is very good. The beds are very comfortable. the room is very clean. The location is accessible to shopping etc,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#50 of 468 in New York City
1,645 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#62 of 468 in New York City
1,355 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#143 of 468 in New York City
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 468 in New York City
1,376 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#100 of 468 in New York City
876 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#43 of 468 in New York City
1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Property: The Benjamin
Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
#77 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing