We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best stay of our lives!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #121 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Best stay of our lives!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

The room was clean, new, and bright. Service was speedy and so helpful and cheerful. Location could not have been better, steps from every train! Seconds from shops and restaurants and night life. We could not have asked for a better way to spend our honeymoon and start our new life together!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deenz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,775
    1,018
    262
    96
    51
See reviews for
559
1,341
212
564
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cusco, Peru
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

The staff and management of the hotel were all very helpful and welcoming, made me feel at home. The junior suite was spacious and comfortable and enabled me to do my business easily and privately. The room was very clean and the bathroom impeccable. Free wifi high speed internet all over the hotel was much appreciated. I had meetings around midtown and the UN and the hotel location was perfect, just the right place as I could walk to almost anywhere I needed to go both for work and for great meals in the evening. I needed a late check-out and in spite of the hotel being full they managed to accommodate my request. I will stay there again and I will recommend it to my colleagues, so glad I've found a great hotel in NYC!

Room Tip: The junior suite is totally worth the extra
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank andescusco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euboea Region, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

I love the Chandler for its very friendly staff and its well appointed rooms. It feels like a home away from home - unusual in a city such as NY. I travel extensively and have stayed in many and varied establishments all over the world. The Chandler is one of my favourite hotels.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annieapgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

The hotel matched its reputation - good location, friendly staff, clean and tidy rooms (indeed a bit small, though) and so quiet that we had a great sleep.
Location is good as well - 10 mins walk from the Penn Station, if you come from Newark Airport.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pickytraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed at this fabulous small hotel for three nights at the end of April. It is in a great location just off 5th Avenue and within walking distance of many of New York's main attractions.

The service from the reservations team when we were booking the hotel was excellent and this service continued when we arrived at the hotel with attentive, friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are very clean and tidy with comfortable beds and were ideal for us. The staff knowledge of New York and where to eat was invaluable and having coffee and tea available in the hotel lobby 24 hours was also a benefit.

My wife had an accident on 5th Avenue just before we were due to leave on our journey home and we returned to the hotel where the staff couldn't do enough to help. My thanks go to Millie and the team for their care and support and ongoing assistance which is much appreciated and shows the high level of customer service.

We would certainly return to this hotel on our next visit to New York and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

For our first trip to NYC, we chose the Chandler based on its excellent midtown location. The hotel is close to both the 33rd and 34th St subway stations (depending which line you want to take). Walking distance to Grand Central, Penn Station (if you need the Amtrak), Times Square.
The room is small, but that's to be expected in New York. Shower is large, great pressure and nice Aveda products. Staff are friendly and helpful - especially during check in.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Supers_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerGM, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Your review is much appreciated and I am very happy that you enjoyed the prime location of The Chandler for your movings about NYC. The wonderful Aveda amenities and powerful raindrop head showers do get you off to a sparkling start to your day!

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

I travel to NYC several times per year for business and stay at the Hotel Chandler whenever I am able. It has a nice midtown location within walking distance of many attractions. The staff has always been very friendly and attentive. The front desk clerks are extremely helpful with room assignments (I am a light sleeper and need a room away from the elevator and street noise). The rooms are immaculate.

Room Tip: Just ask for what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dfwtraveldoyenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Property: Hotel Chandler
Address: 12 East 31st Street, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#95 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#103 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing