We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Property in the middle of nowhere...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Ranked #73 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice Property in the middle of nowhere...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

I never thought one could feel out of the way in NYC, but that is exactly what the location of this hotel feels like. It is a 20 minute 20 dollar cab to midtown. Short walk to the Staten Island ferry and financial district/wtc but beyond that there are very few dining options or bars within walking distance. If you want to feel isolated while in Manhattan, this is the place. I love the feel of the city so this property was too remote for my tastes.

Hotel itself was very nice if not a fairly standard issue Ritz. Check in seamless and handled very well despite our arrival before noon. Suite upgrade offered but I needed two beds so we got a club level upgrade instead. Room was typical Ritz nothing more, nothing less. Carpet either a weird color or soiled. Not sure which. Due to the club level upgrade we had city view so no telescope/statute of liberty view.

Coffee shop for breakfast ok. Tried to go to the view lounge and it was closed on a Friday evening for a private party. So much for saving access for hotel guests. Doormen were very helpful and professional as was housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goof87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,224
    469
    168
    55
    40
See reviews for
513
657
76
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
102 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

Stayed for one night in March on business. Had a room with a view out over the water on the top floor, so it was quiet--also no hall noise, which is very good. Room itself is on the smallish size (not unusual for this chain), bathroom had just one sink, but separate tub and shower. Wall paper was a little old--overall decor was O.K. but not exceptional. Service was great, although I didn't use much of it. Restaurant closes reasonably early, although they do have 24 hour room service.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Professor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2009

This hotel was bad with a capital "B"! The rooms were not clean, the staff was rude, and the concierge was mean, and it was noisy. The only good thing was that we could see the Statue of Liberty from our room. The concierge told us there was a good restaurant across the street. Turns out, the restaurant was noisy, smelly, hot, crowded, expensive and we had to wait an hour fir our food which turned out to be gross. Don't go there!

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misty_ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2009

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton for 4 nights. Our room was overlooking the Statue of Liberty, and we had the exclusive invitiation to the Executive Lounge on the 11th floor. What an experience!! This was our 4th stay in New York and the area was new to us (usually staying in Manhattan). The location was fine, very near Wall Street and the metro one block away. The service we received was the very best, very warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westeyMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjsmithnj
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2009

A little too far downtown for some- we love the location because you are a short subway ride from midtown, a short walk from Wall Street and downtown. The views are fantastic and the food has always been excellent. We have stayed several times and the experience is always the same- great. I really like the art deco decor of the lower floors/common rooms.
"Rise" lounge/bar on the top floor can get a little hectic with people for the evening view of the skyline/statue of liberty/lights on the horizon, but is worth the trip anyway.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjsmithnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2009

The Ritz at Battery Park is a great launching point for touring the Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, the Museum of the American Indian and the Holocaust Museum. Our rooms were spacious, for Manhattan, and had telescopes for viewing the harbor. The rooftop bar was very cool with a stunning view. It is a very family friendly hotel and the staff was friendly to the many children staying here over the weekend we were visiting.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmommyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2009

We were drawn in by the hotel's weekend package that included dinner and breakfast, and were pleased to find rooms available on Valentine's Day weekend.

There's a lot to like about the property. The service, largely, was impeccable. We were upgraded, as promised to a harbor view room with a stunning view of the Statue of Liberty and a telescope to see her even better. The room was simple but nicely done and the bed, covered in Frette linens, couldn't have been more comfortable.

The Ritz only disappointed on two fronts: appauling room service rates/fees (example: pot of coffee for one: $9 + $10 delivery + 18% gratuity = insanity), and a lackluster dining room experience. The dinner menu was too limited and "concepty" (choose a meat, choose a sauce, and hope for the best) and the results were mediocre. The breakfast buffet was lovely, but midway through the meal, our waiter disappeared and was never to be seen again.

  • Liked — sleeping acommodations
  • Disliked — uneven restaurant experiences; room service rates
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#28 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,108 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#113 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,964 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#59 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Address: 2 West St, New York City, NY 10004-1074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in New York City
#59 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star waterfront hotel in Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Marriott, Agoda, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing