We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for a Weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Ranked #73 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fine for a Weekend.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The view is hard to beat, the location also great, the Staff very cordial. My question is how come there were no slippers, neither mini bar in the room? Also toiletries were for one person, but with a King bed, the hotel should assume there will be 2 guests.

Room Tip: Our room 1010 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
audrey f, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and our Trip Advisor readers. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel location with the striking views over New York Harbor, Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty. As you know we offer a perfect sanctuary whether you are here for either business or leisure. We also pride ourselves on the exceptional level of service that our Ladies and Gentlemen provide to our guests. I was however, sorry to hear that we did not provide you with the proper quantity of amenities and toiletries. Once again, thank you very much for bringing this issue to my attention and I hope you will not let this incident alter your perception of our hotel. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

Greg Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,224
    469
    168
    55
    40
See reviews for
513
657
76
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here for work and was put in one of the rooms looking out at the Statue of Liberty. Beautiful view of Lady Liberty, the Hudson, and the NJ skyline. The room was immaculate and clean, everything you would expect from the Ritz Carlton. The service was just “so so” and I’ve experienced better. Maybe its just an NYC thing, but the employees seemed like they were always a little too busy to help you and made you feel like you were bothering them. Other than that, we enjoyed the hotel itself, with all of our work functions being held there. Our dinner event was also held there, and the food what exceptionally delicious. Besides the service piece, overall, a great place to stay when in the financial district. Aloha

Room Tip: Book one of the rooms overlooking the Statue of Liberty. You wont be dissapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waisaipapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington
Level Contributor
355 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We only stayed here one night but it was a special stay. I proposed to my girlfriend at the Ritz Carlton Battery Park and the level of genuine care and organizing of the moment by the staff involved was spectacular and truly amazing. The general manager met us and the various area managers were all there to ensure we had the best stay and were taken care of the entire way. Mayra was there from a month before my stay to ensure every detail was taken care of and she even offered her cell phone to make sure i was comfortable and understood what was happening along the way. Abdel was the first manager i met at the hotel and he ensured i felt at home and was truly taken care of in every aspect while staying at the property. Laura at the front desk was also exceptional and genuine with care, Manny the restaurant manager ensured we had a great table and reservations were made for us. Carlos at the concierge desk also booked a fabulous dinner for us at a Thai restaurant in SoHo. Jonathan took us to the private rooftop area which gave us a spectacular view of the waterfront and was a great unobstructed view - super cool! So many people involved and they all take a special interest in there guests.
Since i was proposing it was of course nice that we received the best possible service but i could tell that they do not just do this for proposals - they seem to be this way with every single client that stays which is remarkable and i will never forget the top notch service we received from this hotel. Thank you Ritz Battery Park for undoubtedly the best stay i have ever had at a hotel property anywhere.

Room Tip: All great rooms but a view of the Statue of Liberty is paramount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elkhart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Ok, So I have stayed at other Ritz locations and I have to say this place was a cluster. I took off a few days of work to take a friend over the 4th. Upon check in I was asked if I wanted to upgrade rooms I decided we didn't need to because I was not planning on staying in the room much. When getting into the room "double beds" I find a red stain on the exterior of the comforter, house keeping came and changed it out, not a huge issue looked as if someone ate something and just dropped it. The rain hit, so I decided we needed to talk with the concierge Service to see if we could not book a dinner cruise for the 4th of July, expecting to pay a large premium because of the simple fact it was the morning of the 3rd already. The guy "Jay" says he was making a list of vendors we could go on and would call us and let us know, that call never came, I waited and called at 7pm, another guy picked up the phone and said "Jay" was with a customer he would need to call us back, that call never got returned.. I went ahead and took it upon my self to locate a service. House keeping another joke, requested a dental kit twice with no prevail, went into restaurant to eat, ordered brunch 15 minutes later the waitress comes back to tell us they are now not serving brunch that she can give us new menus and we could have dinner this after they personally gave us menus and took our order. To say the least your better off with a different location and or a totally different franchise period. I am not one to ever complain and am usually very quiet, but this place for the cost was by far the worse place I have ever stayed at ... So many people at the front desk complaining it was actually sad to watch the girls getting yelled at by the customers when in fact it was not their issues but more of management issues then anything. They wanted to make things right by sending us a dried out cake that set it the room for 4 hours before we got back. We did not even eat it ...

Room Tip: find another location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkinney30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
audrey f, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and our Trip Advisor readers. I can certainly understand your disappointment as we clearly failed to meet your expectations.While I agree that this is unacceptable, I was happy that we had an opportunity to immediately address these issues during your stay with us. I understand that you were in contact with our Hotel Manager while you were still a guest at our hotel and shared your feedback. It seems that our correspondence which was mailed to you, has not yet reached you. I assure you that we continuously strive to provide the highest level of service standards to our guests and our Ladies and Gentlemen are truly committed to meeting & exceeding our guests’ expectations. Obviously, this was not the case here and I offer my most humble apologies Should your travels bring you back to this location, please feel free to contact me directly so that I can personally ensure that your stay is a positive and memorable experience. We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely,


Greg Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed here for a weekend (Friday and Saturday night). The hotel arranged for a limo to pick us up at JFK. The driver was waiting for us and it took about 40 minutes to get to the hotel where we had a very friendly welcome and were taken straight up to our room. We were on the Club Floor and our corner room had a fabulous view of the Statue of Liberty from the lounge and also from the bedroom and a view of the Freedom Tower from the bathroom. We had tickets for the 911 Memorial Museum the next morning and the Concierge directed us there and gave us maps. He also arranged tickets to see Jersey Boys that evening (an amazing show). The Club Lounge was very good with food and drinks available throughout the day - including champagne - and the staff were excellent. Although the hotel is at Battery Park, the park itself is closed at the moment for refurbishment, bit there are lots of lovely walks all around the hotel. We never waited very long for a taxi. A very good choice of hotel - to be away from the crowds, noise and madness and yet a 10/15minute taxi ride takes you to the heart of Manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaB_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My experience began one day prior to arrival when I received an e-mail for mobile check-in. I was able to pre-register and notate my arrival time. I would later receive an e-mail when my room was ready! This feature was very convenient for me as my night at the RC was a stay-cation. Once I received my e-mail I headed to the RC. Upon arrival, I headed to the Front Desk to simply pick-up my key. The mobile features didn't stop there. I was able to request services at specific times (and even check the status), and do mobile check-out.

In addition to my fascination with these new RC mobile features, the staff was genuinely wonderful! The bell woman personally brought my dog a bed, bowls, and a bag of even more amenities. This personal touch led me to believe that an amenity personally given to you is truly more memorable and personal than when an amenity is already waiting in your room upon arrival. At the RC dogs seem to be given the same respect as people, if not better! And the location is perfect for dog owners, as Battery Park is across the street (although much of it is currently under construction) and there's a beautiful path on another side of the RC that goes through the neighborhood of Battery Park.

We had a Harbor View room, which is of course, breathtaking! Words can't describe this view. We also had access to the Club Lounge, where we spent much of our time, and thank you to the very accommodating PM server. They even play some light music in the lounge, like Billie Holiday! I loved the feel of the very intimate and warm lobby and public areas. The bar (and small lobby lounge) seemed like nice spots to have coffee/drinks had I not had the club access.

My only minor complaint was that we were given an ADA room. The bathroom didn't have a bathtub, the toilet wasn't enclosed in a separate room, the desk chairs were wheel-less, and there was no armchair. I would appreciate being notified of this at check-in, as once we were in the room we didn't want to move because of that harbor view!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Free wifi in lobby, but not in room, boo! Cell phone reception is room is non existent, may be one bar near the window, lobby near windows is ok. They have a nice fitness center on 14th floor with complementary towels and spring water. Treadmills, ellipticals, some weight machines, mats and free weights. Its not great but decent to keep your muscle memory even on vacation.

Rooms are well furnished, two queen beds that were comfortable, lots of pillows, tv, alarm clock/ radio, safe, all the toiletries you need. Hair dryer, weigh scale. Iron, slippers and ice cream on your pillow was a nice touch. I kept the ac on even at ngut at 68 and slept well. They also have a desk with telephones and a lounger with foot rest. Local calls are chargeable, 1-800 are free. The staff does leave complementary spring water each day which comes in handy in summer months. They were kind enough to put a mini refrigerator in my room, requested and booked thru Expedia. They are pricey but worth it in my opinion. No swimming pool though

The bathrooms are great, separate toilet with door, separate tub and shower stall. Shower had great water pressure, they supply shampoo, conditioner, body lotion and shower gel. Lots of towels, tissues, shower cap, etc. they could supply tooth brush, razor on request. There is a pharmacy (Duane reade/ Walgreens) just down the street on Broadway.

All the family had a great time, special mention to Alexis (front desk) and Jay (concierge) who really responded to any question I had. They do provide complementary subway maps and aim to delight their customers.

Highly recommend this hotel if your looking for a bit of flair, great service, great view centrally located in Batter park near the ferries and subway station. 4 stars

Room Tip: Get a standard room with the statue of liberty room, you also get a telescope for a close up view. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satnam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#28 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,108 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#113 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,964 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Address: 2 West St, New York City, NY 10004-1074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in New York City
#59 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star waterfront hotel in Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Marriott, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing