We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blah”

Carlo's Bake Shop - Cake Boss Cafe
Ranked #76 of 406 Bakeries in New York City
Price range: US$3 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Description: For fans of TLC’s hit reality show, Cake Boss, the wait is finally over. Welcome to Cake Boss Cafe, the only place in Manhattan to experience the authentic, old world taste of Hoboken, New Jersey’s legendary Carlo’s Bakery – home of the Cake Boss himself, master baker and renowned cake decorator, Buddy Valastro.Combining time-honored tradition with Buddy’s unique and innovative signature baking style, Cake Boss Cafe features a wide variety of tasty treats including fresh cannolis, lobster tails, tiramisu, cookies, cupcakes and countless other scrumptious Cake Boss creations delivered fresh daily from Carlo’s Bakery.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Blah”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Ok I just went to this place because my mom watches the show. The store was so packed we had to get a number and wait about 30 min to get called to place my order. The inly thing we wanted to try was The Tiramisu and they were sold out. We ended up getting the cannoli instead which wasn't that great. I think people come here more for the name than anything else. I've eaten better desserts some place else. I'm not wasting my time again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindyny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    749
    708
    335
    249
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Buddy you may be the boss, but you need to buck your ideas up!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

WHAT AN UNDERWHELMING EXPERIENCE!

My wife and I have been Cake Boss fans for years and Buddy's was near the top of our list when we booked NYC for our honeymoon. We were disappointed when we thought we weren't going to have time to visit Hoboken and the real Carlo's Bakery until we found out about the Cake Boss Cafe just before we left the UK.

Anyway... we left the Cake Boss Cafe until our last day in NYC. We decided we'd go at breakfast time and start the day the wrong way... Cake and coffee :D

We got there just before 9, and the shop was very quiet. We chose our cake(s - it would be rude not to have 2 each!) and sat down on the shared tables. The cakes we had were a cannoli (me), red velvet cake (me), chocolate moose cake (Mrs) and a cookie (Mrs). I've got to say I've had nicer cakes from Asda (WalMart for my American cousins)!

I've never ate a cake with less taste than those dished up by Buddy and his minions! After spending over $30 expecting a culinary experience, I was actually dished up a Times Square expensive imitation! Don't get me wrong, the cakes looked amazing but it was definitely a case of style over substance.... seeing is not believing folks.

A PLEA TO BUDDY.....

I know you're now raking money in hand over fist because of your TV show, but c'mon, if you carry on like this your reputation will be ruined.... just look at some of the reviews on here! Please stop cutting the obvious corners you are and remember cakes should taste great first and look good second.

Anyway, if I'm ever back in NYC I won't be wasting my time in the Cake Boss Cafe again... I actually doubt it will be there much longer if our experience was anything to go by!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank DaveC1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cake Boss or Cake trainee”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

When walking around New York my daughter happily pointed out the Cake Boss Cafe. We enter the place to shock how cool it was and how pretty the deserts look. The line was long but they worked fast. BUT the price to size was ridiculous. After getting our order I realized how the employees were using the same gloves to touch eachother to touch the food they served. It became a problem to just have our order put in boxes since there was little to none seats forcing us to take it to go. After arriving at our hotel my husband tried out the cannoli and said it was terrible threw it away after two bites. My daughter order chocolate mousse with strawberries and after we both tasted it chocolate mousse was tasteless as well as the strawberries. The worst part was my cupcake after checking my cupcake on the train the cupcake was placed crooked and the frosting off. I took off the leftover frosting on the velvet cupcake and found hair YES HAIR! No one in my family has blonde hair. The overall experience of food was just throwing it in the trash. Maybe the actual Cake Boss resteraunt is better than the cafe but that wasn't our experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cupcakeesposito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cake Boss Crumbs”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The line was very long. You take numbers...many people left before their number was called. When it was our turn some of the popular flavors of cupcakes and pastries were gone so you went with your 2nd or 3rd choice. Very little seating. Had to stand and eat or take it with you. Many people took pictures with the Cake Boss caricature statue. Would not wait in line again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2013cck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Slightly underwhelming”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Have had much nicer desserts for a better price. Quite a conveyor belt system in place in terms of customer service. Not as big a choice as I would have expected and definitely could have been cleaner.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yvonneeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carlo's Bake Shop - Cake Boss Cafe also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Carlo's Bake Shop - Cake Boss Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing