We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, rooms a little outdated”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #72 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
126 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Great location, great service, rooms a little outdated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2009

I stayed here last about 10 years ago and remembered the Benjamin as a stylish hotel in a great location (50th and Lex.). Since then I have stayed elsewhere in NYC, but I got a great price on the room ($215 per night) and looked forward to coming back. Well they haven't moved it from the great location convenient to Grand Central Station, Park Ave. and mid-town. The staff is still very friendly, maybe even more so.

The room I am in is fine. Average size for a NYC hotel, but a big cumbersome desk with a 1990's vintage fax machine on it take up too much room. Th in-room fridge take up the lower half of the closet so I cannot hang up my suite. Even worse, the fridge is hard-wired at 56 degrees (F) so it keeps drinks only a few degrees below the ambient temperature. Why bother?

The Benjamin is still good value, but could use an in-room update. You can do worse for this price in NYC!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mblaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,509
    675
    234
    84
    49
See reviews for
667
775
157
520
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2009

We arrived late at night at the hotel and after a quick check-in we were taken to our room on the 23rd floor. We were staying in an one bedroom suite. The room was small for a suite but well divided and it had everything you needed making it very cosy. During all my stay I slept very well and was not disturbed by any street noise. The bed was wonderful and there were plenty of pillows to choose from the Pillow Menu.
The reception area is quite small and there isn't a lot of sitting space there but the staff was always friendly and willing to help.
The mini bar and water by the bed are a very expensive. The bottle of water by the bed was priced at a whopping $7 plus tax...Breakfast also very expensive.
If you leave the hotel and turn left you will find a very nice place where they serve breakfast all day long. Prices are reasonable and the food is good. Continue to walk down the street and turn left left (going around the block) and you will find a big market place where you can get drinks and the nice pretzels...
The hotel is located close to the subway station, it is well worth to get a Metro Card which can be bought at any machine inside the stations.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santamonica2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2009

I was staying for 1 week. Upon arrival front desk offered me an upgrade for $4. That set the stage for a very "cheap" experience. Rooms are very small with too much bulky furniture and useless kitchens. Food was pretty poor quality, yet very expensive. Elevators do not always work. Small bathrooms with small tubs, should have replaced with a bigger shower. At best 3 starts.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AleLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2009

I booked the hotel through Priceline for my buddy and I, not realising that they didn't have twin rooms. So I was initially concerned about having to pay extra for a larger room to fit in a pull out bed. However on arrival to the hotel, we were given an upgrade to a 1 bedroom suite with a sofa bed in the lounge. The room was excellent... extremely spacious and clean. The pillow menu was a welcome novelty. If I had to be picky, I would recommend a room away from the elevator as it was noisy on occasion. Also, the street noise in New York is something else, even on the 12th floor. However, I had ear plugs so I had a good nights sleep.

All in all, staff were welcoming and pleasant, hotel was in a great location and all in all it was an excellent stay.

One little thing though, I think the hotel should reduce the prices of their minibar items ($8 for a bottle of water is crazy). That way, people would be more inclined to buy more.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zargarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

Booked a room through Priceline for $110/night--a great deal! Did not feel like we got a "bad" room because of Priceline, like some other reviewers. On the 15th floor, back of the hotel. It *is* a small room, typical of NYC. Nice queen size bed, work table, armoire with flat screen TV, closet with safe, full length mirror. Also a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Bathroom small, but with BIG mirror and marble tiled shower. Conveniently located near Grand Central (5-10 minute walk) and same block as E,V, 4, 5,6 trains. Walking distance to Times Square, theatre district.

Did not have any problems with the elevators--never waited more than a minut or two. We found the room to be VERY quiet, with only the usual traffic noises (mostly sirens). We ordered two pillows and were very happy with them. Each night we returned to a clean room, turn down service and classical music playing on the Bose radio.

Be advised that the products in the mini-bar are EXPENSIVE. We used on bottled water which cost $7.50 (Listed as $7, but tax is added...). Also, wireless is $14 for a 24/hr period.

Staff was pleasant. We really only interacted with them at check in and when asking for a late checkout (they can accomodate 2pm, no later...). Doorman stored and retrieved or luggage quickly and had a cab waiting for us (in the middle of the rain.) We did not use room service, the spa, or the bar/lounge/restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

Elegant and classy hotel in the heart of the Midtown Business District.

Rooms have a good selection of business amenities:
Fax machine, Flat Screen LCD screen, wireless and wired internet available for a fee.

One highlight is their selection of 12 custom pillows that are delivered to your room each night, as well as overnight complimentary shoe shining.

Many good restaurants within a 5 block walk.
Nightlife is lacking, but a few bars are close for a night cap.

Hotel rooms are clean, and furnishings are to be expected of a hotel of this class.

The rooms are "Manhattan-sized", a bit dated, but still clean.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K2Van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2009

The service at this hotel was really good. The room was a little small but was nice and clean. The pillow menu was really fun, and the bathroom was nice. The minibar had high service charges (as if it was the same as room service), so be aware of that when looking at the price list.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kruzingtogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#79 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Property: The Benjamin
Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#58 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing