We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Ranked #85 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2009

I was in Ritz Carlton Batery Park with my family for New Year's 2008-2009. The hotel was enjoyable, although not what you would expect from a Ritz. The lobby was OK, altough rather small, but the rooms were very good, the beds were the best, so comfortable! The rooms were very clean and the bathroom was very large and nice.
I expected the staff to be friendlier honestly, but I can't say they were rude either. The hotel is definetly not close to city centre, but it's close to the finantial district and there is an access to the subway system very close. It's a quiet neighbourhood and you can walk at night with not much to worry about. For new year's it was great because we didn't want to go to times square, so we went to watch the fireworks over the river.
Overall it was a good stay, no regrets.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DalilahLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,183)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,779 - 1,785 of 2,183 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2009

I never thought one could feel out of the way in NYC, but that is exactly what the location of this hotel feels like. It is a 20 minute 20 dollar cab to midtown. Short walk to the Staten Island ferry and financial district/wtc but beyond that there are very few dining options or bars within walking distance. If you want to feel isolated while in Manhattan, this is the place. I love the feel of the city so this property was too remote for my tastes.

Hotel itself was very nice if not a fairly standard issue Ritz. Check in seamless and handled very well despite our arrival before noon. Suite upgrade offered but I needed two beds so we got a club level upgrade instead. Room was typical Ritz nothing more, nothing less. Carpet either a weird color or soiled. Not sure which. Due to the club level upgrade we had city view so no telescope/statute of liberty view.

Coffee shop for breakfast ok. Tried to go to the view lounge and it was closed on a Friday evening for a private party. So much for saving access for hotel guests. Doormen were very helpful and professional as was housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goof87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Stayed for one night in March on business. Had a room with a view out over the water on the top floor, so it was quiet--also no hall noise, which is very good. Room itself is on the smallish size (not unusual for this chain), bathroom had just one sink, but separate tub and shower. Wall paper was a little old--overall decor was O.K. but not exceptional. Service was great, although I didn't use much of it. Restaurant closes reasonably early, although they do have 24 hour room service.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Professor44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

This hotel was bad with a capital "B"! The rooms were not clean, the staff was rude, and the concierge was mean, and it was noisy. The only good thing was that we could see the Statue of Liberty from our room. The concierge told us there was a good restaurant across the street. Turns out, the restaurant was noisy, smelly, hot, crowded, expensive and we had to wait an hour fir our food which turned out to be gross. Don't go there!

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misty_ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton for 4 nights. Our room was overlooking the Statue of Liberty, and we had the exclusive invitiation to the Executive Lounge on the 11th floor. What an experience!! This was our 4th stay in New York and the area was new to us (usually staying in Manhattan). The location was fine, very near Wall Street and the metro one block away. The service we received was the very best, very warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westeyMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2009

A little too far downtown for some- we love the location because you are a short subway ride from midtown, a short walk from Wall Street and downtown. The views are fantastic and the food has always been excellent. We have stayed several times and the experience is always the same- great. I really like the art deco decor of the lower floors/common rooms.
"Rise" lounge/bar on the top floor can get a little hectic with people for the evening view of the skyline/statue of liberty/lights on the horizon, but is worth the trip anyway.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjsmithnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2009

The Ritz at Battery Park is a great launching point for touring the Statue of Liberty, Ellis Island, the Museum of the American Indian and the Holocaust Museum. Our rooms were spacious, for Manhattan, and had telescopes for viewing the harbor. The rooftop bar was very cool with a stunning view. It is a very family friendly hotel and the staff was friendly to the many children staying here over the weekend we were visiting.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelmommyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Four Seasons Hotel New York Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York Down...
#22 of 468 in New York City
299 reviews
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#31 of 468 in New York City
3,314 reviews
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#13 of 468 in New York City
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#117 of 468 in New York City
2,959 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#75 of 468 in New York City
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Address: 2 West St, New York City, NY 10004-1074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in New York City
#68 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £322 - £802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star waterfront hotel in Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing