We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hudson Hotel New York
Ranked #390 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Amazing”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is amazing! I stayed there in 2005 for 2 nights. It is modern, cool, and at a great location in NYC - very close to the Central Park. I would say that its best feature is the rooftop terrace with an amazing view and breeze, so it is a great option for summer months.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Demetradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,072
    2,068
    1,450
    847
    675
See reviews for
854
2,478
448
1,072
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed here two nights and were shocked by the service from the management. We initially booked for one night only and then asked to stay another. The front desk staff told me the price would be the same for the second night. The next day when the bill came they had charged us an extra 40. When I called they said we had been upgraded and that was the rate we were quoted. Total lies. I argued with the manager until he actually hung up on me - slammed the phone in my ear. I was also charged for local calls after I specifically asked whether local calls were free - and was told they were! The bar staff were also extremely rude.

We were fine with the tiny room and overall darkness of the hotel. The bars were nice - although obviously a hot spot for uni aged students getting wasted. The rooftop bar was gorgeous. The bell staff were great and so was the valet.

Location is awesome - the only reason we stayed. Would I stay again? No. If you can afford it the Mandarin oriental just around the corner is way better bang for your buck.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

If you pay a premium and expect professional service then stay elsewhere. An extra $20 at a different hotel with excellent service would be well worth it. The final straw was when we were overbilled, phoned down to have it corrected and were told 'no' and eventually hung up on. Bar service was also unprofessional and very rude. Basically the hotel service is comparable to that popular bar you wanted to get into when you were 18 yrs old and you expect some Neanderthal bouncer to give you horrible service. Stay at another hotel!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haydnlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Don't let the pictures deceive you. Despite the hip space downstairs, the rooms are actually not much better than a motel in NYC. And the customer service is appalling. Definitely not nearly even 3 star (out of 5) service. I tried to get a bit of service to find a phone number and they were not interested in helping. They should probably just stick with the club downstairs and not bother with trying to maintain its hotel/hospitality business.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbpok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Two nights - that would be my limit. One more night and the room would have shrunk even smaller than its actual size of 9' x 10'. Very efficiently laid out with strategically placed hooks, a closet, shelving, safe, mini-fridge, small desk and enough room to walk around the queen bed. The air-conditioning worked just fine, was not overly noisy and did not keep us awake (as others mentioned). One drawback is that the room could have used more light.
The bathroom? a bit tougher to negotiate for a tall person; it measured 3' x 4', plus the shower. No counter space around the sink, but there were shelves on which to put stuff. I would rate it a smidge above barely acceptable. Cannot over-emphasize its tiny-ness. Shower was decent, though, with its sheer curtained glass wall separating it from the bedroom.
Don't miss the roof-top lounge - fabulous for afternoon or late night drinks with a magnificent city view, weather permitting, of course.
Location, location, location - what inconveniences are you willing to accept for a reasonably NYC-priced, very clean, well-located hotel in NYC?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 103PatD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel is very close to Central Park, which is the best feature of the hotel. The hotel rooms are clean and in very good condition. The rooms are very small. There were 2 of us in a deluxe room and it was crowded, no drawers, very little hanger space. The hotel lobby is very dark and the décor is very strange - not a very comfortable or inviting setting. There is a great outdoor bar/lounge - which is good on a warm, sunny day, but otherwise, not so great. There is also a roof deck - also nice if the weather is good. If you were to stay here in the winter, I think you'd feel very closed in. We have stayed in much roomier, lighter hotels in New York City and been happier with the choice. The hotel charges $15 a day for Wi-Fi, which is another down-side.

Room Tip: If more than one person, don't take a room smaller than deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

If so, don't read further, this place might be OK for you. Reserved a "superior" room which was just minute. Once we opened our 20 inch carry on suitcases, we had to crawl across the bed to access the bathroom. That might be OK if the room was priced accordingly, but it's not. There is simply no value here.
There are in-room air conditioner controls which activate a system loud enough to give you a migraine and prevent sound sleeping.
The very narrow corridors resemble a correctional institution and are so dim as to be frightening.
Long waits for elevators day and night. When they arrive you get to ride with often drunk hipsters congratulating themselves for staying at this dump.
Positives? The location is perfect for theatre and Lincoln Center. The subway is right on the corner.
In summary, if you stay here, make your stay short and upgrade to largest room you can afford. But really, I would stay elsewhere.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jimwagonfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#313 of 468 in New York City
5,898 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 468 in New York City
4,470 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#306 of 468 in New York City
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,599 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#351 of 468 in New York City
4,210 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Hotel New York

Property: Hudson Hotel New York
Address: 358 West 58th Street, New York City, NY 10019-1804
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#219 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hudson Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 866
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban adventure, daredevil design, and true affordability meet in Hudson, the ultimate lifestyle hotel for the 21st century. Located in midtown, just steps from Central Park, Columbus Circle and the theater district, Hudson is a brilliant reflection of the boldness and diversity of the city, while simultaneously representing the next generation of Cheap Chic – stylish, democratic, young at heart and utterly cool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Travelbag, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hudson Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Hotel New York City
Hudson Hotel Nyc
Hudson New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing