We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continue to love it ...”
Review of The Benjamin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Benjamin
Ranked #87 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Continue to love it ...”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

I wasn't going to write - because it all continues to be wonderful. It would be negligent of me not to recommend such a lovely place. The staff and rooms are equally lovely. The service has always been gracious and proactive. I'll go back again and again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motrzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,522
    683
    239
    84
    51
See reviews for
674
784
157
529
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We booked this hotel as a highlight for two nights before returning home from a USA vacation. Got a good deal online, so we decided we would spend the extra dollars.

When we got there, we were upgraded to a suite room on the 25th floor. Excellent views, very spacious, very clean and very nicely furnished.
Equipped with large flat screen TV and Bose soundsystem.
Small kitchenette-like area.
Plush wardrobes + plenty of toiletries in bathroom.

We did not make any use of any hotel facilities, so all I can say is room and atomsphere was excellent. Staff at door was very friendly.

Location: right across from a subway station.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birgtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 27 August 2010
Dear Birgtravels,

My name is Andrew Labetti, the General Manager of the Benjamin. I just wanted to thank you for all of your kind comments. I have shared your comments with my team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Benjamin in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Labetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed at the Benjamin during a business trip last week. It has been redone recently- looks great & is in a perfect midtown location. The rooms were spacious with kitchens equipped with a fridge & microwave. The also had a coffee little cuisinart coffemaker with good coffee all ready to go. The TV's were flat screens and the bed was uber comfortable and had the most luscious linens. There's even a 12-choice pillow menu to boot! I've never slept so well in a hotel. The bathroom was beautiful- white tile & marble floors. It was clean as a whistle which is the most important thing to me about a room. But, more than anything- the managers, concierge, front desk personnel, business services, chambermaids and bellhops were the friendliest, most courteous people I've encountered during a hotel stay in NY. Just down-to-earth nice normal people. Not one ounce of snobbiness from anyone. They were all so nice my colleague and I kept saying "really?" every time we asked anyone for anything or talked to any of them. I've stayed in a jillion hotels in my day and several in NY as I've been there for business a lot recently. This is it for me. If a hotel itself can fire on all cylinders and the entire staff can make such a positive impression for a short stay there's no need to go elsewhere. Bottom line is that they just do it right. They have their act together and you can feel the behind-the-scenes coordination ensuring their guests feel it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith_Bright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Benjamin, General Manager at The Benjamin, responded to this review, 27 August 2010
Dear Big Travelin Fam,

My name is Andrew Labetti, the General Manager of the Benjamin. I just wanted to thank you for all of your glowing remarks. I am so glad that you got the perfect Benjamin experience that we pride ourselves on. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Benjamin in the near future, and being your New York home.

Kind Regards,

Andrew Labetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2010

What's wrong with this hotel... Absolutely nothing. This place was perfect top to bottom. The room was spotless and huge. The staff was fantastic especially Mohammed the door man. What are you waiting for ?Book your room now. Request room 911.

Kareem

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagnusAristotle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

I actually booked this location due to trip advisor ratings and the fact that the General Manager of this hotel responds to negative reviews with his comments and/or solutions. I usually stay at the Ritz in battery Park when I visit Manhattan in the summer, but decided to switch it up this year mainly because we wanted something closer to Midtown rather than being at the southern tip of Manhattan with the Ritz. I booked a one bedroom deluxe suite and I was on the 24th floor (room 2403 I think) There are actually only 3 rooms on this floor so it is very quiet. I never had a problem with the noise from the traffic on the streets but that may have been because I was on a higher floor. The room was spotless and had an extra large wraparound balcony. I think I remember that it was 550 sq feet, 1 bedroom, one living room, and one bathroom, and even a small kitchen area with a mini fridge, microwave, and sink. Front desk staff and the door guys were great and very attentive. Bed was very comfortable and the A/C worked great in the bedroom but not in the livingroom, but it wasn't something major that I called downstairs to ask for a different room. 4.5 out of 5

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GP024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

I stayed here with a colleague in March. What a hotel! right in the city centre over the road from the Waldorf Astoria, The Benjamin is a wonderful hotel. The staff are super, the rooms are fabulous and the service was excellent. I particularly enjoyed the 'pillow menu' and their 'Swedish Pillow'.

If I go back to NY soon, I would stay here again. It's luxury at an affordable price.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We recently stayed at The Benjamin Hotel in New York City. Our stay there was carefree. The Benjamin was convient for our needs. Service was excellent, room was clean and spacious, and I got the best nights sleep in one of the most comfortable beds. There are wonderful restaurants around the area, Sarabeth's was wonderful. I highly recommend staying there be it for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zimport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimberly Hotel
The Kimberly Hotel
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#95 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#153 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Midtown
San Carlos Hotel
San Carlos Hotel
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#72 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Benjamin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Benjamin

Property: The Benjamin
Address: 125 East 50th Street, at Lexington Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-9501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in New York City
#53 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#73 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Benjamin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Midtown, The Benjamin offers 209 newly re-designed terrace suites, one-bedroom suites and guest rooms by Rottet Studio featuring kitchenettes and signature Benjamin Beds. Housed within the hotel is The National Bar & Dining Rooms with a menu of modern bistro dishes by Iron Chef Geoffrey Zakarian. Known best for its world-renowned Sleep Program Rest & Renew, The Benjamin features a Pillow Menu and bedtime snacks. Families enjoy Winks' Kidzzz Club with pint-sized amenities for kids to use during their stay. A private guest lounge on the second floor offers two business stations and lounge seating. The Benjamin affords quick access to Fifth Avenue's high-end boutiques, Rockefeller Center, MoMA and Central Park. Hotel Services Fee is $30 plus tax per room, per night and provides you with the following amenities: •$10 daily credit toward Geoffrey Zakarian's The National Bar & Dining Rooms* •Wireless Internet on all of your devices throughout your stay •24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness center outfitted by Technogym •In-room artisanal coffee and tea offerings •Unlimited business services including printing •24/7 access to our private Residence Lounge •Unlimited local and domestic long distance calls •Access to our Clef D' Or Concierge services •Package handling and storage prior to and during your stay *Must be redeemed daily. Cannot roll over. **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Benjamin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Benjamin Hotel New York City
Benjamin New York City
Benjamin Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing