We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location- Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Ranked #84 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location- Great hotel”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights and all was good. The room was clean. Quick response to all that we needed. Location is great. The hotel is on the Hudson river and a bit away from NYC downtown where it's super crazy and busy and yet still close to most touristic places in NYC. The subway station is less than 5 mins walk away. Battery Park is across the street. We saw so many sightseeing busses stopping in the area but haven't been on any. Walking along the river is so nice. You just cross the street and you're in for a nice walk any time of the day. Staff was friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: A room with a view on the Hudson river is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ghada H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,315
    489
    182
    59
    45
See reviews for
567
699
79
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canberra
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 662 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Maybe not the “best” view, but one of the most spectacular. Pay for a room or suite overlooking the Statue. It is stunning. The harbor itself is incredibly busy and constantly offers things to watch.
The hotel itself is what you’d expect for the city and the price. Good food, good service (don’t forget tipping), and delicious ambiance. Ritz Carlton enjoys a great reputation, and this place reflects the best of it.
To get around, take the hotel weekend shuttle to 14th street and walk the village. NY Cab drivers are outrageous, but they’ll get you back to the hotel for a reasonable fare. Not too much violence around the lower Manhattan these days. But stay to the well lit tourist streets.

Room Tip: High up and overlooking the Statue
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roemanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

good location for Wall Street, but stairs at the point where taxis drop off, no help from door staff - there is a ramp but it's about 70 meters off to the south and not immediately obvious (and no sign or person to point it out). Room tired and minibar closed (apparently they don't do it anymore) although water available on request.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macnamarajl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
audrey f, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and our Trip Advisors readers. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you were caused with regards to the physical structure of the hotel entrance. We position our door staff to be by curbside to assist our guests, and they should always be there, unless they are assisting other guests. I am sorry to read that you were not provided with this assistance upon your arrival. Thank you also for bringing to my attention the condition of your guestroom. I will ensure that our preventive maintenance team together with our Housekeeping Department will improve our rooms inspection process to make certain that your assigned room is in pristine condition. We take your comments and feedback very seriously and we thank you again for staying with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Greg Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed in the Club level Statue of Liberty View 1 Bedroom Suite. I had a wonderful stay!The room and service was excellent. There was a telescope in the room in which to view the Statue of Liberty. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhacque7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel sends you an email to have you personalize your trip particularly if you are a platinum member, which I am. I was anticipating an upgrade. I know it was a busy weekend for them but no upgrade. There was no response to my inquiries as they requested I respond via email. Nothing until really early on the day of our departure. Call next time is what I will do if I manage to stay here again.

Outside that the staff said to go to Fraunces Tavern down the street. We did and it was so busy I could barely hear myself think. After a while the check in lady did move us to better table. So that made it up for what I anticipated being a disaster of a meal.

Outside that we stayed here for less than 24 hours and I was not impressed. I did not feel very welcome at all particularly for someone who stays quite often with the Marriott brand.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
audrey f, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and our Trip Advisor readers. As a Rewards guest, we value your loyalty very much and we would have liked to provide with an upgrade, however I apologize that on this particular visit, we did not have the availability to offer such an upgrade. I am sorry, as well, to hear that our Guest Relations Department did not get the chance to reply to your email requests in time for your arrival. I appreciate you sharing this information with us so that we can improve our response time. We continuously strive to provide our guests with personalized and memorable experiences and so it was most upsetting to read that we did not meet your expectations. I know that we cannot change what has already occurred, but I am certain that this was an isolated incident and that your future visits will be most enjoyable. Should your travels bring you back to this location, please feel free to contact me directly. We do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely,


Greg Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The best experience ever the hotel staff were friendly and New yorkers are lovely. They also love the fact you are from London which made feel a bit patriotic and proud to be British. New York is very big so take comfortable shoes I'd you want to walk around and tour the city. The ritz in battery park was easily accesSible to so many areas and I didn't realise that until we were there in the heart of battery park.

New York is one of the places I would visit again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Capitola, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Battery Park is a quiet part of Manhattan. This hotel matches that level of quiet, which my family and I greatly appreciated. The staff, facility, and food were fully up to Ritz-Carlton standards. The concierge desk was exceedingly helpful with a difficult request we had. While not as swanky as the Central Park location, this Ritz is a better value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#23 of 467 in New York City
247 reviews
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#29 of 467 in New York City
3,257 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
394 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#121 of 467 in New York City
2,914 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#72 of 467 in New York City
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Address: 2 West St, New York City, NY 10004-1074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#68 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star waterfront hotel in Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing