We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Broadway Plaza Hotel
Ranked #151 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
hampshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of my favourite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

My daughter and I transferred here during Hurricane Sandy, unfortunately having stayed in previous hotel with no power for two days!
The staff were fantastic, helping us to transfer. Our room was complete luxury, we both regretted having to come home the next day.
We found the location ideal, Times Square, Central Park, Bloomingdale's and Macy's all walk-able.
We had problems with our booked airport transfer, the next morning, again the staff helped us.
The only thing, a bit strange was, each floor had its own mini kitchen where you helped yourself to a continental breakfast, this was very tasty but the room wasn't big enough to seat everyone. This wasnt a problem for us, we enjoyed using the table in our room but I can imagine some people might not like it.
I would recommend this hotel and would love to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruciebabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    612
    173
    50
    27
See reviews for
369
404
44
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and this provides the traveller with a great option for those on a budget.

The rooms are spacious and larger than the average NYC hotel. Beds are comfortable and housekeeping does a great job ensuring supplies are replenished and the rooms kept very clean. There was a tiny window providing a view of neighbouring building.

On the whole, the staff were generally very friendly and helpful and was always met by the door staff with a welcoming greeting. However, on one occasion I was having problems connecting to the hotels wi-fi service and I was told by reception to follow the instructions which were in the room (not much help given there).

Decided to skip breakfast, simple choice provided however not to my liking and plenty other options available within the area.

Location of the hotel provides easy access to the subway, only a few blocks walk to numerous stations and Penn Station is around a 10 min walk. Not in the prettiest area of Manhattan but nonetheless never felt unsafe.

If you're after a hotel that provides value for money, a comfortable nights sleep in a central location then this one is hard to beat. Would definitely recommend this hotel to fellow travellers.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyingroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed one night at the Broadway Plaza Hotel. We found it to be clean, the bathroom large & the towels wonderfully big & absorbent, and the desk personnel extremely friendly & helpful. While it's a long walk from Times Square, it's still do-able. And we could even see the Empire State Building from our room's window. While the breakfast room was small, it was adequate & we just used the tray in our room to bring the food back. We did have to pay an additional $25.00 to park in the garage a block away (the hotel will stamp your receipt before car pick-up)--but this is NYC!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisam649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

I stayed at this hotel in Dec 2012 along with a friend for one night, when the hotel I was previously staying at ran out of rooms. What got us here was the deal for $89+, and good reviews.

First the good. The hotel room was very spacious and well equipped. The bed was really nice and the room was clean. The midnight bellboy/concierge was helpful, and pointed us to a neighboring parking lot which offers discount to the hotel guests.

Now the bad. The front desk, especially at night is run by this guy who barely speaks and understands English. The washroom is uncomfortably tiny, and does not come appointed with the basic toileteries. The neighborhood deserves a special mention-there are plenty of suspicious characters hanging around anytime of the day. The level 1 of the hotel is sold out to flea shops, restricting the hotel to an extremely narrow entrance and no lobby. I guess the chargeable wifi just pales in comparison to these serious problems.

A clean hotel which you may consider if you're not willing to spend another 20 quid for a seriously better hotel. Happy Holidays!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vaibhav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

My wife and I stayed at Broadway Plaza for 3 nights in late November. It was the least expensive of the midtown hotels we looked at. This is a small hotel near Empire State Building, about a 25 minute walk from Times Square. The rooms are good sized and fairly clean, with outdated furnishings. The staff is friendly. The only real complaint is that there is only one elevator to the upper floors, heavily used particularly in the morning, so expect long waits. The continental breakfast was bare bones. We arrived late at night at which time the neighborhood is mostly closed up with metal garage doors and barred gates, so kind of bleak looking and uninviting. The maids hover wanting to clean your room early, if you tend to hang around in the morning, as we do.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guytraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#203 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Plaza Hotel

Property: Broadway Plaza Hotel
Address: 1155 Broadway, New York City, NY 10001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#204 Business Hotel in New York City
#210 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#214 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Broadway Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate 69 room boutique hotel located in the heart of mid town Manhattan in the Chelsea-Flatiron-Herald Square area at 27th Street and Broadway. All guestrooms were renovated in January 2016. All public space was renovated in March, 2013. We are known for our spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, moderate prices, extra value and offer a convenient midtown location. Complimentary light continental breakfast is served daily between 7:00 AM-10:00 AM as well as 24 hour self serve fresh ground Starbucks coffee and Lipton tea available in our 4th floor lounge. Within walking distance to Madison Square Garden and Penn Station, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building and Madison Square Park, Macy's, Herald Square as well as all the fabulous shopping of the Nomad district and 5th and 6th Avenues. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we offer a easy and convenient location to all points of the city. Within 15-20 minutes of our front door, you can be anywhere you need to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Broadway Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Plaza Boutique Hotel
Hotel Broadway Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing