We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for One Evening” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Ranked #218 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for One Evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My husband & I stayed at Club Quarters Midtown for an evening in June. We chose the hotel for the location (we were attending a party right by the hotel) & price & we were not disappointed. The hotel is very simple & the rooms small, just as reviews had said, but also very clean & comfortable. We took the advice of reviews & asked for a higher up floor, so the street noise level was low. The filtered water in the hall is a nice touch & hotel staff friendly. Overall, if your looking for a clean, comfortable place to spend the night in the city, this is a great option.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbhigs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    512
    200
    77
    48
See reviews for
175
408
142
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Conveniently located near Fifth Avenue, Times Square and Grand Central Station. Definitely within working distance to the Port Authority Bus Terminal (by New Yorkers' standards).

Staff are friendly and generally accommodative to requests. Room is slightly small but good enough for solo travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Well, no well priced hotels in central manhattan are going to be spacious, as this wasn't either. However the location is perfect, and the rooms clean with all the business amenities you need, good wifi, coffee machine, desk, small shower. The beds we're comfy and clean. The staff were very attentive, polite and the lounge was very useful for meeting guests and just relaxing with a coffee. This place is excellent value but don't expect a good view unless you like the sight of an air con unit that I had to leave off because it was too noisy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank no1anorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at Club quarters previously, I was a bit disappointed with this property. I recommend the one near Wall street but this one has the best location. Rooms are old and gets noisy with closing the door. Avoid rooms overlooking the street if you want a great night sleep. Location wise, it is perfect!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ralph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, MA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is my third stay at a hotel in the Club Quarters chain. I always take the Standard Room, which has a double bed and double the floor space of the tiny Club Room (which as only a twin bed). This is my first stay at Club Quarters Midtown. The rooms are not as lovely as the CQ at Grand Central or Wall Street, but I will be returning because the staff is so great.

I travel often for work and Club Quarters is made for someone like me: a single traveler in town on business. Like all Club Quarters, I found my room to be small but quite adequate for one person. The desk with multiple outlets, sparkling and filtered water dispensers, excellent WiFi, in room Keurig machines, exercise room or yoga mat delivered in room, iHome phone dock & alarm system, room-key activated elevators for security, and printer and lounge for meeting business partners for coffee somewhere other than a restaurant or your room, are all things that keep me coming back. I haven't used the computers reserved for printing boarding passes or the iPad loan service yet.

The Midtown location rooms need a little refresh- they are spotlessly clean but beginning to show some wear. However the staff here is 5 star. Someone met me at the door to help me with a heavy bag. My crazy screwed up (by me) room reservation was fixed without a frown or a sigh. I left a note to say there were no more irons left in the Guest Closet on my floor- one was waiting in my room when I returned, with an ironing board. Housekeeping nicely folded the jammies I forgot I left on the floor, and left me extra sachets of tea when they noticed I didn't drink coffee. While retrieving a pen that rolled under the bed , i noticed no dust and that the carpet was pleasantly scented. I watch hospitality staff hustle here as if this is the Ritz Carlton, bringing an extra pillow to one room, or delivering materials to the room of a guest who hasn't yet arrived. They are discreet and professional.

Location is 5-10 minute stroll to Times Square, Bryant Park, Radio City yet was very quiet. Because other travelers are here on business, folk tend to turn in early and move about quietly. Which is good, because the rooms transmit sound here easily. But that wasn't a problem. I'll be returning. Next week, in fact. So I'll be leaving a suit here for them to dry clean, and have waiting in the closet of my room for my return. (Did I mention the business traveler oriented hospitality?)

Room Tip: The Club Rooms are the least expensive and are TINY, with only twin beds. If you are staying more th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MistinguetteS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The ground floor of the hotel was pleasant, with a good size lounge and good decor.... But as I approached my room door from the corridor I thought the room doors were close together.
When I opened the door to the room I realise why. It was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in, and it only had a single bed. The bathroom was in a cupboard and equally small. Air con unit was very noisy and right next to the bed so I had to unplug it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayPope21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Great location but tiny room.

First time I've seen a single bed in the states for 45 years! Bathroom was like a wardrobe with a shower in it.

Very dated decor. Breakfast was slow and I had to leave most of it to go to a meeting.

Extremely expensive for box with a single bed in it.

Sadly won't be going back.

On the plus side the Front desk staff were really pleasant and helpful and the lounge was lovely.

Advice : knock 2 rooms into one or halve the price!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MRVNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#257 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#125 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#116 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,442 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#70 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown

Property: Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Address: 40 W 45th St, New York City, NY 10036-4261
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#149 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#157 Family Hotel in New York City
#172 Business Hotel in New York City
#173 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, Midtown provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere with 170 rooms located in a historic landmark building right off Fifth Avenue. Minutes from major office buildings, Grand Central Station, Times Square, shopping, theater district and restaurant row on West 46th Street. Club Quarters provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Fast and easy self check-in and check-out• Fast, free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in-room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled, purified bottled water • 4 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 120 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment and yoga mats delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates• Government per diem rates 365 day a year with valid ID. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters Midtown Hotel New York City
Hotel Quarters Midtown
Club Quarters New York City
Quarters Midtown Hotel
Club Quarters Midtown New York
Club Quarters Midtown Manhattan
Club Quarters Midtown Times Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing