We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room # 1030” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelsea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chelsea Hotel
Ranked #389 of 467 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Room # 1030”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I used to sublet the very top apartment (Room # 1030) from a rich guy from Luxembourg who lived there for a long time. You had to sidestep a lot of silliness and drama, however, it was a great place to be.

Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
14 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    87
    42
    28
    69
See reviews for
32
108
42
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This Joint is no more.
It has closed and is sold.
It's a shame. I'm happy I managed to spend a night at this "museum".
Not for the comfort, but for the atmosphere, history, architechture, art and just for this "been-there" thing.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2028125/Hotel-Chelsea-New-York-closes-Where-Dylan-Thomas-drank-death.html

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fotriktig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This place is terrible....I gave it a two-star rating based on it's history and it is kind of cool to say you visited and stayed at such a legendary place. So yes, that's great...now to the actual HOTEL itself. Don't stay here! For the price, you can do much better in the city of New York. The rooms are dirty, the beds looks so bad that you don't even want to sleep on them (I slept on top of the blankets), all appliances/electrical is outdated, and the WIFI service didn't work most of the time I was there. I told the front desk I had a family emergency and had to leave NYC the next day and they let me get out after one night, which was nice of them. The staff seemed friendly enough, but this place is run-down. Maybe it's me and I don't get the whole "hey, this place is historic and artsy, so it can be a dump" thing but I'll spend my money elsewhere next time. Not for me.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Richiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

kansas city
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

This is not a four-star, fancy hotel where you will be pampered. It is a living piece of history and its charm comes from knowing that the hotel is historic and has seen some amazing things.
The rooms are nice and clean. definitely not fancy, but you are also not paying that much (considering its location). If you want a hotel with real charm that is clean and simple, this is your best bet!
There are a few great bars nearby and its central location in the city is wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ccmyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Love, love, love this hotel. The restaurants, the rooms, the vintage feel of it. However, the last 2 times I've gone there the Sauna and Steam room have been broken. I wish they'd keep the maintenance of it up, definitely one of my favorite things to do at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Before the Chelsea sold out to the new proprietor, it was already a dump-- REALLY a dump. There's great history there, sure-- and the paintings in the stairwell were always cool to look at-- but even the "famous"manager of yore was known for ripping off the clientele and for presenting really shoddy rooms. The cockroaches are legendary.The front desk service and office has always been snooty-- still is. The golden days are Waaay gone. But now-- well, there's really no reason to go there. It's still a dump-- but trumped up as something that it's not. It all died here at the end of the 1970s. There's a lot of the city that's still alive-- go elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank NoneNamedYet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

I would gladly live in the chelsea - a great feeling of artistic camaraderie. sure there are cockroaches and weirdos, but you're in new york. the janis joplin suite is cool - you can see her signature inside the fuse box. great area, great people, the staff take an interest if you do. it's grungey, but I wouldn't stay anywhere else if I could help it. we shot a film there on max's kansas city, and all the people who came to be interviewed in our room really enjoyed having a reason to go back there. fine for kids too.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bomboraboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#428 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,063 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel

Property: Chelsea Hotel
Address: 222 W 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #389 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Chelsea Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Chelsea is a world renowned residence for artists, musicians, writers, philosophers, and characters of the most singular and eccentric stripe which the imagination might conjure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing