We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a fun day out”
Review of Live In Theater

Live In Theater
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Live In Theater is a seasonal company running from April-Nov in NYC!Since 2009 Live In Theater has re-imagined the murder mystery genre. What in the hands of others has been light, superficial, and trivial in the hands of Live In Theater becomes urgent and dynamic. By blending award-winning acting, real historical murders, city streets, and a heightened sense of realism from the actors, what audiences experience is high caliber-in-your-face cutting edge theater. At Live In Theater we offer true interactive immersion by literally placing the audience in the center of the action, as they live in it. Here we play it for real. Come and rediscover your childlike sense of play, while using your adult smarts to try and solve the cases.Live in Theater: Come live your history!
South Plainfield, New Jersey
1 review
“Definitely a fun day out”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was an amazing experience! My friend and I went to see the Lombardi case and from the start it was very engaging and also allowed us the opportunity to interact with other groups of tourists in solving the case. It was lots of fun to walk around the streets wondering who you will see next and how to approach them. Caution: They RUN AWAY!! I also really loved how they interacted with not only us as group members but also talking to other tourists just passing by. They were in character until the end with unexpected twists.
ps( some adult language, probably not too suitable for younger children)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ardsley, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Bring your friends and family, you will NOT be disappointed!”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

What a great experience for everyone in our group ages 12 to 77! We tried to solve The Ryan Case. What a blast! We met at a "grocery store" and were told about the case. Then we were given a map to follow. As we walked in 100 degree heat - no one cared. We all spoke about each character we met as we walked, and tried to figure out who did it. Each actor gave another bunch of clues to assist us in our conclusions. It was so exciting to find the next character actor. Then when we were done interrogating each character, we went back to the "grocery store" and tried to figure out who did it! SOOO much FUN!!! Bring your friends and family. The more - the merrier!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nooproblem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
“Don't Miss It.”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

AWESOME! This was a lot fun and glad we did it on our trip. We had two younger children (Age 12) who are extremely involved with theater and they had a blast. There is vulgar language the actors use to keep in character so make sure your child are ready. This is designed for adult entertainment but very kid friendly outside of some language. The actors were phenomenol and the story lines very well thought out. We did the Lombardi case and will do the other when we come back to NYC.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent interactive performance”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Caught the Lombardi Case this afternoon. The 2-hour show has the audience walking around the LES, meeting suspects/witnesses of a murder case and trying to find out who killed Lombardi. The actors are very realistic and never lose character on the streets, so much so that other passersby are curious and sometimes freaked out. This is a very unique experience in theater and I'm looking forward to going to one of their other shows.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arvind_P_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Interactive fun!”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Just went this afternoon to the "Lombardi Case". What a fun time! Interacting with actors on the streets of the Lower East Side was very cool! I plan to do go back to the other shows really soon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank altermood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Live In Theater also viewed

 

Been to Live In Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing