We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hudson Hotel New York
Ranked #388 of 468 Hotels in New York City
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tiny rooms”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Rooms, are very tiny and cramped. No closet or drawer space to speak of. Have to live out of one's suitcase. Bathrooms are ridicoulously tiny and you can even see into them from the bedroom thanks to a "glass wall" with only a sheer curtain for zero privacy. Way overpriced for what one gets. We were also assigned a room where the air conditioning wasn't working and it took almost an hour, 4 phone calls and a trip to the front desk to get a new room. Strange bar and restaurant setup. Even given the superb location near Columbus Circle this place is best avoided.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    2,066
    1,447
    846
    673
See reviews for
853
2,472
448
1,071
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are of a decent size and very clean. There is little storage space or closet in the room. The bars as well as the terrace are great and offer beautiful views of the city
The hotel is we'll positioned and within walking distance of the park
The only real negative point is the fact that the air conditioning units are at the head of each beds. The are not only noisy and also very inconvenient as they blow cold air over your face when you sleep (and in summer,turning the AC off is not really an option)

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at the Hudson for 10 nights last summer. Our thoughts in summary:

Pros
- Incredible location. You are staying on the bottom left corner of Central Park, and we would often go there for a picnic or walk around. Columbus Circle subway station is also a short walk from the hotel.
- The rooftop bar, the taco stand and night club onsite are all worth a visit, even for NYC locals. So much flavour and fun, except for the prices...
- Staff here are always incredibly friendly and helpful.
- Rooms are always clean and tidy.

Cons
- As many of the reviewers have already stated, the rooms are INCREDIBLY small. My poor husband banged his forehead and ankles several times during our stay.
- The bathrooms are wildly impractical and need more storage space and sturdier fittings.
- Breakfast is not included in the room rate. They do offer room service, but the prices are so exhorbitant for the tiny amount of food provided.
- Some drunken idiot pulled the fire alarm the last night of our stay at 1 or 2 am. This meant being woken up violently, dragged out of our rooms and standing around whilst waiting for the fire department to arrive. The next morning we were flying to Mexico feeling exhausted, and mentioned this at reception. We were offered a $50 discount from our bill... a nice gesture, but they could surely have done more.

Overall, it was a fun place to stay for our first visit to NYC, but I probably wouldn't stay there again, the main factor being the size of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickyChristinaBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Good location (close to Central Park) but rooms are very small even for single guest.
Front desk was helpful and kind. Modern hall and it seems rooms were renovated recently.
I recommend it just if you stay few days with small suitcase.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Myself, my friend,my daughter & her boyfriend stayed at The Hudson for location (close to central park) for 4 nights in June 2014. We were very disappointed with overall décor where everything is based on lime green & grey, with dark wooden floors & wooden wall pannelling.Lots of decor faults are hidden by very dull, low key lighting. It took forever to get our room allocation at the front desk, as the receptionist said what we request we not always get! My daughters bedroom ended up 12 floors below ours! This hotel is definitely for the younger people. it was so disappointing to walk into a dismal, dark, grubby looking hotel corridor after such a long journey with no tea/coffee making facilities into exceptionally small rooms with not even wardrobe doors. Bathroom was also tiny, & could do with updating in terms of mouldy green taps(cleaner did her best). My daugters room electricity supply kept cutting out. The bars downstairs & upstairs roof top were always full with organised parties/tables booked for all occasions or young people staying elsewhere & we could never get in.The only good thing is the comfortable beds, if these had been poor we would have looked immediately for another hotel to stay in.Despite being on the 18th floor, the street noise was very loud & clearly heard, we were even woken by people singing in the street at 3am. This is my third trip to New York, & sadly I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

As noted by others - room is terribly small even in NYC standards. With the dark wooden decor, it felt like a room on a ship...
Glass wall separating bathroom/bathtub from the room is creepy (especially if you're not alone in the room). A/C does sound like a jet is setting off.
A colleague was assigned a room on the 6th floor facing the outdoor bar - and the noise level was unbearable until the bar closed every night at around midnight.

I would not stay at the hotel again, given another choice...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, not facing the outdoor bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyBarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Loved my stay the room is compact & efficient & the bed & pillows comfy location is why I picked it has, hairdryer iron & ironing board mini fridge fabulous value only stayed 1 night the staff is friendly & helpful bag check after check out so convenient came from the west coast really didn't know if I picked a great place to stay or not I did indeed fabulous can't say enough good things about it not disappointed at all if I ever go back I'm staying here even other guests I intermingled with nice & friendly too stay here you need not look any further my stay date 6-16-14 for Tiesto album release party terminal 5 #ATCP

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#311 of 468 in New York City
5,884 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#269 of 468 in New York City
4,460 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#305 of 468 in New York City
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,543 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#349 of 468 in New York City
4,204 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Hotel New York

Property: Hudson Hotel New York
Address: 358 West 58th Street, New York City, NY 10019-1804
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#218 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hudson Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 866
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban adventure, daredevil design, and true affordability meet in Hudson, the ultimate lifestyle hotel for the 21st century. Located in midtown, just steps from Central Park, Columbus Circle and the theater district, Hudson is a brilliant reflection of the boldness and diversity of the city, while simultaneously representing the next generation of Cheap Chic – stylish, democratic, young at heart and utterly cool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Travelbag, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hudson Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Hotel New York City
Hudson Hotel Nyc
Hudson New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing