We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“special place to stay”
Review of The Bowery House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bowery House
Ranked #20 of 75 New York City B&B and Inns
New York
1 review
“special place to stay”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

read about the history and you see the beauty of this place... the guys and girls runnen the reception are great they are really looking out for you. location is easy to walk places or take the subway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Agnes V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Agnes V,
Thank you for your stay and FIVE STAR REVIEW!
The Bowery House has great history and puts you in the middle of one of the most vibrant neighborhoods in New York. Our staff is available to help with any questions or to provide local information. We hope to see you again soon!
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    188
    119
    63
    62
See reviews for
5
58
365
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The first thing you need to know is that what they call a "room" or "cabin" is just a dorm with flimsy dividing walls and no ceilings - you'll hear every snore, fart, cell phone and whisper from the 30+ other people sleeping alongside you. You'll also have a light overhead on all night, and the sound of horns honking all night from the Bowery thru a single pane of glass. Oh and it seems there's no AC so even on a mild spring night it gets pretty hot. Half the building as you wander thru to find your "room" seems to consist of cages with 'CONDEMNED' signs on it - this is the interior of the space you'll be sleeping in.
Your fellow guests are a mix of bemused tourists thinking "has it come to this?" and skid row types seeking shelter. The shared bathrooms are single sex each floor, but the floors are unisex, so this involves you walking up or down a flight of stairs. They don't provide robes or slippers. You do get an army style cot and one rough towel. The deceptively spacious and welcoming lobby is up three flights of stairs so you have to lug your bags up. By the time you see the actual setup - a squalid maze of sad cells - it's too late to check out. They'll insist on charging you for a night. Don't bother complain, they'll just laugh at you.
If you want to experience what it felt like to be a bum in NY back in the day, but pay pretty much Ace Hotel prices, then this is the spot for you. Otherwise, avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Alexander G,
Thank you for your review. We offer our guests a great lobby and rooftop to enjoy. Our cabins are traditional beds with nice linens and towels. Our bathrooms are boutique style and are exceptionally clean. Our location is among the best of the city. Our goal is provide very nice accommodations at prices much less than traditional hotels so our guests can spend their hard earned money enjoying the city. Safe travels.
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Calum Matheson
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

It's worth reading about this place before booking since a lot of travellers seem to have stayed with slightly off expectations. Cabins are basic and there'll certainly be a fair amount of noise throughout the night. Beds are small but you will have privacy when you close the door - just make sure you pop the earplugs in before going to sleep (they're provided).

Staff were super friendly and you'll almost certainly get speaking to a few other guests. The place has a lot of character and feels modern and fresh throughout. Perfect for solo travellers on a bit of a budget - if visiting NY again I'd definitely consider booking here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank udaipur_rocked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear udaipur-rocked,
Thank you for your review and recent stay! Our location is perfect for exploring the city and our neighborhood especially. Our cabins are clean, comfortable and traditional. Our roof top offers amazing views. Our international clientele make it very easy to make new friends. We urge guests to read all details before booking any where in the world they choose to stay. We want all of our guests to happy and comfortable during their stay with us.
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Ignore the bad reviews, i loved this place, stayed for 5 nights, super friendly and helpful staff, clean, compact a total change from a boring hotel, yeah the cabins are a bit wee but the beds are comfy the location is fantastic, the rooftop garden is cool, all in all a great place to base yourself and take in New York

Martin

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Johnstone818,
Thank you for your stay and FIVE STAR REVIEW! Our staff, location, roof top and value are a rare and amazing combination to offer the traveler to New York City. I hope you will stay with us again when visiting. Safe travels!
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

All this grousing about this place - really, people should grow up. I'm an older gentlemen who has stayed in places ranging from Scout tents to 5 star hotels. Although I normally commute in from NJ, I had to stay late one night and be in the office early the next day, so I looked around for the cheapest place I could find. To date, I've found two places that offer shared bathrooms, which of course results in a lower price.

So I chose the Bowery House for last night, and it was exactly as advertised. You get a clean cabin, around six feet by 4 feet with a night stand, light, and towels. The lock worked well. The room was clean but spartan. Given the open lattice ceiling, you will hear some noise. It really got quiet after midnight, then picked up around 6:30. the showers have shampoo, conditioner, and body wash containers so no need to bring your own. I wish I had had a robe to wear going to the shower, but I did bring flip flops.

I received fair value for what I paid. Sure, I could have had better accommodations for $250, but I didn't want to spend that. In contrast, I tried the Jane Hotel last winter - it has smaller rooms too - and while their rooms are enclosed, it would have cost me 50% more than I paid at the Bowery. After all, this is Manhatten.

Room Tip: Bring a robe and flip flops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhoerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear ehoerl,
Thank you for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. I hope that you will visit again the next time you need accommodations in NYC. It was a pleasure having you stay with us!
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This place is worst than a hostel as there is no privacy whatsoever. The small cabins are covered by a lattice ceiling. So even with sleeping pills, you can barely sleep.

The owner prides himself with the fact that lots of care went into recreating the original cabins and they have such an extraordinary garden roof. But to me, this is just cosmetics to cover the fact, that this is just an hostel, and that you cannot sleep in it. I upgraded to the Prince room, aka, the only private room in the house. All in all, I thought the whole thing was a gimmick. Overpriced.

On the plus side, this is well located, the staff is friendly and helpful and the roof garden is indeed nice.

Room Tip: Pick the peppers room to share with a friend or the prince room as a couple. Otherwise, rent elsewhe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear christin77,
Thank you for your stay and review! We are proud of our historical cabins. They are very clean and fitted with high thread count sheets and blankets. Our guests love the roof top with the amazing views and space to enjoy themselves. Staff is dedicated to providing our guests with directions to their destination and insight to local favorites. I hope you will stay with us again.
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

If you look for a new concept of a hostel, go there. You will get your own privet space, very small but nice and clean. It is very close to China town and Little Italy where you can find the best food for almost no money. There, you can live (as a tourist) for 100$ a day - all included.

Room Tip: A room with a window can be nice, but do not expect a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anatmo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MJDempsey, General Manager at The Bowery House, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Anatmo54,
Thank you for your stay and review! The Bowery House is a classic accommodation for the New York Traveler. We offer a location that puts the best of NYC within walking distance - amazing dining, shopping and night life. I'm glad you pointed out how affordable NYC can be. We offer a true value to those visiting NYC.
We hope to see you next time!
Regards,
Matthew Dempsey/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#299 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,771 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#393 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#263 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bowery House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bowery House

Property: The Bowery House
Address: 220 Bowery, New York City, NY
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Nolita , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Bowery House 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property, 220 Bowery, was built in 1927 as a manufacturing building. It operated in this capacity until it was reborn as The Prince Hotel in the 1940’s to serve as temporary lodging for soldiers returning home from World War II. All floors of The Prince Hotel were rebuilt with single room cabins that were just large enough for a bed and storage of essential items. The bathrooms were made communal so that the hotel operators could maximize its occupancy and house as many soldiers as possible. With its prime location and easy access to vices such as gambling, prostitution and saloons - some of the soldiers never left and decided to make the majority of the 200 cabins their long-term homes. It was in these single rooms that many of the Bowery’s most eccentric characters lived for decades adding to the lore and drama of New York’s former skid row. At The Bowery House, we have decided to preserve and restore every detail of the remarkable 1940’s cabin craftsmanship and in turn provide unique, authentic and historic accommodations to travelers from around the world. Part museum and part hotel, we hope you enjoy not only the neighborhood but also the living history that is The Bowery House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your The Bowery House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bowery House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing