We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable with a great shower.”
Review of Hotel Chandler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Chandler
Ranked #146 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I was in NY for meetings at NYU Medical Center. Hotel Chandler was very comfortable and I loved the shower (one of those rain forest shower head with good water pressure). The room was very small as is typical with NY hotel rooms. The lobby was being renovated so the breakfast was in one of the room suites. All in all a good deal. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lloydyasato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerGM, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2011

Thank you for writing. I am very happy indeed that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,

MR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,538 - 2,544 of 3,487 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

Although the lobby and bar/restaurant were being renovated while we were there, the staff made every effort to make us comfortable. The rooms are very much like those in Europe, very nice, but a bit small. But, who goes to NY to spend a lot of time in their room anyway? The hotel is in a great spot too...safe, but relatively quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

I found the hotel by viewing the reviews on TripAdvisor. I agree with the prior guests, the staff were incredibly nice and attentive. The hotel, while under construction, was quiet and other than the fact they don't currently have a gym, I did not feel at all inconvenienced. The room was very clean, furnished with Frette sheets and robes and very comfortable beds and pillows. The rates were VERY reasonable by New York City standards which was one of the reasons we chose this hotel for 2 nights. For the guests' "inconvience" they serve a complimentary Continental breakfast and wine and cheese in the evenings, very nice touch. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and the location is wonderful for sight seeing and shopping. I would be interested to see what rate the hotel will be charging once the construction is completed, that would be a major factor in determining whether I would be a repeat guest. Until then, I can promise you NYC's most "bang for your buck!"

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCS02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerGM, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Thank you so very much for your kind review. We certainly do our best to offer our guests New York City's "best bank for their buck"!
Kind regards and Happy Holidays! MR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

This hotel is very well located, you go outside you see the empire state building and you're at 10-15 minutes in walk to time square. The room is very clean and all you need is there, the bed was very comfortable,The bathroom was compact but clean with a good shower & quality Aveda toiletries. We also appreciated the complimentary breakfast the morning to compensate for the renovations in the hotel.We had a very fun break in New York & the Chandler Hotel helped make it great!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetjay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerGM, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Thank you so very much for your kind review. You have certainly written a very thorough review and I do not think there is much more to add. It makes me happy that we were able to provide you with great memories of your trip to New York and hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards, MR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I stayed in this hotel recently and found it very nice and the staff were really friendly and helpful. I was upgraded free of charge to a junior suite which I found really comfortable and roomy. My friends were staying nearby in a smaller hotel but I wanted a larger room so was more than happy with the extra comfort. It was very clean and the towel and bathrobes are really fluffy. The entrance is being renovated at the moment but this did not cause any problems and free tea and snacks are provided upstairs while this work is in progress. Would defintately come back here. The location is excellent right beside the Empire State buildings.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChandlerGM, Director of Sales at Hotel Chandler, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted you were able to enjoy fully the complimentary upgrade to a Junior Suite and the convenient location of Hotel Chandler.
We look forward to having you stay again and wish you a Happy and Healthy Holiday season! Regards, MR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in a deluxe king room which we found to be very comfortable with enough room for moving around. The bathroom was compact but clean with a good shower & quality Aveda toiletries. We appreciated the complimentary breakfast & cheese & wine offered in the evenings to compensate for the renovations in the lobby. We had a fantastic break in New York & the Chandler Hotel helped make it great.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArcticRose14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

The hotel is located perfectly for shopping at Lord and Taylor (our favorite store) or Macy's and is great for stopping at Bryant Park to check out the holiday festivities; however, as many people have pointed out it's lobby is being renovated. They have attemped to compensate by offering free wifi, free breakfast (not a complete one, but breads, fruits, coffee), and free wine and cheese from 5 to 8. They converted a suite into a public space, but it is inadequate for the task. The folks working there were great, however, and the room spotless. The bathroom was a bit cramped but so what. I knew what I was getting into and do not regret staying here for three days. We were on the fourth floor and did not hear any of the renovation noise. We also took the steps which I thought were quite nice and easy to navigate and did not wait for the two elevators servicing the entire building. I actually recommend the hotel with the caveat about the construction which is why I gave it 4 stars even though the service, value, sleep quality, cleanliness, location, and rooms were all 5.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#148 of 470 in New York City
2,995 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#43 of 470 in New York City
613 reviews
Midtown
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#136 of 470 in New York City
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 470 in New York City
431 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#41 of 470 in New York City
3,835 reviews
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#253 of 470 in New York City
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chandler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chandler

Address: 12 E 31st St, New York City, NY 10016-6702
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in New York City
#68 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
#114 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £138 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Chandler 4.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Park, Penn Station and Times Square there is a secret, elegant and classical gem: Hotel Chandler. Hotel Chandler provides a timeless sense of luxury in its original 1905 architecture. Every guest is shown an intimate and personalized style of service, with quiet concern and pride. Located on 31st Street between Madison and Fifth Avenues with in a few minutes of all public transportation and all that New York City has to offer. Hotel Chandler is located in the heart of it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Chandler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chandler Hotel New York City
Hotel Chandler New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing