We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rainy night and loud group”
Review of Spirit of New York

Spirit of New York
Book In Advance
More Info
US$139.55*
and up
Bateaux New York Dinner Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us aboard Spirit of New York and Spirit of New Jersey for a fun mix of dining, dancing, entertainment and skyline views. Cruising the Hudson River year-round, Spirit has a variety of lunch, dinner, moonlight and holiday cruises like Mother's Day, plus dozens of themed cruises, to choose from.
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rainy night and loud group”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

First, The food was outstanding probably some of the best we had while in the city. Unfortunately it rained during our cruise making our trip less than optimal. We were also cruising with a high school prom group which made the 2 1/2 hours cruise seem like 2 1/2 days. There was no way to get away from the noise because of the rain. The music was so loud we could not even hear our own conversation and this made for a miserable "last night in NYC / sons 22nd bday" celebration. We were counting down the minutes until the boat docked and we could get off. Maybe we will try again, but not likely. Large groups should have their own private booked cruise. Lot of money spent for just a good meal. Disappointed. You can see an amazing view of city from " Top of the Rock". Gave cruise an average rating only because of the food and service. Great food and great service. Otherwise it would have been poor.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    100
    46
    24
    35
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“food terrible”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

i didnt believe when i see the food, terrible! the ship and staff is good, the view exvelent, but the food : ( poor. for 150 dolars!? call the police

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruiter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cruises42, Manager at Spirit of New York, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi Ruiter - While we are glad you enjoyed the views and service onboard your cruise, we are sorry to hear that the food did not meet your expectations. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We take customer feedback seriously and use it to help improve our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Beautiful views, excellent staff, terrible food”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a wonderful Mother's Day aboard the boat, the views were spectacular. The food was cold, tasted like something out of a freezer, and extremely dissappointing. We had to pay for the children also, and between the 8 of us we barely consumed enough to make it worth the cost.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cruises42, Manager at Spirit of New York, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Hi Jessica - A Spirit cruise should be a fun and festive way to celebrate a special occasion and we apologize that your experience was disappointing. While we are glad you enjoyed the views, we are sorry that the food did not meet your expectations. We strive to create an unforgettable atmosphere for our guests to celebrate and it's clear we failed to do so on your cruise. We appreciate you sharing your experience. We take customer feedback seriously and are looking into your issues in an effort to continually improve our product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Rock, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible time”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We booked a luncheon Cruise for my parents 60th anniversary. Sadly my Dad passed away suddenly one month prior. Mom wanted to go ahead with the cruise not only for the anniversary but to honor my Dad's life. The whole family with a few close friends totaling 35 people went on the cruise. The people helping us set everything up were so attentive and responsive. They were understanding when my Dad passed away and let us not worry about a thing until we were ready. The day of the cruise the weather was wonderful (I know they did not have anything to do with it but it did increase the magic of the day). When we boarded our waiter, Travis, took care of Mom and made her feel special on her day. The food was wonderful and the DJ wished us all well and helped us celebrate life and love(which became our theme for the day). I know I didn't even go into the views or photo ops, they are amazing but came second compared to what Spirit Cruise did for us.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This was bought As a birthday treat and 4 of us took the trip. It was super. The food was really good,the staff were amazing and so helpful. Spirit have several boats but we took the bateaux (I think). It was the single deck with the glass roof. Views around new York from the boat are amazing. There is live music on board for the whole trip and plenty of dancing. A really enjoyable trip and a great way to do something special on your new York visit.

Helpful?
3 Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spirit of New York also viewed

 

Been to Spirit of New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing