We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value! Clean! Fresh Towels & Toiletries Daily!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Broadway Plaza Hotel
Ranked #135 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2009

My 27 year old youngest son & I travelled to NYC for 5 days from 26 -31st August 2009 and I pre-booked this hotel from Australia, in March of the same year.

At the time of booking (through expedia.com) Broadway Plaza Hotel was offering a special promotion after refurbishment of the premises.

We arrived after 10pm, and at first I was disconcerted by the appearance - either side of the hotel's smart entrance - by dingy roller doors lining most of the street, giving the appearance of a down-market, 'low-rent' area.

*** (Quite a different vista by day - when roller doors go up & shops window displays give a totally different perspective)

However, we were met by a doorman, and our check-in was seamless - the room large & comfortable with a good sized bathroom. AND LOVELY FRESH, WHITE TOWELS.

Every day our room was 'made up' - bed made, fresh towels and toiletries; it was quite humid in NYC at the time, so the very effective air conditioning was wonderful.

The continental breakfast consisted of piles of bagels, doughnuts and pastries - fresh fruit provided (apples and oranges) juices and tea & coffee on the 4th floor dining area.
( Reminiscent of hostel style ) - and was quite satisfying.

They also had an out sourced room service which was good for breakfasts, but did not supply all items listed for evening meals - but the burgers, chips and salad which were available - were delicious!

My son & I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here... centrally located to all attractions and the service was seamless during our stay.

The hotel can also arrange hotel to airport transport by car - I highly recommend this - for a set fee - it is a comfortable & affordable option (US $60 approx) - to taxis or a shuttle bus.

My own rating over all - (I think it is a 3 star hotel) is excellent - Value for Money!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJBMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,421)
There are newer reviews for Broadway Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

790 - 796 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2009

Not a bad hotel. One of very few available in New York that served breakfast and that was included in the price. Free coffee was also available throughout the night. Slightly long walk from Times Square after long days of sight seeing, the walk was also through the whole sale district. But generally clean and friendly staff depending who was on duty.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank athleticlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Spent 4 nights at the Broadway Plaza while on a girl's trip to shop and sightsee in NY. The location is ideal, just 1 block from the subway. We had superb service from start to finish, received helpful info via email before we even checked in. The rooms were roomy by NY standards, the 3 of us fit comfortably into a queen superior even after we had shopped for 4 days! The view from our room on the tenth floor was incredible, it was the Empire State Building which changes the color of its lights almost every night. The continental b'fast was also ideal, perfect for grabbing a bagel and coffee before heading out. The doormen were helpful arranging a car service to return us to the airport at the end of our stay. I would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaskSunSeeker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

This hotel was OK, only stopped one night. Rooms were very large (was given 1st one by lift machinery and couldn't stop there as was too noisey - don't let them give you one on 8th floor near lift machinery) but they were really good and swapped me to another room straight away on the 3rd floor. Complimentary breakfast choice was basic, but plentiful and was a clean prep area. Staff were really helpful & friendly. Area not great for a single female traveller, OK in day but didn't fancy walking on own there at night - but that's what cabs are for!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaffeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

My two girlfriends and I stayed here over the Labor Day holiday. I booked early and got a good price on a studio suite with two queen beds and a sleeper sofa. The accommodations exceeded our expectations! The room was very spacious and the bathroom was bigger than the one I have at home. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The doorman and bell people were very friendly and helpful. The location is great and the subway is only one block away. This is one of the best places we have stayed and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bongo330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

This is a slightly hidden gem that at first sight is a little obscure, but once inside the transformation is stunning. Friendly,helpful staff help welcome you and make you feel comfortable at the outset. Tony the doorman is really helpful. Indeed from the Manager to the maid all the staff were so kind and helpful. The kitchen area where breakfast is served can get a wee bit crowded, but we survived. Food for breakfast is basic, but nutritious. Easy access to transport Metro (1 block away) leads you to the NY we want to find. The bedrooms are very comfortable, shower/bathroom clean and vibrant, and the fact that you can relax knowing your every need is catered for is all you require.
"Well done - Manager and staff of Broadway Plaza, you made our stay so enjoyable".
Hugh & Philomena McClung, Stirling, Scotland

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcshuggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

I stayed at the Broadway Plaza hotel for 5 nights and loved it. It was a central location with a subway station about a block away. My friend and I felt comfortable in the neighborhood (two young girls walking at night) and never felt we were in each others way in the hotel room.
The room was quiet and clean, two must haves. I was pleased with the staff, very friendly and helpful. We especially appreciated the doorman Tony's help in finding good places to eat and visit.
I would recommend this hotel because it really was perfect for what one needs, a comfortable room while visiting the sights in New York.
The one downside is the elevator was slow so we had to take the stairs a few times (not that big a deal overall) and the breakfast room could get crowded but if you know what you want just go in, grab it and go to your room to eat.
The outside might be a turn off for some people, its slightly hidden, but it really is a great hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunnybutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 468 in New York City
686 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#39 of 468 in New York City
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#126 of 468 in New York City
5,207 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
795 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#140 of 468 in New York City
3,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Plaza Hotel

Address: 1155 Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-7516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#200 Business Hotel in New York City
#206 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#209 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £109 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Broadway Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate 69 room boutique hotel located in the heart of mid town Manhattan in the Chelsea-Flatiron-Herald Square area at 27th Street and Broadway. All guestrooms were renovated in January 2016. All public space was renovated in March, 2013. We are known for our spacious accommodations, warm friendly service, moderate prices, extra value and offer a convenient midtown location. Complimentary light continental breakfast is served daily between 7:00 AM-10:00 AM as well as 24 hour self serve fresh ground Starbucks coffee and Lipton tea available in our 4th floor lounge. Within walking distance to Madison Square Garden and Penn Station, Empire State Building, Flatiron Building and Madison Square Park, Macy's, Herald Square as well as all the fabulous shopping of the Nomad district and 5th and 6th Avenues. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we offer a easy and convenient location to all points of the city. Within 15-20 minutes of our front door, you can be anywhere you need to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Broadway Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Plaza Boutique Hotel
Hotel Broadway Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing