We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and inviting”
Review of 414 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
414 Hotel
Ranked #1 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and inviting”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

I came to New York with my daughter and even though it was freezing the whole week we were there it was always lovely to 'come home' to Hotel 414. The open fire and Christmas decorations made it feel like home. My daughter doesn't eat breakfast so I really enjoyed going down to breakfast in my 'sloppy' clothes having a leisurely breakfast whilst reading the newspaper. Breakfast included chocolate croissants and bagels. I really loved the spacious bathroom- a luxury in New York. Staff were very friendly and if you are travelling alone it would be a great place to stay as you would feel like you are at home.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
414Hotel, Manager at 414 Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Hearing this means so much to me, Jen, as we always want you to feel at home when you're here. Thank you for bringing your daughter and staying with us, and I'm glad you were both so comfortable. It's also lovely to know that you had the opportunity to enjoy a leisurely breakfast every morning -- that's what we call luxury!

All the best,
Susan Yates, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,051
    273
    41
    13
    7
See reviews for
223
717
107
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

So this was a mixed bag for us. I usually do a lot of research on Trip Advisor before I confirm any reservations & the reviews were pretty good for this place. Our experience was just ok. The location is great. Walking distance to time square & great places to eat & even a cool shopping area about 1 block away. We stayed on the 3rd floor away from the street. The room was clean but shabby. It looks worn & not up to date, drab. There is no view unless you count a brick wall a few feet away a view. We kept the shades down which added to the dreariness of the room. There was a young guy working the front desk most of the time & he was very friendly & helpful. I questioned the price when I registered. I hadn't remembered it was about $300.00/nt with tax. A woman told me its what I agreed to. She was very much in my face which I really didn't feel was necessary. Again, not what was said as much as how it was said. "Breakfast" is boxes of cereal & apples. There are great places to have breakfast in walking distance. That's what we did. I got up to use the bathroom in the middle of the night & when I put the light on a cockroach ran from the bathroom into the bed area. We go to NYC frequently & I've spent the same amount & had much better hotel rooms. Once was enough for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AdventureGirl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
414Hotel, Manager at 414 Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
I took over management of the 414 Hotel at the end of November and just realized that your posting never received a reply. I am truly sorry that it's been so long and even more sorry that your experience was not a more pleasant one. Since I started we have been busy upgrading our rooms with new paint, carpet and furniture (although we are still a work in progress). We have upgraded the breakfast and have added wine and cheese in the evenings. We are working hard to make sure every guest feels a warm, homey feeling from the moment they arrive until the moment they leave. As you can see from more recent reviews, our guests are really enjoying the new level of service we provide. I am sorry that you did not experience this. It sounds like a long shot that you would consider staying with us again, but if you would give us another chance we'd be happy to show you our improvements. Please be in touch with me directly (212-399-0006) if you would like to talk about a second stay.

Sincerely,
Susan Yates, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This little hotel was perfect for my daughter and I. Located close to the theater district and Times Square! Affordable, very clean and comfortable with a friendly and helpful staff! And they have a car service to transport you to and from the airport.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem, be sure to ask for a room on the first floor. And the rooms facing the cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
414Hotel, Manager at 414 Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
We're happy that you found us, Jylene, and that we were such a perfect choice for you and your daughter! We hope we can welcome you back again very soon.

All the best,
Susan Yates, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel was tiny, but very nice. The room was fresh and looked renovated. Very helpful staff. The nextdoor neighbour was a very nice bar, where you also could smoke hooka (middle-eastern waterpipe with different fruit-flavours). On the downside; our room was facing the street, so there was a lot of traffic-noise during the night. Ask for a room facing the backyard! There's no elevator in the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank LukHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
414Hotel, Manager at 414 Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
I'm glad you found us, and that you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you for your great feedback and for taking the time to review us. I apologize for the street noise -- it's one of the drawbacks of the city that never sleeps! I hope you'll come see us again someday, and we'll work hard to make sure your experience is absolutely perfect.

Best,
Susan Yates, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the 414 Hotel, from Nov 10-13. I was in NYC to take a very important test, 8- hour long torture, so I was looking for a comfortable bed, quiet room, preferably smaller hotel to make for a more personalized stay and easy check-in and check-out. And that's exactly what I found at the 414 Hotel. First of all, I would like to express my commendations to all the staff of the hotel. They took into account my request for a quite room, were very considerate to ask me if I would prefer music in stead of TV when they saw me studying at the lobby, and even wished me good luck on my exam and asked about it when I came back! My room (205) was in mint conditions, there was a stuffed animal of The Muppets on my bed - sweet touch. The bed was very comfortable and I had a good night sleep. The bathroom was clean, and even large for NYC standards. The lobby is cozy, inviting, and has a beautiful fireplace behind a large table where I was able to study. Breakfast starts at 7, and when I was talking to the the front desk they offered to have something for me earlier than that if I needed to leave early on the day of my exam. Overall, this was a great hotel for my needs, I am so happy I found it and it surpassed my expectations. I would recommended it to anyone who is looking for a cozy, quiet, beautiful oasis in midtown Manhattan.

Room Tip: There is a field for special requests when you book online through the hotels' webpage. Room 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catalina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

414 hotel is a very nice place to stay in New York. It's like you are in a friend's house. I stayed at the hotel in November with my daughter and we had a great surprise.
The bedroom and the bathroom were a very good size, clean and comfortable.
This hotel is located in a nice and quiet neighborhood besides being only three blocks of Broadway. There are good restaurants and a subway station in a short walk.
The hotel also offers breakfast included in the roomprice and surprise! there is a little kitchen opened from 7am until 8/9pm where you can have tea or coffee for free every time you want!
The front desk team is also nice and very helpful, mainly Jackie and Mary. They give you good tips and are always smiling and ready to help.
There is only one aspect that one have to take in account: the hotel does not have elevator. So if you have problems to go up stairs, ask them to stay in the 1st floor or in the courtyard.
If you are expecting a hotel with big crystal chandeliers, huge luxurious lobby, this is not your place. But if you want a nice place with helpful, friendly and welcome people, this is your place in NY.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I travel to NYC on business four to five times a year for four to six days each stay. I always add in time for theater and fun and usually try to stay in the midtown vicinity (no farther south 34th or north than 60th with 10th to 5th Avenues as the outer boundary.) When I started seeing reviews of 414 I decided to give it a try and will never stay anywhere else again unless the hotel is booked. The bedroom and bathroom were both surprisingly roomy for an NYC boutique hotel, very clean and very comfortable. Every staff member I encountered was super friendly.

The location is just enough off the business to make you feel like you are residential but close enough to great restaurants and theaters to not be off-putting. The decor is bright and pleasant. The courtyard is adorable and the lobby, though small, is inviting. I certainly drank my share of the delicious coffee and enjoyed some breakfast nibbles as well.

I felt so at home and safe here. I wish I had found this little gem sooner. For comparison, I have most recently stayed at: Hampton Inn North Times Square, New Yorker, Milford and the Edison. I have not really had a bad NYC hotel experience, it is just that 414 so exceeded my expectations and became more of a welcome place to return to than a hurry and get out hotel. I can not wait to be back.

Room Tip: 2nd floor overlooking courtyard was bright, quiet and had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachfan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#4 of 466 in New York City
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 466 in New York City
774 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 466 in New York City
3,630 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 414 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 414 Hotel

Property: 414 Hotel
Address: 414 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3505
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#9 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#19 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — 414 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a unique NYC experience that you can't find at a large hotel, look no further than the 414 Hotel. We are a boutique hotel with a bed-and-breakfast ambiance offering personalized service and a comfortable, home-away-from-home feel. Step through our red door and immediately feel an oasis of calm. Conveniently located just steps away from Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, The Javits Convention Center, Central Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your 414 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
414 Hotel New York City
414 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing