We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located home away from home.”
Review of 414 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
414 Hotel
Ranked #1 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Well located hotel for broadway shows, Lincoln Centre, Hell's Kitchen restaurants, yet tucked away in a residential setting in a low rise building with a private back courtyard.
Breakfast is included.
The lobby could use some updating and the coffee could be better but these are minor complaints.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
414Hotel, General Manager at 414 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post this and for your honest opinion about our coffee. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy our coffee -- generally speaking most of our guests find it far better than most American coffee and we get many compliments. If you come back we will double up on the espresso portion of the mix for you. :) Thanks for taking the time to review us -- we really appreciate it. Fondly, Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
There are newer reviews for 414 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

A big thank you to Susan, Andrew and the rest of the team at 414 Hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely pay you a visit when we get the chance to return to NYC. The location was great - close enough to Time Square that you could easily pop out to catch a show, but far enough out that you didn't get caught up in the crowds. We really appreciated all of the wonderful restaurant recommendations in the area along with the local advice for seeing sites.
See you in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Benji258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

414 is close to some good restaurants, Time Square/Midtown, and (in the other direction) the Hudson River (and the Circle Line Pier/USS Intrepid complex). I had a good sized, good value room with big screen tvs and enjoyed the evening 'happy hour' during which guests mingle over a glass of wine. But its owner Susan's genuine hospitality that means that I'll definitely be back :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countrygirlJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

After a search for information about hotel in NYC. We chose 414 hotel, and indeed we were not disappointed about that. Hotel is located in a good location, quite close to Times Square. The hotel's staff are friendly and attentive, they always smile. Room and bathroom is clean. Rooms have bright colors and very comfortable bed. It have strong and fast wifi. Breakfast in the courtyard is actually a good idea of ​​the property. We will be back in the next time

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrnbt189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I stayed our first night in NYC at the 414 Hotel. It was a last minute business trip that we decided to extend into the weekend for a mini vacation. It was our first visit to the city, and to be fair, we were looking for the typical tourist hotel in Times Square - high rise, big city view, in the heart of the hustle & bustle. To get that effect, we had booked 3 nights in the Intercontinental. However, their Wed night rate was ridiculously high so we were forced to find an alternative for that first night. Well, I'm glad it turned out that way - as we stumbled across the 414 Hotel during our search on Trip Advisor.

While just a few blocks apart, what a contrast between the two hotels! It seems like the 414 gives you the personal, more intimate experience of what it might be like to be “a local” New Yorker. Sitting on quiet, tree-lined west 46th St., it’s a block over from Restaurant Row, and right at the convergence of Hell’s Kitchen and the Theatre District – very walkable to many popular locations.

For check in, we arrived a little late for the nightly ‘happy hour’ social gathering – but no matter! Susan welcomed us to come back down to the courtyard for complimentary cocktails and snacks once we settled into our room. We did just that – joining her and another couple visiting from South Carolina. It was a thoroughly pleasant evening, allowing us to shake off the day’s travels, and get a good primer on things to do from our fine company. Afterwards, the staff recommended we try Becco just a block down Restaurant Row for dinner. We took them up on the recommendation and it was a great dinner.

Our room faced 46th street (other rooms face the courtyard), but it was so quiet that we enjoyed a great night’s sleep in an extremely comfortable king bed. The rooms are characteristically cozy for a historic building, but comfortable. There is a mini fridge/mini bar in the room, as well as a flat screen TV, both of which were an unexpected surprise in a boutique style hotel. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate, with yogurt, cereals, fruit, muffins, juice and great, strong coffee. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful - from stowing our bags for the day, to hailing a cab, to restaurant suggestions, to just making everything easy and pleasant!

Bottom line? We would stay here again in a heartbeat. The folks are friendly and real – you’ll get no blank stares here - but you will bet genuine customer service, good room value and a great location. Thanks to Susan and the rest of the team for an enjoyable and memorable stay in the heart of the city at the 414 Hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the street and some face the courtyard. Just be aware when you book if you have a pr...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank td193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Wow! What a find! In the heart of Hell's Kitchen, Susan, Mary and the staff at this wonderful boutique hotel made our stay warm, safe, rewarding and comfortable.

Location is ideal, HH is great, beds and amenities are comfortable. Breakfast in a very Euro style outdoor patio charming.

Only issue is the lack of elevators, which may out some off, but that is quibling. Highly recommended. We will be back again and again!

Room Tip: Get in the addition, away from street noise.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattheww765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

For our anniversary getaway, we wanted something different from a typical chain hotel. This was it! As soon as we arrived, we were welcomed with smiles and offers of information for nearby restaurants and destinations. They even helped lug our bags up to our room!

Each time we returned from an outing, whoever was working asked how it was, and we'd swap stories. Breakfast in the courtyard was a treat each morning.

The room was spacious, clean and cozy.

The location was steps away from interesting bars, pubs, and shops.

When we return to NYC, THIS is absolutely where we will stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#2 of 468 in New York City
359 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Crosby Street Hotel
Crosby Street Hotel
#5 of 468 in New York City
782 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 414 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 414 Hotel

Address: 414 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036-3505
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in New York City
#9 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#19 Business Hotel in New York City
#37 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £196 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 414 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a unique NYC experience that you can't find at a large hotel, look no further than the 414 Hotel. We are a boutique hotel with a bed-and-breakfast ambiance offering personalized service and a comfortable, home-away-from-home feel. Step through our red door and immediately feel an oasis of calm. Conveniently located just steps away from Times Square, the Broadway Theater District, Restaurant Row, The Javits Convention Center, Central Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your 414 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
414 Hotel New York City
414 New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing