We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of 414 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
414 Hotel
Ranked #1 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Colden, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights here with the July in the city special. Great location, only had to walk 11/2 blocks to both theaters that we went to. The bus stops are on either corner, subway 2 blocks down(super easy to take subway from JFK). We arrived at around 10am, just planning to drop off bags until check-in, told room would be ready within 20 min and to help ourselves to breakfast. I had requested a lower floor room since my back had gone out recently and facing courtyard which was recommended by other Trip advisors for quiet. Very pleased got room on first floor. Very comfortable sized room with large bathroom. There is no closet, but we had packed light for the hot weather and the clothes bar with hangers and dresser were enough for us. The room was very quiet, only had people talking in courtyard first evening, but with air conditioner and tv we drifted right to sleep. Staff was very nice. We also got a bottle of sparkling wine with our room, which was very nice, to have a glass every evening. Just bought fruit around corner to eat with croissants and bagels for breakfast. Nice quiet tree lined street. Lots of restaurants just down the street. Will definitely stay again. Intrepid just down the street as is Circle line cruises.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank bernice m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,004
    270
    40
    13
    6
See reviews for
212
685
105
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The location is perfect, located "deadsmack" in the middle of all the excitement. Staff is very helpful, friendly, specially the night guy Fernando. Was very helpful planning my night when my plans got cancelled, one phone call and he got my into club Pacha, right down the block from hotel, which was great.
Cant really think of anything to complain about the 414, hotel is exatly how it is described online. Stayed in the second floor facing the streetside, a bit loud at night, but hey it was the weekend and plus its NYC!
Will definetely recommend to my friends and becoming a repeat guest would not but dificult.

Room Tip: street side room can become noise a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy85_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Ideally located between Hell's Kitchen and Times Square. Friendly and helpful staff. Quiet street. Free wifi and basic breakfast. Basically a converted townhouse on a residential street. Air condition worked well which was vital for the day I stayed. Decent sized room but no desk to work on. TV remote broken but I didn't really need it so didn't mention to staff until check out. Be aware that there is no elevator with rooms on 2nd and 3rd floor and stairway is narrow. I would stay here again when I need to be in this part of the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My girlfriend and I were there for a week in July.


At first, we were not so happy about the Hotel, but we realized that the employee at the front desk was not really good. A bit too laid back.

As the days passed, we found that the other employees were all very nice people.

The room was ok for NYC. we went to see friends at another hotel and it was more or less the same thing, ie small room in the 200-250 $ range. We wouldn't have paid more for the Hotel. Our room was bigger though.

On the plus side : the site. There are plenty of restaurants in Hell's Kitchen and you are at walking distance of a lot of places like Central Park, Times Square, 5th Avenue, etc.

The breakfast was sober. Fruits would be appreciated and a bit more varieties. The coffee was great.

Although it was not a problem for us, there are no elevator in the Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLedMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Nice hotel with light breakfast to start your day. Close to subways and close enough to walk to Times Square and Rockefeller Center. Very helpful staff. Kinky Boots theater 1 block from hotel.

Safe in room for valuables you don't want to carry with you.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzandLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I was very pleased with my stay in this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was quiet, which is hard to find in Manhattan, and the prices were reasonable by Manhattan standards. The bed was very comfortable, and the complimentary breakfast was nice.

It is conveniently located a short walk away from Times Square, where my business was for the trip. It's surrounded by delicious restaurants ranging from fine dining to great-tasting, reasonably-priced meals.

The internet was free and reasonably fast, although it was an insecure connection.

My one minor quibble was that there was no desk in my room, which made it difficult to work on my laptop or eat in my room. There was, however, a cozy courtyard that guests could use.

I would happily stay in this hotel again on a future visit to NYC.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at 414 Hotel for 5 nights on our last visit. It was convenient to the Broadway theaters (our main focus this trip), the Daily Show and Colbert Report studios, and to the subway. The hotel was clean, the beds were comfortable, the linen and towels very nice. They have breakfast food out until 10, consisting of coffee, cereal, some pastries (mainly croissants), bagels (not the NYC quality bagels, but fresh, I think), bread for toast, juice. It was good to have some food without having to go out for it.

The street-side rooms are a bit noisy, even through closed windows. No lift, but we knew that when we booked it. All in all, I'd probably return.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnitaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,501 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 414 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 414 Hotel

Property: 414 Hotel
Address: 414 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3505
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#9 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#19 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — 414 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a unique NYC experience that you can't find at a large hotel, look no further than the 414 Hotel. We are a boutique hotel with a bed-and-breakfast ambiance offering personalized service and a comfortable, home-away-from-home feel. Step through our red door and immediately feel an oasis of calm. Conveniently located just steps away from Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, The Javits Convention Center, Central Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your 414 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
414 Hotel New York City
414 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing