We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce room-- Otherwise feels like a Hampton Inn”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #85 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
USA
Level Contributor
740 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“NIce room-- Otherwise feels like a Hampton Inn”
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Service is not great at all, in fact on verge of rude... Lobby is pretty but small, yet beautiful. Rooms are very well put together. I would say this is a great hotel for the 50-75+ set considering the design. It just looks like the kind of hotel that middle aged and older adults would enjoy.

Room was comfortable, yet felt a bit pretentious or maybe geriatric in a way.

This hotel felt like a hampton inn or a limited service hotel b/c there didn't seem to be much beyond the room that would make this a 4 star hotel. Let alone a 5 star (as it is on priceline!).

Location is superb and the hotel is pretty comfy, especially for the older traveling set. Room service food was EXCELLENT, by the way. i would say this is a major benefit to the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlendaleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 29 June 2009
Dear Mawwit,

My name is Andrew and I am the General Manager of The Benjamin Hotel in New York. After reading your review, I would first like to thank you for complimenting our room service department and I was pleased to read that your experience with them was excellent. I was troubled to read that the service level was not great and on the verge of rude. That is completely unacceptable and well below our standards and expectations. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you so I may get to the bottom of this issue and hopefully renew your faith in our property. If you would be so kind to contact me at the hotel, I would greatly appreciate it.

Kindest regards,
Andrew Labetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,523
    684
    239
    84
    51
See reviews for
675
784
157
530
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2009

The staff at The Benjamin were unhelpful, even snooty in some cases, the location is good, but The Kimberly which is almost next door is much better.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 30 June 2009
Dear Mishcon,

My name is Andrew Labetti, I am the General Manager here at the Benjamin. I must say that the review you posted of our lack of hospitality is very unsettling, and not the norm. I have discussed this issue with my Front Desk Manager and have taken steps to ensure that your experience is not repeated for future guests.

I would like the opportunity to speak with you personally to discuss your experience, and have the chance to restore your faith in the Benjamin. You can reach me at Alabetti@thebenjamin.com.


Kind Regards,


Andrew Labetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
126 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

I stayed here last about 10 years ago and remembered the Benjamin as a stylish hotel in a great location (50th and Lex.). Since then I have stayed elsewhere in NYC, but I got a great price on the room ($215 per night) and looked forward to coming back. Well they haven't moved it from the great location convenient to Grand Central Station, Park Ave. and mid-town. The staff is still very friendly, maybe even more so.

The room I am in is fine. Average size for a NYC hotel, but a big cumbersome desk with a 1990's vintage fax machine on it take up too much room. Th in-room fridge take up the lower half of the closet so I cannot hang up my suite. Even worse, the fridge is hard-wired at 56 degrees (F) so it keeps drinks only a few degrees below the ambient temperature. Why bother?

The Benjamin is still good value, but could use an in-room update. You can do worse for this price in NYC!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mblaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

We arrived late at night at the hotel and after a quick check-in we were taken to our room on the 23rd floor. We were staying in an one bedroom suite. The room was small for a suite but well divided and it had everything you needed making it very cosy. During all my stay I slept very well and was not disturbed by any street noise. The bed was wonderful and there were plenty of pillows to choose from the Pillow Menu.
The reception area is quite small and there isn't a lot of sitting space there but the staff was always friendly and willing to help.
The mini bar and water by the bed are a very expensive. The bottle of water by the bed was priced at a whopping $7 plus tax...Breakfast also very expensive.
If you leave the hotel and turn left you will find a very nice place where they serve breakfast all day long. Prices are reasonable and the food is good. Continue to walk down the street and turn left left (going around the block) and you will find a big market place where you can get drinks and the nice pretzels...
The hotel is located close to the subway station, it is well worth to get a Metro Card which can be bought at any machine inside the stations.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santamonica2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2009

I was staying for 1 week. Upon arrival front desk offered me an upgrade for $4. That set the stage for a very "cheap" experience. Rooms are very small with too much bulky furniture and useless kitchens. Food was pretty poor quality, yet very expensive. Elevators do not always work. Small bathrooms with small tubs, should have replaced with a bigger shower. At best 3 starts.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AleLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2009

I booked the hotel through Priceline for my buddy and I, not realising that they didn't have twin rooms. So I was initially concerned about having to pay extra for a larger room to fit in a pull out bed. However on arrival to the hotel, we were given an upgrade to a 1 bedroom suite with a sofa bed in the lounge. The room was excellent... extremely spacious and clean. The pillow menu was a welcome novelty. If I had to be picky, I would recommend a room away from the elevator as it was noisy on occasion. Also, the street noise in New York is something else, even on the 12th floor. However, I had ear plugs so I had a good nights sleep.

All in all, staff were welcoming and pleasant, hotel was in a great location and all in all it was an excellent stay.

One little thing though, I think the hotel should reduce the prices of their minibar items ($8 for a bottle of water is crazy). That way, people would be more inclined to buy more.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zargarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Booked a room through Priceline for $110/night--a great deal! Did not feel like we got a "bad" room because of Priceline, like some other reviewers. On the 15th floor, back of the hotel. It *is* a small room, typical of NYC. Nice queen size bed, work table, armoire with flat screen TV, closet with safe, full length mirror. Also a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Bathroom small, but with BIG mirror and marble tiled shower. Conveniently located near Grand Central (5-10 minute walk) and same block as E,V, 4, 5,6 trains. Walking distance to Times Square, theatre district.

Did not have any problems with the elevators--never waited more than a minut or two. We found the room to be VERY quiet, with only the usual traffic noises (mostly sirens). We ordered two pillows and were very happy with them. Each night we returned to a clean room, turn down service and classical music playing on the Bose radio.

Be advised that the products in the mini-bar are EXPENSIVE. We used on bottled water which cost $7.50 (Listed as $7, but tax is added...). Also, wireless is $14 for a 24/hr period.

Staff was pleasant. We really only interacted with them at check in and when asking for a late checkout (they can accomodate 2pm, no later...). Doorman stored and retrieved or luggage quickly and had a cab waiting for us (in the middle of the rain.) We did not use room service, the spa, or the bar/lounge/restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#60 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#93 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#150 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#42 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Property: The Benjamin
Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#67 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing