We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broadway boutique”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Broadway Plaza Hotel
Ranked #142 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Broadway boutique”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The hotel is in a central location for visiting New York, just 15 minutes walk from the bustling Times Square in a quieter part of Broadway. The hotel was spotless, the staff were very friendly and attentive. We stayed on the 10th floor in a room that looked out on the Empire State Building which relay made our stay. The room air conditioning worked fine however it was a little noises so we tended to switch it off through the night. The rooms are also very large and comfortable.

Breakfast is an experience as there is a very small kitchen with coffee and juices, pastries and bagels on offer. I would recommend that you take your tray(from under the ice bucket in the room) and self serve breakfast in your room.

There are two banks of elevators covering floors 1-7 and 1-13. At peak times, these can become busy but there is a staircase that leads you down to reception.

All in all, a good base to stay in a central location.

Room Tip: Use the concierge for any trips that you haven't pre-booked. The big bus hop on hop off is great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    639
    175
    50
    27
See reviews for
386
420
46
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, England
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great hotel in New York. Very central and near to Subway station. Walking distance to many sights. Room was large and spotlessly clean. Beds were comfy. Breakfast included in price. We took it back to our room each morning. Tea and coffee 'on tap' 24 hours a day.
Staff very helpful. Would definitely return to this hotel. We were on 2nd floor and had no problems with street noise. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggy1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights this week at the Broadway plaza. First the good stuff

Great central location, short walk from Macys if you really just want to waste your holiday shopping, very close to subway station, easy access to all the sights. Really great staff, the reception staff are brilliant and Miguel the concierge deserves a special mention as does Joey on reception, the only staff who ever seemed a little sullen were those looking after the breakfast room.

The rooms are a great size especially for new York. Our room for 4 was only a little smaller than rooms at the Hilton Anaheim and Sheraton San Diego. The bathroom was bigger than the bathroom offered by either of the other hotels we have stayed in.

Don't be put off by the tiny reception, they have clearly maximised the space for what matters ie accommodation. The beds were comfortable though a little small for my liking.

Now a few minus points.
First and foremost the noise, and I mean street noise. We were on the 5th floor, and the noise from the street made me think the window wouldn't close properly (maybe it didn't) we did ask in advance for a higher level room (but only 24hr in advance) and we did ask if we could be moved during our stay but this wasn't possible. 4 nights of interrupted sleep was about as much as we would have been able to take, but on the flip side I genuinely think they would have made more of an effort to move us had we been staying longer. I guess what I'm saying is to the management next time there is some money to invest make sure you spend it on triple glazing or better soundproofing for lower level rooms as time and again this is bought up in reviews.

The breakfast room is tiny and the breakfast is very very basic. That said its free so you can't really complain (and I'm not).

The only other negative I would give is the charge for Wi fi, it's a major bug bear of mine and a HUGE money spinner for hotels. I understand you do get free wi fi if you book direct but of course a) your travel agent won't tell you that and b) you lose the important legal protection from booking a package (at least if you are uk based)

This is even more.important if like us you booked a multi city 2 week holiday costing over £6000.

Clearly the hotel in New York didn't get all of that but when you pay that kind of money you don't expect a ten dolllar a night surcharge for wi fi.

Don't let my negatives put you off though just giving all the facts so you don't get a nasty surprise when you arrive.

This is a great little hotel if the noise was sorted and the wi fi free I'd give it 5. Like any great business it's true assets are its staff, I hope the management treat them very well because without them this would just be another little hotel.

Finally use their private car service, it's only 9 dollars more than a yellow cab and you get a car big enough to be comfortable in and our driver knew and used all the short cuts to get us to jfk 35 mins after we left, despite 1630 New York traffic.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank darrenhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We're from the uk, just stayed for a few nights. Hotel staff friendly, breakfast bagels and numerous buns, free tea and coffee. Lovely even though I'm used to my bowl of porridge.
Kitchen was small but it didn't matter you can take it to your room. Our bed was large and we did get a view of the Empire State which we requested.
All in all very good. Our trip to New York was super my memories will stay with me forever.

Room Tip: Request a view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

stayed there in March 2011 with my family in 2 large rooms well appointed and clean, everything was perfect I still remember this hotel and wanted to leave a review
the weather was freezing cold in that period but the rooms were perfectly heated and comfortable ,
the best was the view of the Empire State Building and its top was green lighted for St Patrick's day ;)
our rooms were on the 05th floor and even if there were facing a busy avenue we never encountered any noise problem really good sound proofing
the staff was nice , and the breakfasts satisfied our needs , especially the different types of Bagels, delicious. situation perfect, central, and close to everything. If we ever come back to NY we'll definitely stay at the Broadway Plaza

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 873mariem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located and near one of my favorite places, Eataly. I had a large package shipped to the hotel via UPS and the staff delivered it to my hotel room. I requested a room that would minimize the NYC traffic sounds and they gave me a room on the 11th floor and it was quiet. The bed was comfortable, the room was a great size for NYC, the bathroom was also fairly spacious, and the staff were kind and very accommodating; always willing to stand and hail a cab. This is a little gem, well priced and a great value.

Room Tip: NYC traffic sounds are reduced the higher up you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMarieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

PERFECT accommodations for our family of 5. Large suite (Much larger than average), 2 queens plus pull out couch in living room. Lots of space. Surprised to find a value like this in NYC, as traveling with 5 can be pricey anywhere, let alone in NYC. Nothing fancy here...no lobby per se, just a front desk for check in, but it was clean, spacious & breakfast was included & conveniently located in the foyer down the hall from our room. Great location, too. Lots of places to eat (with kids). Noise wasn't an issue in our room. Comfortable beds. Would highly recommend if you want a good value for a suite.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mfamily5ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#59 of 466 in New York City
255 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#35 of 466 in New York City
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#201 of 466 in New York City
585 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#126 of 466 in New York City
5,148 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#194 of 466 in New York City
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Plaza Hotel

Property: Broadway Plaza Hotel
Address: 1155 Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-7516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#200 Business Hotel in New York City
#206 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#209 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Broadway Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate 69 room boutique hotel located in the heart of mid town Manhattan in the Chelsea-Flatiron-Herald Square area at 27th Street and Broadway. All guestrooms were renovated in January 2016. All public space was renovated in March, 2013. We are known for our spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, moderate prices, extra value and offer a convenient midtown location. Complimentary light continental breakfast is served daily between 7:00 AM-10:00 AM as well as 24 hour self serve fresh ground Starbucks coffee and Lipton tea available in our 4th floor lounge. Within walking distance to Madison Square Garden and Penn Station, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building and Madison Square Park, Macy's, Herald Square as well as all the fabulous shopping of the Nomad district and 5th and 6th Avenues. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we offer a easy and convenient location to all points of the city. Within 15-20 minutes of our front door, you can be anywhere you need to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Broadway Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Plaza Boutique Hotel
Hotel Broadway Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing