We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond in the rough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Broadway Plaza Hotel
Ranked #139 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A lovely boutique hotel does not mean small and poky. We arrived for six nights expecting to be in a small room with not enough room to swing a cat, we were much surprised at the size of our double room. We had a corner room -304 - with two windows and one had a view of the top of the Empire State Building. Situated on broadway 28th street we were only a ten or fifteen minute walk from Times Square and ten minutes from Macy's. Great location for getting the subway down to attractions such as soho, 9/11 and battery park to get the ferry for the statue of liberty. The hotel staff were really friendly and the concierge was able to book any passes or tickets we needed. Breakfast was Starbucks coffee, tea, fruit juice or hot choc. Bagels of many varieties were offered as well as doughnuts or other pastries. The breakfast room was small and quite warm but we were able to take our food back to our room on the tray provided. The area is filled with quite a few wholesale jewellery shops as well as ridiculously cheap perfume shops but there were some other hotels which helped to put us more at ease. No restaurant meant we could eat out and who needs a swimming pool in NYC you are too busy for that. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crooksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

441 - 447 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

This hotel does what it says on the tin, the rooms were lovely, clean and homely. Spacious for manhattan. The reception staff excelled in their friendliness and welcoming manner. No lounge space but a little coffee station. When you're in New York you don't need much lounge facilities, the city is your lounge space! Good hotel, would recommend as a place to lay your head.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klisa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This hotel doesn't look like much from the outside but we were really surprised by the size of our room. Very spacious and clean and a good view of the empire state building from our window. Also got a good night's sleep, beds very comfy. A bit out of the way but we were prepared for plenty of walking. The staff are great very helpful. The breakfast room small but you can take it back to your room and you can get free coffee 24hrs which is a plus. Plenty of pubs restaurants on the streets behind this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

me my wife and son stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in April 2014 the weather was hot and sunny ANTHONY the concierge and all the staff were excellent rooms are very clean and good size the hotel is in a excellent location close to the empire state building time square and 5ave I would recommend this hotel a excellent place to stay we had a great time in new York in good hotel take good walking shoes you will need them

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian and Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

This is an overall satisfactory hotel; not quite as nice as the website suggests so we were a little disappointed on arrival but it's clean and in a good location.
I'm also not sure why it is advertised as a boutique hotel because apart from a small lobby there is nowhere else to hang around!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaandBianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in March. A fantastic location right in the middle of all attractions. The staff were fantastic and very helpful. The rooms clean and spacious. We had a fantastic view of the empire state building. Hot drinks 24 hours. Breakfast was fine with a choice of fruit juice, bagels, toast etc. We arrived here by subway from the airport which was extremely easy and only a minute walk from the subway station to the hotel. They held our bags for us on our departure. Never felt unsafe at all near this hotel and there was always plenty of activity around day and night. Again a big massive thanks to the staff here who helped make it a fantastic stay. Cant wait to come back and will definitely be staying here again on our next trip to New York

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up with a view of the empire state building and you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachYchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel is in a central location, there is a lovely deli if you come out and turn left ( the broadway cafe) the best maple pancakes I have ever had mmmmm....
All the staff are very friendly and helpful Anthony the concierge was wonderful lots of good tip on places to go etc, he also got us some great tickets to see jersey boys. Whilst there we also saw rocky this show is a must. Do not get the shuttle bus back to the airport from t he hotel the driver is rude and can not drive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#40 of 469 in New York City
698 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#51 of 469 in New York City
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 469 in New York City
5,365 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#164 of 469 in New York City
1,917 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#258 of 469 in New York City
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Plaza Hotel

Address: 1155 Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-7516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#200 Business Hotel in New York City
#206 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#209 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £105 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Broadway Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate 69 room boutique hotel located in the heart of mid town Manhattan in the Chelsea-Flatiron-Herald Square area at 27th Street and Broadway. All guestrooms were renovated in January 2016. All public space was renovated in March, 2013. We are known for our spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, moderate prices, extra value and offer a convenient midtown location. Complimentary light continental breakfast is served daily between 7:00 AM-10:00 AM as well as 24 hour self serve fresh ground Starbucks coffee and Lipton tea available in our 4th floor lounge. Within walking distance to Madison Square Garden and Penn Station, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building and Madison Square Park, Macy's, Herald Square as well as all the fabulous shopping of the Nomad district and 5th and 6th Avenues. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we offer a easy and convenient location to all points of the city. Within 15-20 minutes of our front door, you can be anywhere you need to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Broadway Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Plaza Boutique Hotel
Hotel Broadway Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing