We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact to day the least but great location and trendy designer hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hudson Hotel New York
Ranked #398 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

If you need to swing a cat, this isn't the hotel for you ;) rooms are nicely designed but tiny. The lack of space to put anything is the major drawback and I found the air conditioning units outside the windows were noisy.

However, superb location, great restaurants around (especially the Flame diner) and the bar in the hotel itself is very trendy and full of beautiful people. It's also good for Central Park and broadway.

The hotel has very nice design features and the staff were also helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cre8ivewisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HudsonFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Cre8ivewisdom,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your over all experience, especially our design, location, and interactions with our staff. I do apologize that you were not satisfied with the room accommodations. We do have an assortment of different room categories that provide our guests with more space both in the bedroom and bathroom area. If you would like to return to Hudson, please contact me directly and I will be more than happy to discuss the different room options with you.

Happy Holidays,
Rori Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,959 - 3,965 of 6,766 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

First of all, we booked a room with 2 double beds. It was spacious and comfortable (the standard rooms are tiny). The staff is very friendly and the hotel is located in a great location just a couple blocks from the south end of Central Park. We were on the 11th floor and had a great view of 9th Ave. The biggest complaint we had was the draft coming in from the windows. It was in November and temps were in the 20's. It felt like the window was open. We said something to one of the bellmen and he advised they were getting bids to winterize the windows. I would suggest they go ahead and spring for new double-glazed windows (it would also help muffle the incessant din of taxi horns). Also had issues with elevators, it took us 20 minutes one evening to get up to our room. We could have walked up faster, but, we had already walked 40 blocks sight-seeing and didn't have the energy needed for the ascent. Room service was horrendously expensive so we didn't bother. No coffee maker or bottled water in the room, which would be o.k. if the elevators weren't so slow.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KillerB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HudsonFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear KillerB33,

We are delighted to hear that your encounters with our amazing staff and convenient location we nothing but positive. I would like to further investigate your specific reservation so I can make sure the draft from the window is addressed. Our elevators are currently being improved to better assist our guests in their efficiency. Please contact me directly so we can further discuss your stay and hopefully this will not keep you from returning to Hudson.

Happy Holidays,
Rori Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed in this hotel over Thanksgiving w/e....dark and dimly lit...lots of dark wood....Stayed in superior room.....nothing special....exceptionally sparse...Bathroom has a large 'window' in the shower that looks back into the bedroom....covered with a gauze like curtain.....a bit too revealing .....Small...but clean.....NO amenities....(coffee maker, bottled water...though you can get the water from a vending machine for $2.75!) Bars are lovely...but $15 for a glass of wine...(really??) limited bar menu.. ... General location IS great.....we loved being able to walk everywhere.....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smshw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HudsonFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear smshw,

Thank you for your review on Hudson. I agree that our location is convenient and easy for travelers. We're sorry to hear your stay was just "fine", certainly we want all of our guests to feel welcomed and have a unique stay unlike any other stay they have had elsewhere. Please reach out to me directly should you wish to return to Hudson.

Sincerely,
Rori Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

great website - great photography - great PR and friendly check-in. That is where all nice comments end. Endless waiting for elevators as at least 2 are out of service. Escalator to take you from the lobby to street level mostly out of order, so back to the elevators and more waiting. Rooms are the noisiest I have EVER experienced. Doors are paper thin. Water in the shower barely lukewarm, you can clearly hear the flushing from upstairs / next door. No restaurant open for breakfast (sorry, private function)!

Not recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GFK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HudsonFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear GFK88,

Thank you for your feed back about our hotel and are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the staff and convenience of our website. We do apologize for the long wait on our elevators, we are in the process of attempting to make the speed more accommodating for each of our guests. I also apologize that you were disturbed by outside noise. If you were to give HUDSON a second chance, I would be more than happy to discuss different options that are available to you.

If you decide to return to HUDSON in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me so that I can make sure you are well taken care of.

Sincerely,
Rori Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The entrance to the lobby is up an escalator from street level it can be a bit tricky when you first arrive and dont know lay out of hotel.The lobby, like the rest of the hotel, is dark and dimly lit.We stayed in a standard room for 2 nights. It was cramped and noisey and to use the bathroom needed a degree of imagination and contortion.The staff, however, were all very friendly and efficient. We would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Try an upgraded room from standard or another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HudsonFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Lynn B,

We appreciate your response and review of our hotel. Our lighting is kept at a dim setting to keep a mysterious atmosphere in place. The standard room is designed as a cozy feel, however we do offer 6 categories higher than the Standard Room that offer various design layouts that may better suit each individuals' needs. We are happy to hear that your interactions with our lovely staff members was positive and behalf of the team we would love to invite you back. We do not want this experience to hinder you from returning. Please contact me directly to discuss the different options of rooms for your next reservation.

Happy Holidays,
Rori Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Where to start... The rooms are god-awful tiny -- about 150 square feet, so just turning around is difficult.

The bathroom is a particular challenge--you have to close the door just to wash your hands.

I hope you enjoy voyeurism--between your shower and the bedroom area is a plate glass window covered by a gauzy curtain. You shower with the light on, anyone else in the room enjoys your James Bond movie intro silhouette.

The hallways are dark, and the building is old but painted in solid colors, including vomit-green doors. It looks less New York and more post-Soviet eastern bloc.

Europeans should love it, though. It would be four-star by their standards.

There is a bank of six elevators, yet it still takes about 15 minutes to catch one -- longer if in the evening because every one that opens in full of people.

I would not stay here again. The cost for two nights was three times as much as my airfare.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABPSubmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HudsonFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear ABPSubmit,

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the size of our rooms. Currently our hotel holds 6 categories that are currently higher than the Standard room. These rooms vary in space of the bedroom room and bathroom. I would love to discuss these other options with you personally because we do not want this to hinder you from ever returning to Hudson. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,
Rori Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

If you are used to spotlessly clean and impeccably maintained chain hotels like Marriott, Hilton, etc., with large rooms, free breakfast, in-room or lobby coffee, etc., you will need to adjust your expectations. This hotel is all about location and the onsite bars. The rooms are really small, so if you are traveling with someone you don't want to constantly be juggling for space with - it isn't for you. The only room amenity is some really nice shampoo, conditioner, lotion, and two bars of soap. No water, nothing in the provided fridge, no coffee, nothing. The bath towels are small, scratchy and basic. The bed linens are quite nice, but scratchy. The bed was comfortable. The shower was hot with good pressure. There was a flat panel tv with enough channels for my taste, but is on the wall to the side of the bed. So if you plan to lie in bed watching tv, it may not be the most comfortable. Most things in NYC are not maintained to the level that you will see elsewhere, so just get used to that. The room was clean and well-maintained well-enough. I would definitely get a higher room if possible as the lobby bar seems quite popular and loud (closes at 2). There were vending machines on our floor. The hotel is near a hospital and you are in the middle of a very busy area so sirens and street noise (honking horns) are common. We used a white noise app on our phone and were on the 11th floor and did fine.. So the high points - you are in a great location. Easy walk to restaurants (24 hour European deli next door is fabulous, CVS and grocery across street), subway, central park, etc. The onsite Hudson Commons brew pub is wonderful and what we heard from a local is that for nightlife in the area this is considered quite the schwanky place. Despite the price and all the perceived negatives, I would recommend this hotel if you want a great location. If part of your stay depends on the comfort level of the hotel (lounging in the room, etc.) - you might want something else, but not entirely sure that "something else" exists in the area, if you know what I mean.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coquelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HudsonFrontOffice, Front Office Manager at Hudson Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear coquelle,

Thanks for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your Hudson experience! We hope to host you again soon! May I also suggest asking our front desk or concierge about any special events in our outlets, I guarantee you they will add more fun to your stay! Please let us know if you need assistance with anything in the future.

Happy Holidays!
Rori Brennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 470 in New York City
4,911 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#358 of 470 in New York City
4,449 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#328 of 470 in New York City
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#351 of 470 in New York City
6,246 reviews
Midtown
Paramount Hotel Times Square New York
Paramount Hotel Times Square New...
#400 of 470 in New York City
4,740 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#356 of 470 in New York City
19,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Hotel New York

Address: 358 West 58th Street, New York City, NY 10019-1804
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#226 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £110 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hudson Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 866
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban adventure, daredevil design, and true affordability meet in Hudson, the ultimate lifestyle hotel for the 21st century. Located in midtown, just steps from Central Park, Columbus Circle and the theater district, Hudson is a brilliant reflection of the boldness and diversity of the city, while simultaneously representing the next generation of Cheap Chic – stylish, democratic, young at heart and utterly cool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hudson Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Hotel New York City
Hudson Hotel Nyc
Hudson New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing