We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Waterfront Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Ranked #91 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We were a very large group of business friends all gathering for an important conference and this hotel made it all happen so smoothly. Great true waterfront property, excellent location.
Lively bar, good restaurants and excellent rooms, quiet and well appointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,134 - 1,140 of 2,249 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed three nights and the room and service were great. Had a beautiful view of the Statue of Liberty, through the telescope provided in the room. Interestingly no refrigerator is provided, so had to call housekeeping for one. Also, wish the room had a coffee/tea maker, although the hotel provided free coffee in the bar. Being in the financial district, dinner options are limited, so you need to cab it up to Soho or Midtown.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCM60658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a very nice clean hotel with very good staff and an excellent concierge service but in my opinion it is not 5 star, the little luxuries that make a 5 star hotel are missing the slippers, toothbrushes, combs etc are not provided, there was only one bathrobe for the two of us to share, none of these things are essential but that are the things that make a 5 star hotel special. The location is excellent and the views from the statue of liberty rooms are fantastic. I would stay at this hotel again but my expectations would be lower

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Statue of Liberty room the view is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OlddearEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I booked the Ritz-Carlton New York at Battery Park for a one-night staycation (we live across the river from Manhattan) with the kids to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary. I chose this property mainly because of its location, since I wanted a chance to explore Battery Park and it is very close to Morimoto Restaurant, where we had dinner reservations. From the moment we entered the hotel, we felt the staff welcoming us like long-lost friends. They congratulated us on our marriage milestone and asked about our plans to celebrate. Before going to dinner, we ordered room service for the kids. As our first course came at Morimoto, we got an excited text from our daughter with a picture: "They gave us chocolate-covered strawberries and cupcakes!" The staff had generously comped the children dessert! Not only that, but there was a card with the girls' names welcoming them to the hotel. The girls felt so special. And they loved the strawberries so much, it was a wonder that they saved two for their parents to try. It was only one night, but it was special in so many ways. Thank you, Ritz-Carlton, for having wonderful staff. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itstuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Battery Park location is at the furthest point south in the Financial district. Great view of Statue of Liberty if you opt for a room facing her. Telescopes are even provided for your viewing pleasure. Bellman are friendly and always greet you like you were there yesterday. They will also spend time providing things to do (and not do) around the area when they bring your bags to the room. Front desk, hospitality, restaurant servers are all extremely accomodating. We didn't visit the SPA or use any special services given we were sight seeing most of the time. Great italian restaurant across the street with outdoor tables to watch the beautiful sunrise. World trade center memorial is around the corner - as well as a number of musuems. If you want to walk and talk - there is a great path along the hudson river which goes to midtown. Overall, my only disappointment was the restaurant. It wasn't the normal Ritz quality - and the bar was very small. About 10 seats around bar and maybe 7 tables. Was not the ambiance we expected, but we didn't really spend much time given our sightseeing. Use UBER car when there - as taxis are tougher to get anywhere in NYC anymore. But the bellman will always work to find you a taxi at any time.

Room Tip: Statue of Liberty facing rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a lovely stay in this gem of a hotel. Ideally located near the financial district & 5 minutes walk to nearest subway. In the main the staff were lovely & couldn't do enough for you. It was our daughters wedding & the staff helped to make it a special day particularly the concierage. Even though tea making facilities not provided I requested a kettle which they ensured was available prior to our arrival & a fridge. It really is a lovely hotel & we will definitely stay there again. The only slight hick up was we thought we had booked a room with a view of statue of liberty but the foreign door/room service lady did sort this. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 007hollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is perhaps the best hotel close to Wall Street. Tranquil neighborhood, corteous staff, fantastic rooms, excellent restaurant. There is not much to do near the hotel, but it is very easy to take the subway to anywhere. The only drawback for me is that they charge $12/day for wi-fi. Considering the daily room rate, I think wi-fi should be complimentary.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JCDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#18 of 469 in New York City
351 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#32 of 469 in New York City
3,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#56 of 469 in New York City
1,492 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#14 of 469 in New York City
521 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
Langham Place, Fifth Avenue
#19 of 469 in New York City
2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Address: 2 West St, New York City, NY 10004-1074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
#75 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £286 - £768 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star waterfront hotel in Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing