We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wagner at the Battery
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$255
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$310
US$239
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$309
US$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$431
US$397
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$497
US$412
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$384
US$207
Official Site
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$213
US$171
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$296
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$207
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (2,350)
Filter reviews
2,350 results
Traveller rating
1,481
525
212
78
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,481
525
212
78
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ritz carltonstatue of libertybattery parkclub levelharbor view roomellis islandwall streetnew yorklower manhattanthe financial districtroom servicehudson riverin room diningquiet locationfreedom towercupcakesfour seasons
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,193 - 1,198 of 2,350 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights, our first trip to New York. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. We had a twin room and it was very spacious, big double beds. Bathroom was spotless and big.
The location was great the subway was a few minutes walk and it was easy to use. It was nice to be outside the hustle and bustle of Central New York as the hotel is situated in a nice quiet part of New York but still easy to get everywhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pstic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our last minute idea to go to New York City for the weekend turned out to be a Fabulous Weekend and all thanks to Lee Oren in the Guest Reception Area. Upon our arrival we did not have any expectations except the best from the Ritz Carlton and we received the best and more. We had reservations for a regular suite for two adults and two 16 year olds and we received this beautiful top notch suite with Lady Liberty staring right into our room. It certainly meet our 5 star expectation plus more!!! Lee understood our expectations and delivered more than we could expect. After checking into our room and settling in we headed out for dinner. On our way out Lee asked if there was anything he could help us with. We mentioned that we wanted exceptional Italian food. Lee said "Let me make a phone call". Lee made us reservations at a 5 star restaurant that it would have taken months to get into. This was one of the best restaurants with fabulous food and service you will ever be privileged to dine at. Thank You Lee! The next afternoon, Lee checked us out from our room and he knew we had a 4 hour ride home - he packed us a box of freshly baked cookies for the ride. Lee is the face of the Ritz Carlton. His services & hospitality made our last minute get away a Fabulous weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family04Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We travel to NYC often to see family members, but this was our first stay at the Ritz Carlton Battery Park. It is a fine hotel in the Ritz Carlton tradition. Well situated, richly appointed. We had an extremely quiet and spacious room, excellent beds, etc. But we were surprised to experience a couple of problems. First, one of the two guest elevators was broken one day, leaving only one guest elevator available and resulting in long waits to get to the upper floors. A fellow guest told us she and some other guests had been trapped in the same elevator the previous day and had to be freed by the NY Fire Department. Thankfully it took only a few minutes for the fire fighters to get them out, she said. Well, OK, these things happen.

One morning at 10 am the fire horn went off all over the hotel, causing great consternation among the guests and sending guests (including me) into the stairwells to climb down. A few minutes later, the hotel loudspeaker came on and said it was only a test. Well OK, again, but a bit nerve-shattering. Three times I have been in hotels that caught fire and I take these alarms very seriously.

We were there as tourists and we chose not to pay the $12.95 per day Internet fee and the >$20 price for a simple breakfast. Instead we went to a nice little restaurant down West Street a couple of blocks for a great breakfast sandwich.

My impression is that this hotel is mainly a place for financial types who are in NYC for business meetings and are on expense accounts. I have stayed in Ritz Carlton hotels that are well set up for tourists, but this is not one of those. My suggestion: if you are a Marriott fan, as I am, stay up the street at the New York Marriott Downtown.

Room Tip: Get a harbor view if you can.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fritz137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have stayed at the Ritz Carlton, Battery Park many times while visiting New York City and give it our highest recommendation. The rooms are elegant and light, the staff goes above and beyond to be both helpful and cheerful - the location is great for visiting downtown sites and a quick cab or subway ride uptown. I especially appreciated the view of the river and the Statue of Liberty!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 7 nights here. Great location..definately upgrade to a liberty view. Staff were extremely attentive and helpful from the monent we arrived to when we departed...could not fault this hotel at all. Well done to all staff!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews