We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hudson Hotel New York
Ranked #384 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed at the Hudson while travelling for work as we had an event at Lincoln Center. For purposes of being close to the venue, the hotel was fine but as noted by others, the rooms are really small, even by New York standards. There was about 2 feet of space on either side of my bed and a tiny bathroom. The bathroom was so small, my knees nearly touched the opposite wall when sitting on the toilet.

Also, very odd was the curtain that separated the "bedroom" from the bathroom. I've seen this at other hotels but there has always been an option of some sort of blind that closed off the bathroom from the other room. I was alone so this was not a big deal but even if I had been travelling with my husband, it would have been very odd to use the toilet with him looking on. As the room was small, there is no where else to sit but on the bed so the toilet is always in full view.

The A/C was adequate in terms of cooling but it was probably the loudest unit I've encountered in a long time. The fan ran all the time at a reasonable level but when the A/C kicked in, I felt like a jet was taking off over my head as the HVAC unit itself is right behind the head of the bed.

Public spaces are very nice with a couple nice options for outdoor bars and I would definitely stop here for a drink but won't stay again unless I need to for a company event.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NapaWineLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,024
    2,000
    1,380
    809
    647
See reviews for
805
2,391
421
1,025
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here during a Girl's trip to NYC. The location was perfect just 1 block off of Columbus Circle. The outside of the building was elegant, lovely and so understated that it didn't have the name of the hotel written anywhere so we walked past it several times. The lobby was a bit strange and the front desk service was even stranger. They weren't the friendliest but cordial enough. Our room...like the facade of the hotel -- was elegant, lovely and understated...modern, very clean...a bit small even for 2 double beds. The beds were super comfy...but the corridor noise was distracting. Partiers all night long! The lounges, just like the corridors, were hopping! After standing in a long line to gain entrance, we were surprised that English was the 2nd, 3rd or 4th language in Henry's. Eurotrash to the extreme here. We are mid-40's -- old enough to be the mothers of 70% of the crowd but the music was great...although too loud and there was standing room only. Male patrons were certainly enjoying the lack of personal space between patrons while moving around. Wine here was expensive, beer reasonable. The Library Lounge sported an older crowd, but was to the opposite extreme...too quiet. The Tequila terrace was unique, fun and expensive. I don't know if I'd stay here again only because I enjoy my sleep and I'm getting a little too old for the Club scene atmosphere...but I highly recommend it if you are looking for a livelier NYC experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingSHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is OK. Food is OK. Staff are OK. Rooms are OK if like me you're 5ft tall. However, what I didn't like was being made to feel like a 2nd class citizen to people flashing their money when coming in for a drink after work.
Took up a seat in the bar an hour prior to England kicking off in the World Cup, the place was empty so we chose a good seat. 15 mins before kick off we were asked to move as someone had just called to reserve our seat - none residents! Really not good customer service! Never again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mazaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
820 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We love staying in the Hudson! We have stayed here many times and will continue to stay here. You cannot beat the location. It is one block away from Columbus Circle which is my favorite place in New York. Across the street from the hotel is a Whole Foods (in a building that houses many other shops). There is a bodega on the corner that you can pick up breakfast in the morning.
When we arrived, we were greeting at the reception desk immediately Our room was ready and we were able to drop off our bags and head straight down the MSG. While the rooms are small, we do not find that to be an issue because when we are in New York we do not spent time in the room we are running around the city. It is big enough for us to put our bags. We just want a clean room, comfy bed, in a safe neighborhood and this hotel fits all of those needs. It has a nice size safe and a good size fridge so you can get water, beer, etc. The bathroom is such that you want to be close to whomever you share it with because it is just a glass window with some frosting and if someone gets up in the middle of the night to use the facility you probably will be woken up from the light in the bathroom. But everything is extremely clean and functioning. There is a nice size tv against the wall with a lot of channels. There is a business center located on the 3rd floor and my only complaint is that you have to pay to log on to use it ($7.99 for 15 minutes) and .79 to print. Outside of that, great stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Connecticut
Level Contributor
126 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I have not stayed at the Hudson for quite some time and it is still as cool and relevant as it was years ago (big accomplishment in New York as far as I am concerned). The staff was all very professional, welcoming, helpful and friendly. The rooms are small, but well appointed, but you should be taking advantage of the common areas which are outstanding. I spent the evening in the Common Bar with colleagues watching the US beat Ghana in the World Cup and it was a vibrant crowd. The neighborhood is fantastic, but just a little far uptown for most of my business. I will certainly come back if I am in the area!

Room Tip: upgrade if you can to get some room to move!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Upintheairtoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We actually liked our stay here. The "industrial chic" rooms were small (okay, tiny) but well-designed. The lobby and bars were vibrant and full of people. BEST OF ALL - we like the Columbus Circle location. It's a fabulous location for walking, subway'ing, gawking NY style. HOWEVER.. they are refurbishing the rooms - room by room - so ASK where you room is in relation to what rooms/floors they are working on that week. They started at 8 am - but they did not work the weekend. You should ask.

Room Tip: Ask about the refurbishing work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SMFSanFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

While the location of the Hudson is fantastic, close to the park, Broadway and columbus circle. The rooms are small even for NY standards, its one of the nosiest hotels in the city, for some reason our air conditioner wouldnt stop making load bangs through out the night and when we complained several times we were finally moved at great agravation from the front desk staff. The beer hall and dining areas are fantastic so I would recomend visting the hotel without actually staying there

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#312 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,691 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,471 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#297 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#269 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,293 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#175 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,530 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Hotel New York

Property: Hudson Hotel New York
Address: 358 West 58th Street, New York City, NY 10019-1804
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hudson Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 866
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban adventure, daredevil design, and true affordability meet in Hudson, the ultimate lifestyle hotel for the 21st century. Located in midtown, just steps from Central Park, Columbus Circle and the theater district, Hudson is a brilliant reflection of the boldness and diversity of the city, while simultaneously representing the next generation of Cheap Chic – stylish, democratic, young at heart and utterly cool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hudson Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Hotel New York City
Hudson Hotel Nyc
Hudson New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing