We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable boutique hotel I've visited in Manhattan”
Review of 414 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
414 Hotel
Ranked #2 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Ideally located between Hell's Kitchen and Times Square. Friendly and helpful staff. Quiet street. Free wifi and basic breakfast. Basically a converted townhouse on a residential street. Air condition worked well which was vital for the day I stayed. Decent sized room but no desk to work on. TV remote broken but I didn't really need it so didn't mention to staff until check out. Be aware that there is no elevator with rooms on 2nd and 3rd floor and stairway is narrow. I would stay here again when I need to be in this part of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

962 - 968 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

My girlfriend and I were there for a week in July.


At first, we were not so happy about the Hotel, but we realized that the employee at the front desk was not really good. A bit too laid back.

As the days passed, we found that the other employees were all very nice people.

The room was ok for NYC. we went to see friends at another hotel and it was more or less the same thing, ie small room in the 200-250 $ range. We wouldn't have paid more for the Hotel. Our room was bigger though.

On the plus side : the site. There are plenty of restaurants in Hell's Kitchen and you are at walking distance of a lot of places like Central Park, Times Square, 5th Avenue, etc.

The breakfast was sober. Fruits would be appreciated and a bit more varieties. The coffee was great.

Although it was not a problem for us, there are no elevator in the Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLedMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Nice hotel with light breakfast to start your day. Close to subways and close enough to walk to Times Square and Rockefeller Center. Very helpful staff. Kinky Boots theater 1 block from hotel.

Safe in room for valuables you don't want to carry with you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OzandLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I was very pleased with my stay in this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was quiet, which is hard to find in Manhattan, and the prices were reasonable by Manhattan standards. The bed was very comfortable, and the complimentary breakfast was nice.

It is conveniently located a short walk away from Times Square, where my business was for the trip. It's surrounded by delicious restaurants ranging from fine dining to great-tasting, reasonably-priced meals.

The internet was free and reasonably fast, although it was an insecure connection.

My one minor quibble was that there was no desk in my room, which made it difficult to work on my laptop or eat in my room. There was, however, a cozy courtyard that guests could use.

I would happily stay in this hotel again on a future visit to NYC.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at 414 Hotel for 5 nights on our last visit. It was convenient to the Broadway theaters (our main focus this trip), the Daily Show and Colbert Report studios, and to the subway. The hotel was clean, the beds were comfortable, the linen and towels very nice. They have breakfast food out until 10, consisting of coffee, cereal, some pastries (mainly croissants), bagels (not the NYC quality bagels, but fresh, I think), bread for toast, juice. It was good to have some food without having to go out for it.

The street-side rooms are a bit noisy, even through closed windows. No lift, but we knew that when we booked it. All in all, I'd probably return.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnitaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Times Square, Central Park, 5th Avenue, 42nd Street, Grand Central station; they’re all within walking distance of Hotel 414. A short walk to take a taxi or subway to the 9/11 Memorial or up to Harlem and with wonderful friendly and very helpful staff with clean and quiet surroundings this hotel was perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peneric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during May and had a great time! Our room was a decent size and was very clean. We really like the continental style breakfast each morning and the free wifi was excellent. The courtyard was great for having breakfast when the weather was good. This hotel has a friendly relaxed atmosphere and the staff were very helpful. The location of this hotel is excellent, we had just finished a cruise on the Norwegian Breakaway and were able to walk from the port to the hotel in about 10 minutes with our suitcases. The location is also near times square & restaurant row. This hotel will also keep your luggage if you arrive early or have a late flight. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bandaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#6 of 469 in New York City
504 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,334 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 469 in New York City
3,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 414 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 414 Hotel

Address: 414 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#9 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#19 Business Hotel in New York City
#21 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £164 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 414 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a unique NYC experience that you can't find at a large hotel, look no further than the 414 Hotel. We are a boutique hotel with a bed-and-breakfast ambiance offering personalized service and a comfortable, home-away-from-home feel. Step through our red door and immediately feel an oasis of calm. Conveniently located just steps away from Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, The Javits Convention Center, Central Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your 414 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
414 Hotel New York City
414 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing