We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Rooms but Great”
Review of Belnord Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belnord Hotel
Ranked #304 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The Belnord Hotel was a recommended hotel for teachers attending events at Teachers College at Columbia University. Positives: very clean, comfortable, great elevator, in a good neighborhood and close to the subway. You can walk to groceries, coffee shops, restaurants, and pharmacies--all are close by. They stored my luggage in a secure place the last day when I had to attend my conference until the afternoon and made sure a taxi was waiting to take me to the airport at the time I needed to go. Negatives: rooms are really small with small bathrooms. There is no restaurant at the hotel, but several closeby. Close to Central Park and museums. I would stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: My room was on the 5th floor and worked well. I suggest bringing a power strip if you have multiple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hugsforall3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 1,334 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2013

Rooms are small, but clean and well laid out. Everything was fine apart from the heating, which was on a thermostat and every time it kicked in, it woke me up. It sounds like a plane landing!! Other than that, a perfectly good hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyJos135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Tiny room with a view of a brick wall - not so unusual for NYC. The bed was supposedly a double, but I'd not want to put two people in this room. Bath the size of a closet (you can't spread the bath mat all the way out on the "floor"). Again, if you're traveling alone and just need the bare minimum, it works. Great location just a block from the 86th Street Subway station on a reasonably quiet street. That's worth a good deal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank profnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

The Upper West Side does not offer many hotel options so The Belnord, hidden among the row houses, tenaments, and brownstones, allows you to feel like a resident of this interesting, quintessential New York neighborhood.

Access to Central Park is also priceless.

That said, the photos posted here tell the entire story. The rooms are tiny but comfortable. There are no views, no amenities, no services beyond the basics offered by a staff of eager to please, well trained, but unpolished young locals.

It was perfect for business travel but only of you're working nearby or get an excellent rate.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Sal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The hotel is not a luxury five star hotel. It is, however, comfortable, warm and well positioned for the metro and Central Park. The rooms are small. We had a twin room and there wasn't much space around each bed. However, the room was clean, the beds were amazingly comfortable and the bathroom was functional with a good shower and hairdryer.

The reception staff were helpful. There was a storage area for suitcases and a general shower room which can be used if you arrive or leave outside of check in time.

The metro station is just one block away and it takes about 10-15 minutes to get into central downtown. The trains run well to time and are very frequent.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is happy with a reasonably priced, basic hotel in good location.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveller292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

the location for me was the only plus. the hotel itself is outdated with no amenities. the rooms are ridiculously small, and you can hear everything that goes on in the other rooms and the hallway. the bed is hard and the sheets are not comfortable, and the curtains didn't close all the way. The front desk staff greeted me curtly, and at 10 o'clock at night could not find my reservation even though I booked it directly on their website. they repeated this with the next person who followed me in, and eventually managed to find both reservations after a long wait. that's a terrible feeling 10 o'clock at night. my room key never worked, so I had to go to the front desk to be let in every single time. this was a last minute stay, only for one night, and I would not return or recommend to others.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank woozel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Excellent location and average standard. Really nothing special to write home about. The location is however excellent for both business and pleasure. The hotel itself would be a two star hotel according to my standard. Price is not related to the standard. Well, staff is friendly, room is clean but it is definitely no a trendy hotel. A bit old fashioned. Wifi is not complimentary. Air quality was not particularly good in my room. But again, what can you expect to get from your money In NYC in December?

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Runar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#319 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#385 of 469 in New York City
647 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#392 of 469 in New York City
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#395 of 469 in New York City
1,630 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#433 of 469 in New York City
1,994 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#187 of 469 in New York City
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belnord Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belnord Hotel

Address: 209 West 87th Street, New York City, NY 10024-2844
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £48 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belnord Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upper West Side of Manhattan, walking distance to Central Park and the Museum of Natural History. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Belnord Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belnord Hotel New York City
Belnord Hotel Nyc
Belnord New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing