We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Ritz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Ranked #72 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Love the Ritz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Battery Park location is at the furthest point south in the Financial district. Great view of Statue of Liberty if you opt for a room facing her. Telescopes are even provided for your viewing pleasure. Bellman are friendly and always greet you like you were there yesterday. They will also spend time providing things to do (and not do) around the area when they bring your bags to the room. Front desk, hospitality, restaurant servers are all extremely accomodating. We didn't visit the SPA or use any special services given we were sight seeing most of the time. Great italian restaurant across the street with outdoor tables to watch the beautiful sunrise. World trade center memorial is around the corner - as well as a number of musuems. If you want to walk and talk - there is a great path along the hudson river which goes to midtown. Overall, my only disappointment was the restaurant. It wasn't the normal Ritz quality - and the bar was very small. About 10 seats around bar and maybe 7 tables. Was not the ambiance we expected, but we didn't really spend much time given our sightseeing. Use UBER car when there - as taxis are tougher to get anywhere in NYC anymore. But the bellman will always work to find you a taxi at any time.

Room Tip: Statue of Liberty facing rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,225
    469
    168
    55
    40
See reviews for
513
658
76
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a lovely stay in this gem of a hotel. Ideally located near the financial district & 5 minutes walk to nearest subway. In the main the staff were lovely & couldn't do enough for you. It was our daughters wedding & the staff helped to make it a special day particularly the concierage. Even though tea making facilities not provided I requested a kettle which they ensured was available prior to our arrival & a fridge. It really is a lovely hotel & we will definitely stay there again. The only slight hick up was we thought we had booked a room with a view of statue of liberty but the foreign door/room service lady did sort this. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007hollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is perhaps the best hotel close to Wall Street. Tranquil neighborhood, corteous staff, fantastic rooms, excellent restaurant. There is not much to do near the hotel, but it is very easy to take the subway to anywhere. The only drawback for me is that they charge $12/day for wi-fi. Considering the daily room rate, I think wi-fi should be complimentary.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

What a great hotel. Nestled in the financial district and blocks away from the Hudson River. We had a great river view and huge upgraded suite. Very close to World Trade Center memorial. God bless America. We had a blast and a quiet weekend. We will defiantly go back here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dkcpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Let's face it, visiting New York City can be expensive. However, if you look carefully there are some unexpected bargains to be found. For example, most people opt for midtown hotels in the middle of all the action at ridiculous prices. Why?

The Ritz Carlton Battery Park offers a quiet and refined respite from the hustle and bustle of the city that never sleeps, at considerably cheaper rates than midtown hotels, whilst being no more than a twenty minute Subway ride from all the midtown attractions. The hotel is well served by a number of Subway stations a couple of minutes walk away. Incidentally, this is by far the best way to get around the city. Cheap, efficient ( actually safer and cleaner than the London Underground) and great fun to use. If you prefer, cabs are nearly always available outside the hotel, or hailed for you by the "whistling" hotel doormen. The hotel is also on the route of the hop on hop off double decker tour buses.

In my opinion this is one of the nicest locations in New York City at the southern most tip of Manhattan overlooking the harbour and the Statue of Liberty. A host of popular attractions, Cruises to Liberty island, Staten Island Ferry terminal, Wall Street, the 911 memorial, Century 21, the Brooklyn bridge, pier 6 helicopter tours and south street seaport are all within easy walking distance.

As for the hotel itself, it is refreshingly understated, but with an air of modern luxury, there are a number of room options to choose from. If possible opt for a room with a view of the Statue of Liberty, complete with a telescope. The rooms are quiet, clean and spacious with comfortable beds, a large bathroom that has a separate shower, bath and toilet. The club lounge access option is also worthy of consideration, as it offers complimentary light fare for breakfast lunch and evening meals along with complimentary tea coffee, beer, wine, and soft drinks. You can use the lounge at any time between 6:30am and 10pm. Complimentary wi fi and the use of a computer and printer is also included. Our thanks to the Club Lounge staff Paula and Max for being so accommodating and looking after all our needs. Special thanks go to Yolanda for being especially helpful on our first day. The hotel also has one restaurant, 2 West, which serves American cuisine at a reasonable price and hosts breakfast (slightly expensive). There are a number of other restaurant and cafe options nearby to suit most tastes and wallets. Ask the concierge for recommendations. The Duane Reade pharmacy/ convenience store across the road is well stocked with all your holiday incidentals.

All the staff are committed to ensure you have a memorable experience and provide a very personal service. If you have ANY query or special requirement don't hesitate to ask, every effort will be made to fulfil your request, nothing is too much trouble. Remember, If you don't ask you don't get!

Although we had a small issue on check-in, which was not the hotels fault, it was the way it was dealt with which mattered. Our sincerest thanks go to Front Office Manager Abdel Chahi who dealt with our problem with the upmost professionalism and efficiency, showing a level of service and understanding that is seldom encountered. This level of personal service continued throughout our stay with all the staff working seamlessly together as a well integrated team. I seriously could not fault it.

In summary, the location is unique, the vibe is pure New New York, ( the area is developing at apace, with a huge amount of exciting new developments). Service is second to none, prices are realistic - and we would find it hard to choose anywhere else as a perfect base for exploring New York City. We look forward to a return visit to our Ritz Carlton Battery Park family.

Try it, I doubt you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for a Statue of Liberty view room on a higher floor and club access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I love New York and this time around was visiting on business. Having done all the dull work stuff whilst staying in midtown, my partner flew out so that we could enjoy a few days holiday. Choosing to transfer to the Ritz in Battery Park was perfect. I love being close to water, and the Ritz seems to achieve the impossible - a quiet oasis within striking distance of everything NYC has to offer.

Even though it was our first visit to this hotel, we were welcomed like old friends and a very special mention should go to Jonathan who really set the tone for our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. The room itself - a Statue of Liberty harbour view room - was well worth the extra. You won't get bored with looking through the provided telescope at Lady Liberty and everything that's going on on the river.

The room is tranquil, large and well appointed - from the moment you walk in you relax. It has everything you would expect. Unless you're British in which case you'll be surprised to find there are no tea or coffee making facilities. It's not particularly about the cost of ordering from room service, more about being able to have a cup of tea when you want one without delay, so our top tip would be to take a travel kettle and the relevant supplies.

We had dinner in the hotel two nights out of five and thoroughly enjoyed it - really good food and a nice wine list - service is slow but it's fine if you're on holiday.

Cocktails at the bar are an absolute pleasure, particularly if you're lucky enough to be served by
John, who makes it his personal mission to serve you the best drink of your choice you've ever had.

He lived up to his promises, making me a vodka martini with blue cheese olives, whilst my partner enjoyed his whisky recommendation so much we've bought a couple of bottles since we came home. The added benefit is that John also provides witty, interesting and entertaining conversation whilst remaining the consummate professional.

What I liked the most about the Ritz at Battery Park was that it provided five star accommodation whilst balancing excellent service which doesn't feel either too formal or too familiar. In my experience that is very difficult to pull off.

We came home feeling like we'd away for several weeks.

Go. Book a harbour room, and enjoy every minute. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Choose a Harbour Room for a view of the Statue of Liberty - the extra is very much worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeasideFan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed at the Ritz Carlton Battery Park for 4 nights and really enjoyed the experience. I normally stay closer to Central Park, however, it only took me 15 minutes to get from the hotel to my office in the Meatpacking district & got to enjoy a very quiet location with wonderful views across to the Statue of Liberty. What was particularly pleasing was the quality of the food in the restaurant; I would go so far as to say I had one of the best cooked duck dishes I've had in years. I'd definitely stay there again during my next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evansclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#28 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#112 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Address: 2 West St, New York City, NY 10004-1074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in New York City
#58 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star waterfront hotel in Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Marriott, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing