We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value hotel in city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Broadway Plaza Hotel
Ranked #153 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value hotel in city centre”
Reviewed 8 August 2009

I chose this hotel because the price relative to its proximity to the city centre sounded like great value and we were not disappointed. The room looks dated but it is still clean and well maintained. The bed was very high and bloated which reminded me of the grand beds you see when visiting stately homes. My son was with me and we were given a double room so they provided us with a folding bed at no extra charge. The toilet and bathroom were clean and well maintained. It's a shame that wifi internet is an extra as I expect it to be complimentary. The staff were helpful and looked after our cases on the day of departure.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MustTravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    620
    173
    50
    27
See reviews for
373
407
45
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We travelled to NY for a leisure trip, hitting up both ball parks, ground zero, time square, soprano tour...etc...I do alot of online reasearch on hotels before I travel, and the reviews sold me on this hotel. It was alittle shaddy outside on the street, but the hotel is exactly was we wanted. Something clean, central location, continential breakfast for a reasonable price. Would definately stay there again!

Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bit_Chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

This hotel meet all our needs. The staff were extremely helpful and nice. The room was quite large. The neighborhood was fine. Subway entrance was close by. Breakfast room was small, but we ate in our room. Juice machine was broken. We were extremely impressed with this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We were in New York City for 4 days over the July 4th weekend. My son (8 years) wanted to be within a few blocks of the Empire State Building. We could see it from our window and that made his weekend. We walked everywhere from our hotel and only had minimal complaints from the 6 and 8 year old. Times Square was a bit of a hike but very do-able. There is a park (with an aquapad) a few blocks away where the kids played while we enjoyed a cup of coffee.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and spacious. The beds were very comfortable. The continental breakfast was a nice start to the day and offered something for all of us. Toasted bagels and orange juice for the kids and coffee and muffins for us. They also had a small selection of fruit. We took it to our room and ate it there. The air conditioning was very efficient and appreciated as it was very hot when we were there. I would have liked a small refrigerator in the room. The hotel is basic, no frills but definitely comfortable and reasonable.

The immediate neighbourhood is not pretty but most definitely safe and interesting.

Overall, a nice, quiet, basic hotel. No complaints!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal, QC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

A very good small inexpensive hotel, near everything and with easy access to the subway.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timenwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

The location was great. The room was HUGE! The bathroom was HUGE! I have stayed in N.Y. before and have payed more money for rooms that were half the size. Could not hear any noise from the street. Had a good view of the Empire State Building. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The doormen Anthony and Tony were also very friendly and helpful. The breakfast area is small and warm. We took our breakfast to our room where we were comfortable and had control of the tv.
The area around the hotel looked a little sketchy at night, but we sometimes rolled in at 3am and felt perfectly safe. The pizza downstairs was really good.
Overall, I would highly recommend the Broadway Plaza Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus,OH
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2009

This hotel was overall a good choice. It was a block away from the subway and had a good place to eat next door with great/cheap breakfast (and I assume other food). As far as the neighborhood, there were people outside that looked a little shady, but honestly, it's new york and they were only there in the day trying to sell stuff, so I never once felt unsafe. The lobby is really small and sometimes the elevator was a long wait, but who cares? The rooms were huge and perfect. I'm a college student and it fit my budget pretty well. The only stressful part of the experience was pulling up to the hotel, dropping luggage off and trying to figure out how to check in, and then pulling the car all the way back around the block to the parking garage, with crazy busy streets. The parking deal is great but I didn't realize until we got there that they park your car for you and you can't access it until the day you schedule to pick it up. O well though, it's cheaper.

Overall, I think this hotel is great!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeyegirl1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#152 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Plaza Hotel

Property: Broadway Plaza Hotel
Address: 1155 Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-7516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#204 Business Hotel in New York City
#210 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#214 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Broadway Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate 69 room boutique hotel located in the heart of mid town Manhattan in the Chelsea-Flatiron-Herald Square area at 27th Street and Broadway. All guestrooms were renovated in January 2016. All public space was renovated in March, 2013. We are known for our spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, moderate prices, extra value and offer a convenient midtown location. Complimentary light continental breakfast is served daily between 7:00 AM-10:00 AM as well as 24 hour self serve fresh ground Starbucks coffee and Lipton tea available in our 4th floor lounge. Within walking distance to Madison Square Garden and Penn Station, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building and Madison Square Park, Macy's, Herald Square as well as all the fabulous shopping of the Nomad district and 5th and 6th Avenues. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we offer a easy and convenient location to all points of the city. Within 15-20 minutes of our front door, you can be anywhere you need to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Broadway Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Plaza Boutique Hotel
Hotel Broadway Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing