We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Ranked #79 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“5 Star with a view”
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Beautiful hotel in a quiet area of Manahattan with a spectacular view of the bay and the Statue of Liberty.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mcdadeii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,259
    477
    176
    56
    42
See reviews for
526
680
77
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stockport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Sorry to say that after our 4 th stay here, apart from a few loyal staff members, ritz carlton Battery park is losing its charisma. A handful of devoted employees made our stay memorable and special, Lee, Akhter, Luis, Eric and Digna are outstanding in every way. As no one else really stands out in my mind, for positive feedback, I can't really comment on them. Really though, it's so sad when you have visited a place quite a few times and clearly see the missing key factors that would contribute to this establishment having a successful and continual future. We are so passionate about Battery, it is heartbreaking to see standards dramatically reduced in such a short space of time.
We noticed especially in housekeeping that rooms weren't cleaned up to standards of previous visits, club lounge presentations not as much quantity and sadly no longer the gorgeous, delicious desserts we were used to.
Sadly, i suppose all a sign of the times and more changes to be expected in the up and coming future.
On the positive side though, New Years Eve was fantastic in the hotel restaurant. Looking forward to next year!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StockportKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2009

My husband and I were married at the Ritz-Carlton Battery Park about a year and a half ago. We were so charmed by the hotel and the outstanding service of its employees that there was no question where we would go for a weekend getaway.

Obviously this was no budget-travel vacation, but at the same time, you certainly get what you pay for at this hotel -- so it was worth every penny. We even managed to find a deal on the hotel's website where if we stayed for two nights, we would get a $100 food and beverage credit.

Every staff member we interacted with was very warm, welcoming and helpful. The same gentleman who checked us in at the front desk graciously offered to take our picture in front of the gorgeous Christmas tree in the lobby! And our bellman immediately directed us to the pizza and wine bar next door to the hotel (we couldn't try it out, but it's definitely on our list the next time we're in that area). While the concierge wasn't able to procure advance tickets for Ellis Island himself, he directed us to a website where we could purchase tickets ourselves -- this saved us hours of aggravation standing on long lines with tourists.

As this was the weekend immediately following Christmas, the hotel was very quiet, but that was just what we wanted.

The spa is small but its facilities and staff are top-notch. I had probably the best hot-stone massage in my life. And we also indulged in the hotel's "Bath Butler" service. Again, it's a significant expense, but totally worth it to have a beautiful, romantic bath drawn with candles, roses, bath products, champagne and chocolate truffles!

Finally, the bed and pillows are some of the most comfy I have ever slept on. If I spent the entire weekend doing nothing more than lying on the bed sipping champagne in a Ritz-Carlton robe, I would have been a very happy customer!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonosgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

have to say I absolutely agree with all the other reviews, the Ritz Carlton Battery Park is a great find for a stay in the city. We selected the basic City-View room on the Concierge floor and were not disappointed. We even had a side-view of the Staten Island Ferry’s coming in. Here are some of the highlights:

*Rooms are large and spacious for NYC standard.
*Rooms are quiet especially on the weekend (no street noise to be heard or minimal compared to mid-town).
*They thought of all the little touches when doing the remodel, dimmer switches on all the lights, plenty of closet and drawer space, great working area, flat screen tvs, etc.
*The beds are sensational. These days all the hotels have great beds but this one was really exceptional for comfort.
*The bathrooms are very spacious, good lighting, separate areas for shower, tub, toilet, vanity, etc.
*The Concierge Level service is top-notch. Literally you could not have to eat any meals out if you didn’t want to. Breakfast, while stated as “Continental” included things like hot and cold cereals, smoked locks, fresh meats and chesses, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, mimosa’s, etc. Snack service during the day also had salad, sandwiches, cookies, sides, etc. The evening reception offers wine, champagne, fruit, heavy appetizers, etc. Additionally there is use of a laptop and printer and the service on the Concierge Floor is outstanding! They really have great people who work at that property.
*Location, a lot of reviewers had concern that is was far from Mid-Town, however it is one block away from a subway/train station that gets you anywhere you want to be in minutes, i.e. Mid-Town, Little Italy, Up-Town, etc. I love NYC public transportations, it’s quick, cheap and as long as you are smart, safe. Cabs are also plentiful. There is also some shopping and restaurants in downtown, albeit quiet on the weekends and some are not open but plenty to do.
*Battery Park is right outside your window and you can walk all around.
*One more tip, I highly recommend the Carmel Limo and Car Service for transport in the city or airport if you want a private car. Very reasonable in price and consistent, I often use them at least for airport transport.
*The gym is definitely decent. It has a view of the water, comes with all the standard cardio equip plus free weights and weight machines. I was definitely able to maintain my workout routine here plus I could run through the park. It did get a little busy at times as it’s not super large (but more than adequate) but I was able to get machines, etc.
*There is only one restaurant and two bars on property and we tried them all. I would not necessarily “rave” about it but they were above-average for hotel properties. The 14th floor bar is definitely lively on weekends and hip.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flygalaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2009

I stayed with two good friends who are also colleagues here for a conference. We had two rooms between us. I set up the reservations over the phone and the staff were great.

Our rooms were lovely. One was a recently renovated Harbor View room, and it was more modern and lux, but both rooms were up to Ritz standards.

The service was extremely wonderful throughout the hotel. The bellmen, front desk, concierge, food & beverage, and gym staff were all gracious, polite, and warm.

The concierges worked hard to score us hard-to-get dinner reservations and we were very grateful. They also listened to what we were looking for in terms of food and nightlife, and steered us toward great restaurants and bars that weren't touristy or overhyped.

The food and beverages are pricey (it's the Ritz) but excellent. In hindsight, I think Club Level might make more sense unless you want to eat out for most meals. Also, the Italian place right next door (take a left out the door) is very good.

The gym was clean and well-equipped. The conference facilities were good as well.

All in all it was a great stay. I plan to return soonm next time for pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzieboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Stayed here with the wife for our anniversary. Checked in and was upgraded to a harbor-view room, then found some chocolates waiting for us with a "happy anniversary" note (I had told them it was a special occasion when I made the reservation). Room was spacious, spotless, looked brand new, and very quiet - could not hear any noise from other rooms or the hallway. Hotel is quiet over weekends - it's busy during the week but at weekends it's a nice place to get away. Dined in the hotel's restaurant and was pleasantly surprised to get a free dessert on account of the special occasion - so the front desk had communicated to the restaurant that it was our anniversary. Thought this was a very nice touch. Room service breakfast the next morning overlooking the statue of liberty and ellis island was the perfect way to start the day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjr06831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usa, Japan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

Great service, very good breakfast center, superb hotel gym, great view of statute of liberty, very quiet (some may not like that since there are no stores nearby but it worked for me).

nearby FDR drive takes you to 44th east side within 10 minues (a $20 cab ride) so I recommend this hotel for not only lower manhattan but midtown. Having stayed at many midtown hotels that are in the middle of action I'll take the Ritz downtown anytime.

Great front desk staff....my checkout included a women on loan from their Jamaica property who was very pleasant and superb at her job!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 300nitesayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
TriBeCa
Conrad New York
Conrad New York
#27 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,165 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
The Beekman, A Thompson Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,008 reviews
TriBeCa
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
Smyth, a Thompson Hotel
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park

Property: The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park
Address: 2 West St, New York City, NY 10004-1074
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in New York City
#65 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out across the waterfront as Lady Liberty stands proudly over symbolic Ellis Island. Sweeping views command your attention at every turn. American history surrounds you as the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian and other impressive tributes are just steps away. As the only five star waterfront hotel in Manhattan, The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park immerses its guests in all the luxury and cultural heritage of this bustling city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton New York, Battery Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Battery Park Hotel New York City
Ritz New York City
Ritz-Carlton New York City
New York City Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing